We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but looking a little rough around the corners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great, but looking a little rough around the corners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The hotel and staff were great. The food was excellent. The hotel is showing its age.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    914
    310
    136
    59
    30
See reviews for
330
640
16
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed here recently for an annual conference. The hotel has recently been purchased and is undergoing major construction of a casino and new restaurants.We had a superior room- two windows. Rooms are clean and spacious- very comfortable beds and bedding.There was a lot of noise from construction in parts of the hotel. The food was very good- though the breakfast buffet was overpriced. Afternoon tea time is a nice feature. The 20 dollar a day valet parking charge was way too much- we never used our car and resented this charge, though there is not self-parking, and the valets expect tips in addition to this charge. All staff were friendly and seemed happy. This has improved since the last time we stayed here, we noticed a big difference in the attitudes of all staff, maybe the new ownership is an improvement. It is very expensive, but you won't regret your stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerburg, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We had very high expectations coming in and it really lived up to all of them. The service is unparalleled. Traveling with a few people, we were able to see three different rooms and I love how everyone of them was so unique! That is a type of charm that you don't see very often any more. Golf courses were spectacular. Only advice is to come expecting to spend your money! After a few days the $14 drinks start to wear on you, but that is my only 'complaint'. Other than the drink prices, the place is worth every penny and a must see.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, U.S.A.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Our first trip to the Greenbrier, and it met all our expectations. The staff was friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a lovely suite without even asking for it. The decor is classic and beautiful, like a palace. We had dinner at the golf club (Sam Snead's) and it was great. Cannot say enough good things about the spa. The Bunker tour was fascinating. Will definitely return to the Greenbrier. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York State
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed one night at The Greenbrier while driving south. It was quite a bit out of the way but well worth the trip. We arrived and the staff was so helpful and made us feel at home right from the beginning. Our room was lovely, with beautiful wallpaper and furnishings, a HUGE king sized bed, and all the amenities that one could want. They put us in a corner room on the forth floor which was so private. There was an entire wing of shops that we checked out too. We used the full sized indoor swimming pool and had a visit to the candy shoppe for some homemade candy after dinner. And took advantage of the two movies shown that evening in the theater right in the hotel. (they even thought of including a full popcorn machine for the viewers) In the morning, we had the huge breakfast buffet at the hotel. That was delicious as expected and the staff again were very attentive. Our morning Bunker Tour was very interesting and the expert guide explained everything to us and answered all of our questions. We stopped for a coffee at the shop in the hotel and had a walk around the grounds but a summer shower stopped us from seeing everything. Since we only had time for one night we didn't get to tour the entire hotel either, so we will definitely be planning another trip here in the near future. Definitely try to find time for this hotel....you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary for 2 nights at the Greenbrier this year. We brought our 6-month old daughter along.

We were fortunate enough to stay in a Spring Hill Guest Cottage. It really felt like an old-fashioned summer cabin from the past, but spotless, luxuriously decorated and with every modern convenience. The setup was perfect with our baby. She slept in the crib in the living room, which was very private and quiet.

We never had a dull moment while we were there. The only extra amenities that we paid for were the Bunker tour (very unique - I highly recommend it) and dining. Everything else we did was included - mountain biking, hiking, swimming at both glorious pools (indoor and out), and plenty of time spent exploring the grounds and hotel.

The dining room was neat. The breakfast was so incredibly abundant, I can't imagine anyone wanting anything else. The orange juice was fresh-squeezed and plentiful and the coffee was strong and smooth. I personally think it's nice that jacket and tie are required in the main dining room at dinner. The food is not cutting-edge or mind-blowing, and the servers aren't always as polished as you'd expect, but go in with an appreciation for the history and character of the place and you won't be disappointed.

Our room was brightly decorated and everything was in excellent working order and of a high-quality. I can appreciate the Dorothy Draper decor for what it is - an important iconic part of American design. Would I want my entire house "Draperized"? Probably not, but I sure did enjoy spending 2 nights in it.

Not the best place for budget-travelers, or anyone who sweats when they open their pocketbook. But I think you get a lot of value for the money when you factor in the unbelievable amount of overhead the resort must take to maintain. All in all, a wonderful American treasure - certainly a must for anyone who appreciates grand old architecture and design.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I must preface my comments by stating that the Greenbrier is a national treasure. It is steeped in history and a visit, even for a day, should be on every person’s bucket list.

My family has made the Greenbrier part of our lives for many years. Our most recent visit continued to confirm my long-held position that the property truly is America’s Resort. Simply put, you get what you pay for. No visit to White Sulphur Springs will leave your wallet full, but the memories and experience will be well worth the cost. As a previous reviewer noted, careful planning with a telephone reservations agent can result in superb package savings.

The Greenbrier shines on service. I remember as a child hearing a Greenbrier marketing slogan “Ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen.” That rings true today. It starts when you pull in front of the hotel. Expect to be greeted by bell and door staff in traditional uniforms. Your luggage will be handled, your vehicle parked and expect a personal escort to the check-in desk one level below.

Check-in is always a breeze as you can be assured that everything on the reservation will be right and all documents will be ready. You can also plan on space available upgrades as standard. There are no bad rooms at the Greenbrier, but through an upgrade you will enjoy extra space.

On our most recent visit we enjoyed a Baltimore Row cottage. Although the Greenbrier is home to many cottages and row houses, this specific two bedroom structure was the summer home to Robert E. Lee for three years following the Civil War. Pictures in the cottage showed Lee visiting with his subordinate confederate generals at White Sulphur in 1868. The history it holds is simply stunning.

The Lee Cottage has two bedrooms, two baths, large parlor with wood burning fireplace and a wet bar area. The front and back porches are spectacular having great views and providing the perfect spot to enjoy a West Virginia summer evening.

As seen elsewhere on the property you will find that cottage furnishings, bedding and amenities are all top shelf. Housekeeping is superb. Plan on receiving service twice each day while you enjoy spotless accommodations.

Food service at the Greenbrier is not to be missed. During your stay make a point to enjoy at least one meal in the main dining room. The excellent food and refined service is a must-do. Recent reviewers have commented on issues with food quality, I have not found that to be the case. I am confident that if any food taste or presentation concerns were brought to the server or maitre d’ that the issue would be addressed immediately. That is the Greenbrier way; customer satisfaction is the top priority.

Other than the main dining room food service in Draper’s Café is casual with sandwiches, soups and the like while Snead’s at the golf clubhouse features higher end fare with golf course views. Light lunches and drinks are available at both the indoor and outdoor pools.

The lower level of the main hotel is filled with shops of every variety. Don’t miss the candy shop or the Greenbrier Gourmet where daily cooking classes take place.
There are activities for every age and every budget. Pampering at the spa, hotel tours, afternoon tea, skeet shooting, equestrian challenges, golf, tennis, off road driving and even falconry are available. Beyond that, a casual stroll around the grounds is plenty for most people. The place is stunning.

The new owner of the resort, a local man who made his money in coal and agricultural pursuits, has undertaken a plan to build a Monte Carlo style casino underground on the property. Good for him! If this rejuvenates the resort financially – so be it. This is combined with plans for new dining venues and additional activities. His heart is in the right place and the staff feels it. The positive feelings about the future are very evident.

Check-out time is always a melancholy affair for me. Yes the bills are always correct and yes the staff is pleasant, but I don’t want to leave. No matter how many days I’ve been at White Sulphur Springs – I would always be happy with just one more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.