We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful historic hotel with wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful historic hotel with wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the Greenbrier hotel for four nights in order for my husband to compete a higher education program. We had many group meals provided for us. I have food allergies and sensitivities that make it difficult to travel or go out to eat. The Guest relations manager, as well as the staff and different chefs were so accommodating in regards to this. I had delicious meals whether in a restaurant on our own or with the group that fit with my particular issues. I did not have any reactions and was so happy I could relax and enjoy my trip. We found all the staff throughout the hotel to be very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rg56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for pointing out that The Greenbrier is able to accommodate a variety of special diets including Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free. We remain at your service and hope to have the honor of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ashland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our first visit to this resort. We decided to stop by on our way to Washington DC and NYC. The place is very beautiful and the staff is very friendly. The food was excellent and I would highly recommend the "Bunker Tour", it was very informative. My only complaint was the noisy air conditioner in the room. It would kick on every 15 to 20 minutes and awaken us! It sounded like a jet airplane engine! Didn't sleep at all that night. Also, when I took a shower in the morning, the drain didn't work properly and there was ankle deep water in the shower! Yuck! I informed the front desk when I checked out that morning, they said that they would have maintenance check it out, but did not offer to compensate me for the lost night of sleep. Definitely not receive value for the price that we paid for the room! Probably won't come back.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room with updated AC and plumbing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your gracious compliments concerning your recent visit to The Greenbrier. However, I must apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations. I assure you that the lapses in maintenance you experienced should have been corrected to beyond your expectations. The atypical issues that you experienced with the air conditioning unit and bathtub were very disappointing to learn of. I also apologize that the front desk staff did not resolve the issue to your satisfaction before your departure. We remain at your service and should you wish to contact me to discuss your stay I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com. On behalf of everyone at The Greenbrier, please accept our best wishes for a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived Wed. June 25.and checked out June 29. Check-in was easy. We stayed in Spring cottage because we took our dog. Everyone in Spring cottages had their dogs. Housekeeping was wonderful, food was excellent, and everyone was so friendly. Lots to do! Would love to go again!

Room Tip: Spring cottages have 1 bathroom. We had guests and they said sofa bed was not very conmfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimdog1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay! The Greenbrier is proud of the unparalleled ranges of amenities and activities available for guests. With over 55+ activities ranging from falconry and fly-fishing to spa treatments and swimming, there is something for everyone to enjoy at The Greenbrier. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Was there for 4 days on business. Very historic place. We had a great experience. Staff very friendly. It's not cheap, but in my mind worth the experience. Plenty of activities for families. Be aware they do have a dress code. We didn't eat in the main dining room. Ate at the pool (tree top) and slamming Sammy's (after Sam Snead). Food was consistently good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our unique character - over 236 years in the making! The cottages built in the 1830s are the oldest buildings still standing and the central section of the current hotel was completed in 1913. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy The Greenbrier's long history and hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is our second trip to the Greenbrier. Love the old charm and hospitality. Happy they continue to relax the dress code more and more which is really necessary. The amenities are amazing and service wonderful. Make sure men bring a coat, pretty much required for dinner in most of the restaurants and the Casino. Looking forward to them dropping that policy some day as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCarlKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier exceeded your expectations! We have been welcoming guests since 1778 and have had 236 years of experience in providing exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a well kept era hotel if you like the throwback. The casino is a draw now for locals and it sits down below the hotel in a sort of bunker itself. Service is excellent at the hotel but the decor is a bit older fashion if you like that sort of thing. If you stay do not buy the prepaid food packages especially at the adjoining steak house. We ended up paying more because you pay a fee to the restaurant and a fee to the hotel with the package. Call restaurant direct and make a separate reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the mountains.. Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racinetv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit! Thank you so much for recognizing our wonderful staff and the exceptional customer service and warm hospitality that they provide our guests. We hope that you make a visit to The Greenbrier an annual tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The Greenbriier Resort offers wonderful rooms, a great assortment of restaurants, and service that is above and beyond what other hotels offer. The only part that you have to plan ahead for is the dress code-I understand why they have implemented this but it is hard to traverse the hotel area to the pools without breaking the no flip flop policy.
We were able to dine at The Forum, The Main Dining Room for breakfast, and Prime 44 West which were all fabulous! Our waiter, David at Prime 44 West gave us the history of Jerry West and his role in the NBA as the Silhouette of Basketball which was very interesting, while at the same time giving us great service. We ended up at Draper's for wonderful milkshakes and a HUGE banana split served by a woman who has been there for 25 years. What a yummy end to dinner!
The only fault to the hotel is the view from the rooms. We had 2 on different parts of the same floor, but the views were not what I'd expect. However, the rooms are so nice that you can just close the window shades and enjoy the interiors.
This is a must see/visit hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. As you mention, dinner at Prime 44 West is an excellent choice! Honoring NBA legend and West Virginia native Jerry West #44 (the man in the NBA logo), Prime 44 West is a supreme steakhouse offering nothing but the finest aged beef. The Banana Splits at Draper's are impressive and definitely something that may need to be "split." Other $8 desserts that we highly recommend include The Forum's Classic Tiramisu, The Golf Club's Banana Cream Pie, Draper's Carrot Cake and Draper's Cheesecake. We look forward to your next visit to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
8.5 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing