We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

You know a vacation was worth every penny, when your children's teachers, coaches, and friends' parents have all heard how wonderful it was within a week! Before we left, kids were all nagging about how there's "nothing in West Virginia!". Now, they all are anxious to return. The beauty of the place is that one can be as busy as you like, while still enjoying plush accommodations, friendly and attentive service and great food. In our case, it was go until you drop: Kayaking, archery, paint ball, shooting, alpine tower,family laser tag, croquet (a new favorite), horseback riding, utv's, off road driving, biking, history tours, swimming, as well as tons of golf. Of course it wasn't inexpensive, but I've never seen our large family have so much fun!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for noticing our emphasis on creating a family-friendly environment here at The Greenbrier! We understand how important family vacations are for our families and we do our best to make them absolutely memorable! Children 12 and under receive a "VIP Card" upon check-in that is redeemable for daily prizes and can participate in our "Kids Play Free" program for a variety of activities with a paying adult. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Greenbrier for another wonderful family vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    338
    142
    64
    35
See reviews for
352
712
17
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

What a beautiful resort! The attention to detail at the Greenbrier is absolutely incredible! My wife and I could go on and on about the beauty of the place. We stopped on our road trip honeymoon and the staff surprised us with rose petals and wine when we got to our room. The service was awesome and food there is amazing. Will definitely be a lifelong patron!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with on your honeymoon! We understand how important special occasions are for our guests and do our best to make them absolutely memorable! At The Greenbrier the good becomes “extraordinary” and the great becomes “spectacular”! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and helping you to celebrate many more special occasions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, WV
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is the most wonderful resort I've ever enjoyed. We've been here three times and it's still amazing! The staff are just wonderful--they make you feel welcome and pampered. The resort itself is a "trip back in time"--very rare these days. Everything is very well-maintained and inviting. Yes, it's expensive but well worth it! We were there for the Business Summit--really enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, the wonderful, caring staff and our whole experience!

Room Tip: We were in a corner room on the 2nd floor; very private, very quiet and spacious, too. Be sure to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. Your kind words for our staff members are greatly appreciated; we believe they are our greatest asset. We could accomplish nothing without the dedication of over 1800 team members. Thank you for the pictures that you posted. The Greenbrier has over 700 rooms; each one is so unique that no two are exactly alike. We were proud to once again host the West Virginia Business Summit and we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Attended a convention at this resort that had been built up as being the best of the best. I left feeling as if my pockets had been picked and bewildered as to why it had such fame. Service was good. Room was below average. Torn carpeting in the living area and closet. A closet with one bar for clothing and hooks around the walk in closet. Very outdated decorating and bathroom. I was bothered by the costs. 2 drinks delivered to our room $65. Breakfast buffet $35. Cereal and yogurt $28. Never again. My first and last time at The Greenbrier

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; from your comments, it is evident that we failed to provide you with the impeccable service and memorable experiences our guests have come to expect. It is our belief that our first priority at The Greenbrier – no matter one’s official duties – is to sincerely care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. This is the essence of ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen. Your atypical experiences concerning your room accommodations are disappointing, and I am following up with the teams involved to ensure that issues of this nature do not recur in the future. I would be happy to discuss in detail your stay, concerns and disappointments. I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com. We remain at your service and we hope to regain your faith in The Greenbrier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Greenbrier truly is "America's Resort". The staff are friendly, accommodating and kind. The restaurants are terrific and delicious. My wife and I particularly enjoyed 44 West steak house and the restaurant Sam Snead's and Slammin Sammy's. The Forum is also very good!

The pool staff were great and always quick with a fresh towel or a cold refreshment on a warm day. We enjoyed the hiking trails and the shuffle board area.

This was our 4th stay in the last 5 years. I hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: Stay in the Spring Row cottages. They cost a little bit more, but they are private and close to eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent return visit to The Greenbrier! Our goal is for every guest to leave anticipating their return to America's Resort, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I’d long heard of the grace and beauty of the Greenbrier Resort, and of the top-notch service afforded there. As I attended a business meeting there recently, the resort certainly lived up to its reputation. My room was brightly and exquisitely detailed, the bed was super comfortable, the shower piping hot, and even the internet service was fast. For some reason, there was no coffee maker in my room (a must in 4- and 5-star hotels now), and there was a phenominal amount of clutter on every surface of the room. I had to move magazines, papers, and a make-up mirror to place my laptop on the desk, and then climb under the desk to plug it in. While the bathroom was well-detailed, there was no counter space to place my modestly sized toiletry bag.

Décor throughout the resort is bright, bordering on gaudy.

The attentiveness of the staff brings back an era long-forgotten in most of today’s hospitality establishments. Prompt valet service, attentive front desk service (and a glass of champagne at check-in!), quiet and well-executed housekeeping, and a bell staff always immediately available, all made for a great stay.

We toured the bunker, which was a very interesting aspect of the visit, although at $32+ per person, it’s pricy. Our guide was excellent, and very engaging. You must leave your camera and other electronics behind while you tour, and unfortunately, the book that provides details on the bunker and a history of the resort is no longer available, and we were told that the book “might” be available in November or so.

Food & beverage service was great; we ate in Slammin’ Sammy’s and Sam Snead’s, and enjoyed happy hour in the lobby bar – all nicely executed, and the food in the restaurants and at our banquet meals was very tasty.

All of this said, the once considerate resort, steeped in southern manners, now forces itself upon you in fees, similar to a stay at a Las Vegas or Orlando hotel or motel. There is now a MANDATORY Historic Preservation Fund fee of 6.5% on EVERY purchase at the resort, even food, beverage, and items in the shops, along with rooms. Further, a 20% SERVICE charge is levied on every food & beverage item, regardless of the size of the party. The Southern elegance of respect for their guests is gone, and they’ve now sold out to the “let’s fee them to death” syndrome, which is very unfortunate.

Hotels, resorts, and other establishments fully understand that the cost of upkeep is a cost of doing business, and should not be passed along to the very guests who have elected to pay dearly for the privilege of staying there. Tips should be left to the discretion of patrons who receive good service, or not. Guests should continue to protest the now-mandatory Historic Preservation Fee, and urge the Greenbrier to roll actual costs into the room and related charges, as other businesses do. Can you imagine how you’d feel if your local automobile dealership assessed a 6.5% fee on your car purchase, and told you it was for upgrading their dealership???

Enjoy the stay, protest the annoying fees…

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are honored that overall you had a wonderful visit and enjoyed your stay with us. The Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) of 6.5% is collected to preserve and protect landscapes, buildings, and amenities that have played a meaningful role in The Greenbrier’s past while carefully planning the continuous improvement for the future. The Justice Family is dedicated to not only preserving The Greenbrier, but also to its continual improvement for the enjoyment of generations to come. While allowing us to accomplish these goals, the proceeds from this fund will also have an important economic, environmental, and educational impact on the resort, its surrounding communities, and the state of West Virginia. Our goal by being transparent with the HPF was to involve our guests and members in the importance of preserving The Greenbrier for future generations and to show our appreciation to you; knowing fully that we can not preserve The Greenbrier without your support. We apologize that we obviously did not accomplish this goal during your recent visit. Your goodwill and patronage is extremely important to us. We are hopeful that upon reflection you will agree with the absolute necessity of this fund and accept the appreciation of over 1800 members of Team Greenbrier and their families for your contribution to the continuation of The Greenbrier for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Can't recommend enough. Without a doubt The Greenbrier Hotel is my favorite in the world. Like stepping into a warm embrace it is a special place unlike any other. The Greenbrier is full of history and you shouldn't miss the hotel tours or a visit to the "shelter." These are not to be missed. The grounds are exquisite. Everything is immaculate. This is a "grand old lady" to be appreciated. The rooms are warm and comforting with every amenity provided. The shops are unbelievable! The golf courses are treasures and you can play where the pros play The Greenbrier Classic every July. There is tennis, croquet, horseback riding, skeet, trout fishing, bowling, afternoon tea, too much to list. Don't miss the indoor pool. Holiday decorations are beautiful. Many "event" occasions are planned during the year. The Greenbrier Hotel should be on everyone's "Bucket List."

Room Tip: Each room is different. Ask for a room close to the amenities that are most important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations! WOW, it was simply amazing to read your review. Thank you for all of the gracious compliments. We have been welcoming guests since 1778 and have had 236 years of experience in providing exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon and Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.