We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as it should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Lookout Mountain Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just as it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

My wife and I visited this hotel for 3 nights starting on the 30th of October. This was our third trip to the Greenbrier and our first that was not in the winter. The leaves were pretty much gone as the lady who took our reservations warned us but the mountains and location were as lovely as ever! We ate at the Draper Cafe for dinner our first day and had the fried green tomato sandwich which, as we remembered from 2 years ago was wonderful. I wish we had split it since it is large enough for two! The Greenbrier has added a Tavern casino which was fun and had complementary hors d' oeuvers which pretty much payed us back for the money I lost playing poker (Donna won $7.50 which I heard about on the ride home to Lookout Mountain). We also enjoyed the tea at 4:15 every evening even though on Saturday one has to scramble to find a seat where you can hear the violin and piano being played. Supper was wonderful all three nights Donna had the Roasted Tomato and Asparagus Cesar Salad two nights and the smoked tomato bisque which were fantastic. For her main entree Donna had the Sea Bass with lobster and chorizo paella the first night and the second night we both had the fillet mignon with truffle sause and brazed short ribs in a merlot sauce. The third night Donna had the asparagus and eggplant lasgna while I had a fillet with truffles and a wild mushroom crepe. For soup I had the five onion soup, wild mushroom consumme and the tomato bisque the three nights. On my first night I had a scallop dish which was so good I cant remember anything more about it! We were unable to try the dessert menu until the 3rd night having filled up on Irish soda bread (which they will give you the recipe for if you ask, and you should ask, trust me)! The only dessert we tried was the Cocoanut pound cake and the Bread Pudding which were both wonderfull (again we could have split one). At the end of every Supper they gave us small cookies, fudge and homeade mints which were fabulous but on a full stomach hard to look at. Donna tried the Greenbrier signature drink a Peach Bellini Martini which she pronounced Wonderful! Just to be fair, drinks are in the $14.00 minimum range and some offerings are (to me at any rate) astronomical! Apparently, we were not the only ones who thought so as evidenced by the smuggling of wine which we witnessed out of trunks in the parking areas. Activities are rather expensive as can be imagined but I enjoyed the beginner falconry class which I took on our second day. We were very pleased with the service as usual which is prompt and friendly. The Greenbrier looks just as we remembered from 2 years ago and the updated have been done in a tastefull manner. Both of us were very pleased that the Dorothy Draper decor in the lobby and hallways has been left unchanged and no turned into a generic high end resort. All in all, we had a wonderful time and look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    331
    142
    63
    34
See reviews for
343
696
17
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed at the Greenbrier for 3 days on Fall Break. First time at the resort. Our cottage was wonderful. Highly recommend reserving a cottage if you have small children. Lots of space and privacy. Feels like home. The service was fantastic. Grounds were beautiful and the fall foliage did not disappoint. Fantastic visit. We didn't have time to do everything available to us. Some of the activities are tough for families with smaller children. Our son is 8 and we couldn't tour the bunker. The Main Dining room was great for breakfast but not a place for young children for dinner. The new steakhouse looked fantastic but was booked so we were not able to try it. I plan on taking my Mother for a visit in December. Shopping was suberb. Two thumbs up, 5 stars, you name it. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The hotel and staff were great. The food was excellent. The hotel is showing its age.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed here recently for an annual conference. The hotel has recently been purchased and is undergoing major construction of a casino and new restaurants.We had a superior room- two windows. Rooms are clean and spacious- very comfortable beds and bedding.There was a lot of noise from construction in parts of the hotel. The food was very good- though the breakfast buffet was overpriced. Afternoon tea time is a nice feature. The 20 dollar a day valet parking charge was way too much- we never used our car and resented this charge, though there is not self-parking, and the valets expect tips in addition to this charge. All staff were friendly and seemed happy. This has improved since the last time we stayed here, we noticed a big difference in the attitudes of all staff, maybe the new ownership is an improvement. It is very expensive, but you won't regret your stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerburg, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We had very high expectations coming in and it really lived up to all of them. The service is unparalleled. Traveling with a few people, we were able to see three different rooms and I love how everyone of them was so unique! That is a type of charm that you don't see very often any more. Golf courses were spectacular. Only advice is to come expecting to spend your money! After a few days the $14 drinks start to wear on you, but that is my only 'complaint'. Other than the drink prices, the place is worth every penny and a must see.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, U.S.A.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Our first trip to the Greenbrier, and it met all our expectations. The staff was friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a lovely suite without even asking for it. The decor is classic and beautiful, like a palace. We had dinner at the golf club (Sam Snead's) and it was great. Cannot say enough good things about the spa. The Bunker tour was fascinating. Will definitely return to the Greenbrier. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York State
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed one night at The Greenbrier while driving south. It was quite a bit out of the way but well worth the trip. We arrived and the staff was so helpful and made us feel at home right from the beginning. Our room was lovely, with beautiful wallpaper and furnishings, a HUGE king sized bed, and all the amenities that one could want. They put us in a corner room on the forth floor which was so private. There was an entire wing of shops that we checked out too. We used the full sized indoor swimming pool and had a visit to the candy shoppe for some homemade candy after dinner. And took advantage of the two movies shown that evening in the theater right in the hotel. (they even thought of including a full popcorn machine for the viewers) In the morning, we had the huge breakfast buffet at the hotel. That was delicious as expected and the staff again were very attentive. Our morning Bunker Tour was very interesting and the expert guide explained everything to us and answered all of our questions. We stopped for a coffee at the shop in the hotel and had a walk around the grounds but a summer shower stopped us from seeing everything. Since we only had time for one night we didn't get to tour the entire hotel either, so we will definitely be planning another trip here in the near future. Definitely try to find time for this hotel....you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.