We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellence in Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

PROS: Not only is this facility one of the largest we've visited (6,500 acres and 650 guest rooms, plus cottages on the grounds) , it is BY FAR the most outstanding in customer service. The staff made us feel like royalty, no kidding. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with nice touches including guest robes, spa toiletries, service twice daily in your room. The hotel itself houses 5 restaurants, two more currently being built, 3 golf courses, three pools (indoor/outdoor/mineral pool in spa), clay courts/hard courts, in-house casino, in-house theatre, in-house bowling alley, spa, shops, candy store (made on premises) in lobby, it's own lake stocked with fish, horses, outdoor adventure outfitters and gun club. And I'm sure I forget something as well.

I've stayed at a number of places that are considered upscale and this one tops them all in customer service. It's got history and beauty and lots to see and do.

CONS: Other than the casino, there wasn't a place my husband and I could go to after dinner and sit and have a glass of wine and listen to music, not even recorded. Evening activities felt lacking.

This place takes you back to another place and time in history. It could use some "now" touches only in the sense of activities in the evening for adults. We aren't gamblers, didn't want to watch a kid's movie and don't bowl, so that left us out of anything to do after dinner but head back to your room. The local community doesn't have much to offer in the way of restaurants or activities, so you end up staying within the Greenbrier for your entertainment.

OVERALL: Outstanding facility in every way, but could use a few modern touches.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    352
    149
    67
    36
See reviews for
370
749
17
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We traveled to the Greenbrier for my wife's birthday, what a gift! We are now spoiled, since our stay we have visited two other resorts and cannot stop comparing them to the Greenbrier! The grounds were immaculate, the hotel spotless, but it is the staff that make a stay here so wonderful, Many have worked here for thirty years and just seem to have hospitality ingrained in them. The service was seamless and made to seem effortless by the staff... need ice call and they bring it to you! Complete housekeeping service twice a day. The classic decor is overwhelming upon arrival but after a few hours you wouldn't have it any other way! The food is amazing and the dining room staff is perfection in motion. The Greenbrier is pricey but not overpriced for the level of service and respect given to each guest! Can't wait to return to The Greenbrier!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We absolutely loved our 3 night stay at The Greenbrier. The facilities and grounds are beautiful. Yes, there is a lot of construction going on, but once we drove past the front of the hotel, I never noticed it or thought about it. It's currently scheduled to be complete early July in time for the new PGA even that is being played here at the end of July. The staff was without exception friendly and helpful. I can’t imagine anyone having any complaints about the staff unless it was a very isolated event or they were being unreasonable themselves. We were celebrating our anniversary and they sent a box of chocolates to our room the first night we were there with a nice note attached - just one of the many nice little touches we found while we were there.

We stayed in one of the Spring Row Cottages which I would highly recommend (they were having some great deals on mid-week packages which really helped with the rates). They have a large bedroom, large bathroom with shower and soaking tub, dressing area and sitting room with a wet bar and fireplace. I used the fireplace everyday (due to the wet and unseasonable cool weather we had for our trip). They cleaned it out every day and re-laid the fire, just waiting for us to light a match. There was plenty of wood and kindling available. We stayed in the closest cottage to the main hotel which was convenient, but the others are closer to the outdoor pool, golfing and tennis.

Meals at the hotel are expensive, but the menus and prices (and dress code) are available online so you know ahead of time what to expect. We had lunch at Slammin Sammy’s which we enjoyed because of the beautiful view over the golf course. The pizza there is excellent – the tortilla soup not so much. We had one dinner in the Main Dining Room which we thoroughly enjoyed. The food was excellent and the atmosphere really enjoyable. We went into Lewisburg one night (about 15 minutes away) and enjoyed our dinner at the General Lewis Inn. My only real complaint about the resort is that there is no where to get something light for dinner (as in sandwiches/soups/salads).

We booked our room with the Spring In Action promotion which gave us a ‘2 for 1’ activity each day. By far my favorite of the activities was the Falconry. Valerie was our falconer and did an excellent job explaining everything. She began by giving us a little history of falconry and showing us the different types of birds they had – different types of falcons, hawks, owls and even an eagle. The birds are beautiful. After that, we went outside with a Harris Hawk who ‘hunted’ with us. We were able to have him fly to our gloved hand 8 or 9 times (between the 2 of us). He never flew very high and often sat in trees very easy to see. We also took the Bunker Tour which was very interesting and definitely something you should do what you are at the Greenbrier.. The Greenbrier River Trail is an easy and pleasant ride. If you have your own bikes (I would recommend mountain bikes since the trail is gravel/shale), it’s easy enough to do on your own. Horseback riding is really only on the trail around the golf course. It was very pretty, but I probably wouldn’t recommend it.

There are several complimentary activities. They have afternoon tea everyday from 4:15 – 5:00 with hot tea, iced tea and cookies, along with music. I thoroughly enjoyed it – people watching and listening to the pianist. They also have complimentary movies in the evening with free popcorn. While we were there, they showed ‘Fantastic Mr. Fox’, ‘The Blind Side’ and ‘Avatar’, so the movies are relatively recent.

Both pools are beautiful. The outdoor infinity pool, overlooks the golf course and the mountains. The indoor pool looks like it came from another era (in a good way).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

The Greenbrier knows how to treat their guests. Great tennis and tennis pros as well. Can't wait to return with kids.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

I stayed at this legendary resort a few weeks ago and would advise other travelers to wait until the major construction related to the new casino is finished. There were odd smells coming from the construction area, and occassional noise. Oddly, it was hard to find a quiet spot to sit and read in the hotel, there was a constant stream of tourists taking pictures and yakking all day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

If this is your first time, we will put you next to that noisy ventilation unit. Despite the tranquil setting, the place is noisy. If your neighbor uses the bathroom, you'll know. New management is discretely renovating the hotel and adding 2nd homes to the resort to recoup the investment. Nice park, good golf course. Surprisingly good cuisine, although the waiters could do with some professional training and better management. Floral designs everywhere. Southern charme.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed for three nights on our way to Kentucky. I had heard about the construction on this website just before leaving. They don't let you know when you book or on the website. Nonetheless, it really didn't effect us other than the fact that there is very limited self parking close to the hotel. The service was very good and our room was nice and big. The decor was tired. While I appreciate traditional design as our own home was built in the 1920s, they could really do away with the abundance of rattan, tropical flowered wallpaper and ton of pink. The amenities were good. We went to the indoor pool, bowled in the indoor bowling alley and walked the beautiful grounds. The shops and spa were nice and we took a lovely horse drawn carriage ride. Those are the basic PROS. The CONS are as follows: We had met a lovely woman who worked in one of the shops that said she also babysat at night. We thought we would take advantage and have a date night. First of all, we wanted to go to Prime 44 West for dinner. When I called the concierge to book for that night they told me it was closed. When I asked why, his answer was "they just decided to close tonight". "I don't know" was the answer to my further inquiry. UNACCEPTABLE for a concierge to give such an answer. We had to go to Sam Snead's for dinner. Bad, boring decor, but the food was decent. The problem: WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what it was. Since we were "on a date" we decided to have a second bottle of wine. Our bill with tip came to over $400, what you would expect from a big city restaurant with way better food. The worst part of the evening was trying to go to the "casino", basically a small dungeon under Prime 44 West. My husband was turned away for wearing jeans, although he was wearing a collared shirt and jacket and looked quite presentable, the rule being no denim after 6:30. It was good enough for the way overpriced Sam Snead's but not good enough for the basement casino. We complained but the robots that work there didn't care. Apparently the new owner (a local rich coal man) is trying to instill some kind of "class" to the casino, particularly in light of the new casino being built. We could've gone back and changed but the wind was out of our sails at that point. My husband and I are willing to spend money on nice vacations but aren't stuffy or pretentious people. If you don't mind that kind of thing, you will appreciate this place. Bottom line, try it out but be prepared to spend way too much on food, be disappointed when the restaurants arbitrarily decide to close, hang with the geriatric set, and bring your khakis.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.