We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility

Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility
, White Sulphur Springs, WV
855-453-4858
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Cold War Bunker that was built between 1958 and 1961 underground on the grounds of the Greenbrier; the facility is open for tours.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unique Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This tour was well worth the drive out to the Greenbrier and the $30 per person fee. It was one of the most unique tours I've ever taken!

I wish you could take pictures inside the bunker, but they are not allowed. At least the tour price includes a few postcards to take home with you.

If you are going to the Greenbrier just for the tour, keep in mind that the food there is very expensive. We paid close to $30 for two small sandwiches! You may want to eat elsewhere before or after.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    48
    10
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
350 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“what a tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

an unbelievable bunker that was kept secret for years.
Worth the $30 per person price.
Steve, our tour guide was over the top theatrical which made it more fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Can't believe they didn't prosecute the journalist who leaked the secret underground facility designed to house Congress as a fall-out shelter.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bunker Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was a fascinating tour but at 1.5 hours it was a bit lengthy and I'm not sure our children would have appreciated it as much as we did.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Secret bunker tour at the Greenbriar hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Who knew? Back in 1992 a Washington Post reporter uncovered on a bunker buried under the Greenbriar hotel. Built in the 1950's, this was a place for Congress to 'hide' up to 60 days in case a bomb was being dropped. It was ready for use right around the time of the Bay of Pigs.
Only 5 people really knew it was there. Congress didn't even know.
Very interesting to see what this well thought of bunker was all ablout
Tour takes about 90 minutes.
If you are not staying at the Greenbriar this is a good excuse to really check out that amazing property
Sorry-no photos allowed

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Been to Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.