We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be on everyone's "Bucket List"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should be on everyone's "Bucket List"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Can't recommend enough. Without a doubt The Greenbrier Hotel is my favorite in the world. Like stepping into a warm embrace it is a special place unlike any other. The Greenbrier is full of history and you shouldn't miss the hotel tours or a visit to the "shelter." These are not to be missed. The grounds are exquisite. Everything is immaculate. This is a "grand old lady" to be appreciated. The rooms are warm and comforting with every amenity provided. The shops are unbelievable! The golf courses are treasures and you can play where the pros play The Greenbrier Classic every July. There is tennis, croquet, horseback riding, skeet, trout fishing, bowling, afternoon tea, too much to list. Don't miss the indoor pool. Holiday decorations are beautiful. Many "event" occasions are planned during the year. The Greenbrier Hotel should be on everyone's "Bucket List."

Room Tip: Each room is different. Ask for a room close to the amenities that are most important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations! WOW, it was simply amazing to read your review. Thank you for all of the gracious compliments. We have been welcoming guests since 1778 and have had 236 years of experience in providing exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    359
    156
    71
    36
See reviews for
379
770
17
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is my first visit to the greenbrier and hopefully not my last. The hotel is a historical experience of days gone by. The service was top notch. So far all the food has been excellent. The outdoor pool is gorgeous with views. The locker room at the pool is equipped so that you can clean up, shower and dress for your next activity. The casino makes you feel like your are in Monaco with a 10pm toast of champagne. Be aware men have to wear pants and jacket in there. The grounds are stunning. Also nearby is the greenbrier river trail for biking or walking. Well maintained with very nice camping spots. Just another activity to do while here. The decor is just fun inside the hotel, bold Dorothy draper colors.

Room Tip: The intermediate standard is nice and large. Try to get a corner room for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your first stay with us. Thank you for pointing out that we do have a dress code in the evenings as part of our 236-year history. Gentlemen are asked to wear a jacket and tie in the Main Dining Room for dinner and a jacket in the Casino Club after 7:00pm. Casual dining venues as well as room service are available for those that prefer a more relaxed atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have visited the Greenbrier 10 times over the last 22 years. We always have a wonderful stay. We had not visited in about 6-7 years yet many staff members remembered us and gave us a warm welcome. Every other time that we visited, we were able to check into our rooms as soon as we arrived and our accomodations were just as reserved. This time, the hotel was very crowded- the New Orleans Saints had their training camp there- team members, (who were very friendly) their families, and fans filled the hotel to capacity. We couldn't check in for a long time & our children's room was not as close to ours as expected. Surprisingly, our first room also had a houskeeping issue (the housekeeping had always been excellent) After checking in, I went down to the front desk to ask for another room on that floor. The desk person found another room across the hall & I moved into it. Based on previous stays I was surprised by this bump in the road but I liked the new room. The next morning I received a call from the asst. manager who apologized for the service failure- I said it was surprising but ok. He insisted that the check in should have been less stressful and treated me to a massage in the spa. I was impressed that the front desk person thought to tell the manager that we had some difficulty checking in and that he was so concerned about it. My children said, "What do you expect? It's the Greenbrier!" The massage was the best I have ever had and so relaxing. (I want to go back just to have another massage!)
We ate breakfast in the Main Dining Room each day- what a treat! We had dinner in the Main Dining Room 2 nights and Sam Sneads one night. All of the food was great. The night at Sam Sneads, one of my sons who had just turned 21 ordered a beer and was carded. The server saw that he had just had his birthday and she made him feel special the whole meal.
My children enjoyed many of the activities including shooting, off-road driving, bowling, going to Saint's practice and playing many games of shuffle board with us. My husband and I enjoyed the pool, taking long walks, and the fitness center. We thought that we might just see our children at meals but we all spent a lot of good quality time together- that was priceless!
The casino (which was new for us) was very nice and tastefully done. As with the rest of the hotel, the employees there were top notch.
As we were leaving to drive home, a doorman who we have seen for years remembered us. As he tucked us into our car with bottles of cold water for the trip he said, "We don't want you to go. We'll miss you. You're like family to us." That summed up how we feel at the Greenbrier. We have visited in the spring, summer, and winter- all seasons are special at the Greenbrier!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations! Thank you for all of the gracious compliments. For over 236 years The Greenbrier Resort has taken great pride in “ladies and gentlemen being served by ladies and gentlemen”. It is our sincere belief that our first priority at The Greenbrier – no matter one’s official duties – is to simply care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. We are so honored that you think of us as family, because we certainly feel the same way about each and every one of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Visited The Greenbrier for the second time and loved it! We were given a complimentary upgrade and the accommodations were great. We did the Bunker Tour which I highly recommend as well as the Segways. Golf was great as usual and can't get enough of the wedge salad at Prime 44 West! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend a more beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are somewhat crowded and bathrooms are small. Go for the higher priced, larger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your August visit to The Greenbrier. With an unparalleled range of amenities and activities, America's Resort is an ideal place for friends to get away for a few days. We must agree with you that The Greenbrier is a “beautiful place” to visit! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore md
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Always a great stay at the Greenbrier , we enjoy the Windsor Club at greenbrier
Private area for guest who stay there key access to get to the room and club lounge
Great place to relax and enjoy time with family or friends or other guest
With beverages there in lounge and assortment of food through out the day
Concierge and club attendants are great , check in is speedy
Enjoy prime 44 steak house and Forum Italian and Sam Snead's
Had friends bring there mother who turn 96 and as she was leaving she was so excited with all the great service and well wishes from all , she said she wants to return soon and to have her 100 birthday bash there

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad to know that once again you enjoyed your visit to The Greenbrier. The Windsor Club is the most exclusive accommodation experience at America's Resort. The Greenbrier has taken the club level to extraordinary new heights. The Windsor Club is a deluxe collection of premier accommodations including the most outstanding service and amenities in our history. This club isn't for everyone. An entire wing of The Greenbrier is reserved solely for the enjoyment of our most selective guests. The Virginia Wing is where Windsor Club guests are served delicious hors d'oeuvre and decadent desserts fit for a king and queen, or Duke and Duchess, for that matter. A simple phone call provides Windsor Club guests access to a select Concierge Team trained to indulge your every whim throughout the day. We hope to welcome you back soon and would be honored to help host a 100th Birthday party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Needed updating. Tip included in the bill even for just 2 people. Grounds are beautiful as is the inside of lobby. Nice to come once but would not come back. Mani/pedi was just a soak and polish.tip was added to that bill also. Do not eat at Sam sneeds

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the fact that you left feeling not overly impressed is disappointing to hear. Our commitment is to exceed the expectations of our guests and insure that we live up to our mission statement which is, “Our guests will experience world class service with personalized gracious interactions. At The Greenbrier, the good becomes “extraordinary” and the great becomes “spectacular;” where each guest anticipates their return to America’s Resort”. We apologize that for this visit we failed in our mission. We would be honored to have the opportunity to serve you as our guests in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Overall our five night family (13 members) stay at the Greenbrier was highly successful, limited only by the quirkiness and neglect of the President's Estate House. On the plus side, the Estate House more than adequately accommodated all 13 of us, with five en suite bedrooms and plenty of room for roll away beds, lots of closet space/storage, big open rooms, two huge dining areas, lovely enclosed porch, etc. In addition, all of the support staff are outstandingly friendly and helpful. On the other hand, this building is suffering from long term neglect. There are two areas off the patio being used for storage that definitely should be boarded up to prevent young children from exploring. The kitchen equipment is lacking (no oven mitts, no covers for pots, etc.), worn, and antiquated (cannot fit two medium size pots/pans on adjacent burners). Mice droppings in the kitchen. No provision for recycling. No BBQ for the deck. Furniture throughout is worn, broken, and stained. Carpets are worn, stained, and uneven. Sections of the ceiling are blistering. No placemats or coasters, and inadequate dining table linens. Curtains held up by nails and unable to adjust. We respect that the President's Estate House is old, and laden with history. It is a shame that it is being neglected. A little attention to detail could get this property to a 4+ rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Greenbrier. We appreciate your comments and candor concerning The President’s Estate House. I apologize for the lapses in service and maintenance that you experienced. At one time past President’s of The Greenbrier Resort lived in the estate house; hence its name. This fall we will begin an entire renovation and restoration of The President’s Estate House. This project will be one of the first funded by The Historic Preservation Fund (HPF). The Historic Preservation Fund is collected to preserve and protect landscapes, buildings, and amenities that have played a meaningful role in The Greenbrier’s past while carefully planning the continuous improvement for the future. The President's Estate House at The Greenbrier is a hilltop accommodation with a commanding view of the lush landscape and the historic Springhouse. A superb setting for a large family or group seeking privacy, luxury and convenience. Elegance and comfort are combined in the house, which was originally built in 1912 by a captain of industry as his private family residence. Original works of art are featured throughout the home. The house has four bedrooms on two levels, each with a private bath. Guests also enjoy two kitchens, living room, dining room, parlor, sunroom, two porches and a patio. Private catering is also available. We look forward to unveiling The President’s Estate House in the spring of 2015 and it providing magnificent accommodations to the guests of The Greenbrier for generations to come. We remain at your service and hope to welcome you back to The Greenbrier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.