We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility

Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility
White Sulphur Springs, WV
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Government Buildings, Military Bases/ Facilities, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A Cold War Bunker that was built between 1958 and 1961 underground on the grounds of the Greenbrier; the facility is open for tours.
Scott Depot, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Bunker tour was interesting...like many of the other reviewers I wish more was left in it's original state. I was disappointed that we didn't see where the president wld have stayed had he been moved there...surely he wouldnt have stayed with the masses. I guess I was expecting a more put together community not the bits an pieces that are left. However it was still interesting an I'm glad we did it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“History painted over”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

They've covered over most of the historical aspects. It's practically a waste of time. The facilities are even used by the NO Saints during their training camp. Very little historical significant remains.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a wonderful tour guide. Tour lasted one and half hours and covered alot of territory. Wear comfortable shoes. It was fasinating. Wish legislators had to go there and not come out until they solved some issues!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“somewhat ihteresting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It satisfied my interest , but a little over priced. Very plain and drab, but you would kind of expect that I guess.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must see cold war remnant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fascinating tour of the ultimate cold war bunker and with an incredible story Full house and senate sleeping quarter communication rooms all canbe seen. The front door is incredibly strong and so well hidden Highly recommend

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Been to Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.