We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only we could have stayed for a week or longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“If only we could have stayed for a week or longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We traveled to the Greenbrier for business (husband had 1/2 day meetings & we have a lot of friends in the group that brought their families). We had our kids (4 & 12) and my mother. There was something for everyone and then some! In a nutshell..in our group the adults loved the lobby bar, grounds tours, Prime 44 West & the Casino, while the preschoolers enjoyed the Kids Adventure club by day and fantastic babysitters by night (that took them bowling & to movies), while the teens went horseback riding, swimming (indoor and out), and on their own to movies and bowling. We also enjoyed the spa (highly recommend water treatments), tennis facilities, Meadows Course, and a day on the Jackson River Kayaking. We had a private group tour of the Bunker and dinner in the culinary arts center. My 4 year old was looking forward to it but ended up bored stiff (there's a good reason the normal age limit is 10 & up). It was a great tour but a little underwhelming with seeing so much of it in the media (especially the History Channel special). Because of the kids we had lunch each day at the Tree Tops Cafe by the outdoor pool. Others in our group frequented the new Draper's cafe by the casino. My mother thoroughly enjoyed a dinner in the Main Dining Room with live music.
We stayed in Spring Row Cottage #25 (room 6325) which is close to the pool/tennis/golf area. Most of our group was in the main hotel, which was a hike unless we called for a shuttle (which came within 5 minutes every time). The lower numbered Spring Row buildings are closer to the main hotel. In hindsight I wish we had booked an entire Spring Row building..with the rest of our family..Each one has three 1 bdrm units with a wrap around veranda.
The service could not have been more friendly yet professional. They were a little distracted by the upcoming PGA tournament and the opening of the casino and the tournament made it very understandable to us, and probably very temporary.
The only downside is the cost of a Greenbrier vacation..but we made family memories for a lifetime and just hope to go back at some point in the near future. Be very aware though even if you get a great package deal with airfare & hotel that you'll likely spend an equal amount in activities, dining, etc...if you take part in all of the Greenbrier traditions.
Helpful hint especially if you fly to the Greenbrier and stay in a cottage....have your airport shuttle stop at a convenience store or even the shop in the lower level shops for drinks and snacks..we racked up a $100 minibar bill in the first night (and we had a separate refrigerator).
There are some freebies....shuttle service around property..wifi in rooms/cottages..guided property tours..hiking trails..playground for kids.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    890
    293
    129
    56
    30
See reviews for
323
622
15
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We had the opportunity to stay at the Greenbrier last week for a business conference and had a wonderful time. What a forgotten treasure thats being revitalized with it's new owner. The Greenbrier has so much to offer everyone. The setting alone with the magnificnat views along with the Hotels own history lessons makes this a must to experience. The Stately rooms had wonderful bedding that made for a perfect restful night. Most of all the staff gets an A+ for service! Almost forgot to mention that the food was fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We recently made a return visit to the Greenbrier and had a wonderful time. The property has undergone an expansion, and it looks absolutely beautiful. During our stay the grounds were gorgeous, the pools (indoor and outdoor) were pristine, and the interiors were vibrant and spotless. The hotel and spa staff were welcoming and gracious throughout. We had delicious meals at the newly relocated Draper's, the golf course, and the "fusion" restaurant in the casino. We also enjoyed the tea and sweets that were set out every afternoon.

The only criticism we had was that the servers in the restaurants were somewhat overwhelmed. Still, they were consistently pleasant.

We were so sad to leave, and we will be back again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Unless you knew the Greenbrier of old, you won't know how far it has fallen. Eloquence is replaced with bling, and the lowered prices are directly attached to lowered standards.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I made our first trip to the Greenbrier for our anniverary. From the moment two doormen greeted us by name and opened our car doors until the time they packed our trunk at departure, the trip was perfect. We dined elegantly in the Main Dining Room, had a wonderful meal in the Prime 44 West steakhouse, and enjoyed lunch following rounds of golf in Sam Snead's overlooking the golf course complex. Service in the casino area restaurants was a little sketchy, but it was probably because the restaurants and staff were so new.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the casino in the evenings, and really appreciated the coats-only dress code. Don't visit the Greenbrier expecting a Vegas-style casino resort; here, the gambling is simply another amenity, in addition to the outdoor activities, theater, etc. It is not the prime focus of the resort. Frankly, the focus seemed to be on pampering the guests. Everyone from the golf course "concierges" to the bellmen seemed to know my name, and always used it to my surprise.

We were a little disappointed that the only way to partake of the famous sulpher water baths was with a $130 per person scheduled appointment through the spa. We skipped it. This also isn't a place to quibble about the prices of meals, drinks, etc.; if you are looking for a bargain, or you are thinking of bringing groceries into your room to save on food costs, this isn't for you. Otherwise, the trip was memorably fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the Greenbrier including the Gala opening night of the new Casino. There is clearly a change occuring at the resort, most of which is positive. It is clear that the new owner, Mr. Justice, is making every effort to improve the resort in order to appeal to a new flock of people, those that obviously have extra cash to burn. The casino is really quite gorgeous and the staff were friendly and very efficient, considering that they are severely understaffed in almost every area of service. We had a problem with reservations, promising us a room for several months, then upon our arrival putting us in a cottage that should be condemned. It was pitiful. We ended up moving the next day to the cottage we had originally reserved but we lost about 2 days of our stay on logistics issues and it was clear that the reservation and front desk people don't have a clue what the rooms look like and never take the time to review them personally. The reservation people do not appear to be proactive and you have to do all the research yourself to find packages that suit your family. It took a great deal of time to research and then resolve billing issues that should have never been the customer's job in the first place. The housekeeping staff are terrific, as are everyone we met and who helped us througout our stay. The Adventure Zone (kids program) is top drawer and I would highly recommend the experience if you have children over the age of 3. The food is very expensive and in most cases average. There are also few choices for young children from a food perspective.

Bottom line, the Greenbrier is probably on the right track, but there are fundamental business issues that need to be resolved to make a repeat destination -- the reservation and billing processes and website need significant improvement. You tend to get a different answer depending on who you talk to when it comes to rooms and packages. The Gala night was fun overall, but there was misinformation and conflicting information about the event from the get go. The Conceirge didn't know what was going on, the Front Desk didn't know and the rumor mill was rampant. Timing was completely off for the event, and the crowds had an "every man for himself" tone as there was so little coordination or professionalism for the event, so the mood was chaotic and the celebrities they paid mega millions to attend could have cared less. They would have been better served sharing the money they spent on the "stars" to the stars that actually work there and make the Greenbrier what it is.

On a business note, throwing money at a problem usually doesn't work for the long term. They need to really focus on the process and the people (Change Management) for the Greenbrier to survive. They also need to focus on some fundamentals -- i.e, the outdoor playground for children is dismal and in badly need of change which would probably cost a few thousand dollars, yet they put over $70M into the Casino. It's clear where the priorities lie. This is a place for affluent adults that golf and gamble -- not so much for families with young children.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just returned from the Greenbrier for the casino opening and family reunion. This was my 10th trip to the Greenbrier and first under new owner Jim Justice. We usually stay in the South Carolina cottages but were wait listed so rented a house and had a room. In short the staff has changed gone are many of the proud locals who know what the Greenbrier stands for. Instead the grounds-crew is basically non-english speaking although they will give you a nod. We always walk the trails and greet everyone we meet. The dining room staff at the main dining room and pool have also been overhauled to what appears to be a European exchange program. It is so sad since I have been to this resort so many times during its grandeur and it is not the same! There is more flash and far less substance. It started with room service on Friday night a near 90 minute wait. The buffet at Drapers used to feature the famous freestone peaches, they have now gone the way of the dinosaur. There used to also be a plate of Lox to serve yourself. Now the salmon is rationed [about the size of a teaspoon] on a plate with capers and onion, the weight of the capers exceeds the salmon. The irony of this is that they ran out of lox 40 minutes before the brunch ended or if they weren't out they just never replaced the empty tray. There was a constant line of about 10-15 people to get an omelet. One Chef working 3 burners but 1 burner was broken. Are you kidding? Actually the brunch basically has the same contents and quality as Fairfield Inn and Suites only it comes with your room at Fairfield. Oh if you go to the main dining room for dinner plan on at least 2hours for a simple 3 course meal and really the quality is only average Skip the brunch and order the trout it is very good. Now for the casino, ok service is actually worse there. We ordered cocktails at 4 on July 4th 2 days after the casino opened. The girl brought all our drinks [7] but then forgot my wife's After she acknowledged that she needed to bring a cosmo she came back 15 minutes later and asked my wife if she ordered anything. It wasn't that busy!!!!!! I think you get the picture here and service at the pool set a new low. Now for the casino itself very nice but the tables actually have to be opened to play. Sunday evening on the 4th many of the tables were closed, we actually left because we didn't want to climb over people to bet. Literally it seemed as if half of the tables were closed, this is 4th of July wkend and only the 3rd night the casino was open.
The beauty and setting are unparallelled but really the good old boy venture into the hotel is a major bust. Mr Justice took the hotel out of bankruptcy from CSX but it will be there again if it doesn't change. They lost their 5 star rating in 2000 and for me they are much closer to falling to 2-3stars than they are getting to 4 and a half. This was a huge disappointment. all show, the beauty of the mountains and facade take care of that but the quality service is GONE! Regrettably so are many of the proud local workers who understand the Greenbrier was built on FIRST CLASS SERVICE, FOOD and ambiance. The ambiance is still there. This resort might impress the novice visitor but anyone who has been there over the years knows what I am talking about . In the present state I can't recommend the Greenbrier which is very painful since my family has been going there for over 60 years.
.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.