We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic resort full of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A classic resort full of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Only had the chance to spend one night here on our way to the coast. I don't think our pocketbooks could have stood 2 nights though lol. A vast resort full of open common areas decorated in classic furniture. There are multiple dining options but everything has a dress code. We took the bunker tour which was interesting and great for history buffs. We had a standard room which was equipped with all the necessities. Lots of outdoor activities like golf, horseback riding, white water rafting, etc. It costs $21 for valet parking. There is a casino on the lower level. The air condtioning was fairly loud when it kicked on and off.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out that we do have a dress code in the evenings as part of our 236-year history. Gentlemen are asked to wear a jacket and tie in the Main Dining Room for dinner and a jacket in the Casino Club after 7:00pm. Casual dining venues as well as room service are available for those that prefer a more relaxed atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    361
    159
    71
    36
See reviews for
383
773
17
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The resort is a bit out of the way, but you can arrange for a pick up from Roanoke if needed. From pony camp for the little ones to a luxurious spa day, here are a few things we participated in: golf, river rafting, hiking, bike riding, bowling, bicycling, relaxing at the pool, sport trap shooting, Bunker Tour, afternoon tea (complimentary), dining, a visit to the New Orleans Saints training facility (no charge) and a trip to the casino. Check the dress code, men need a jacket for the casino. We were a large group so we also rented houses on property. The shuttles will pick you up and take you any where you want to go (complimentary) and the houses allowed for large gatherings in an intimate setting. There is so much to do, I advise planning ahead. There are many restaurants, including an ice cream shop and boutiques, as well as an on site photographer we used for family pictures. Beautiful, impeccable service and something for everyone. The staff was very nice and accommodating, they will assist you any way they can. I can go on and on, just know that it is a complete vacation and you will love it!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Wow! We are simply humbled by your gracious review. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to The Greenbrier! Our goal is for every guest to leave anticipating their return to America's Resort, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for years to come! We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is such an outstanding place to visit anytime of the year. The hotel is beautiful with each room having unique decor. There is so much to do with shopping, rafting, carriage rides, falconry, indoor and outdoor pools, bowling, and nightly movies. It is elegant and yet very comfortable.
There are also a variety of restaurants with all price ranges and all types of food.
The staff is outstanding- from the maids to the bellmen, to the valet to the front desk--everyone always does all they possible can to make your stay perfect.
My husband wanted to eat in the main dining room and that particular evening an item was not on the menu that had been on the day before which he would have liked. They made it for him anyway, no extra cost, etc. What service!!!

Room Tip: No room will disappoint you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. Your kind words for our staff members are greatly appreciated; we believe they are our greatest asset. We could accomplish nothing without the dedication of over 1800 team members. The Greenbrier has over 700 rooms each is so unique that not two are exactly alike. We would be honored to have you as our guests again, should your travels bring you back to West Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Had a wonderful trip to The Greenbrier a few weeks ago. If you have never been, it is a must to look into for a spectacular vacation. There is so much to do for you and your family. Golfing, tennis, walking, carriage rides, walking tours, hiking tours, horseback riding, whitewater rafting, Falonry, Off-Road adventures, Kayaking, biking, just to mention a few.

Room Tip: They have several types of rooms from "intermediate" sized rooms, to junior suites....many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay! The Greenbrier is proud of the unparalleled ranges of amenities and activities available for guests. With over 55+ activities there is something for everyone to enjoy at The Greenbrier. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Just returned from our annual family visit to Greenbrier. We enjoyed perfect weather and excellent hospitality at America's Resort. The addition of free nightly concerts in the main Lobby were a nice touch at the end of the day. The upgraded rooms and upgraded menu at the outdoor pool were pleasant surprises. We look forward to our return visit soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your family reunion with us! We understand how important special family occasions are for our guests and do our best to make them absolutely memorable! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Greenbrier, in a deluxe accommodation, and we were impressed by the grounds and the historic hotel. The food and waitstaff in the main dining room, Italian restaurant, and Prime 44 were very good. The bunker tour was very informative, and I would recommend if you are a history buff. Make sure you do not miss the artist colony as it is slight off the beaten path. Avoid the Treetops Cafe (pool cafe and bar)! We were not told there was a 45 minute wait for food preparation, and our waitress was surly. I had a weekend morning spa appointment with several services. The receptionist not only confused my manicure with a pedicure, but she also proceeded to call me by another patron's name two times. Additionally, housekeeping arrived very late on our second day, as we were attempting to get ready for an early dinner reservation. Be prepared to pay additionally for historic fees, bunker tour fees, and activity fees (tennis, croquet, etc).

Room Tip: We choose a room on the sixth floor (highest floor) facing the back of the hotel. It was in a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The Greenbrier is a luxury resort, and we pride ourselves on offering an unparalleled range of amenities and activities as well as exceptional customer service throughout our 10,000-acre property. Thank you so for pointing out our 55+ activities. Of course, we would be remiss if we did not apologize for unusual lapses in service that you experienced and I will personally follow up with each team to help insure that none of guests experience any similar disappointments in the future. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My husband surprised me with a birthday stay at the famous Greenbriar for Labor Day. It is a grata resort and the owners invest in quality amenities. Amazing mineral water tub and shower in our suite. Definately on par with the Ritz or Marriott autograph. As a professional in service management I am disappointed in the experience due to service delivery. Concierge was inefficient and not able to help us with dinner last night. Later I went back to ask for ideas or games to keep my 5 year olds busy. She couldn't advise. (Hello, there was a toy store ....help me give you money) Another guest advised me of the free board games. The WORST part was my poor husband shelling out $250 for a round of golf to find peace and quite, only to have maintenance stalk hum the entire 18 holes. At the end, the golf shop asked him how it was and my husband provided honest feedback. He was then given a brush off. Greenbriar...if you don't care...then don't ask. It's like mineral salt in a wound. Apparently "magic" is only for Disney. I hope the owner puts a training plan in place or this beautiful place won't survive. Service is a point of difference folks.

Room Tip: Pay for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; from your comments, it is evident that we failed to provide you with the impeccable service and memorable experiences our guests have come to expect. It is our belief that our first priority at The Greenbrier – no matter one’s official duties – is to sincerely care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. This is the essence of ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen. Your atypical experiences concerning the concierge and golf staff are disappointing, and I am following up with these teams to ensure that issues of this nature do not recur in the future. I am disheartened to admit that these staff members obviously forgot that their first priority was to care for you our guest and your enjoyment of our resort. I would be happy to discuss in detail your stay, concerns and disappointments. I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com. We remain at your service and we hope to regain your faith in The Greenbrier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.