We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greenbrier Golf Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Greenbrier Golf Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just came back from our annual guys golf trip. This year we chose The Greenbrier. We happened to pick 3 days that ended up being filled with rain and cooler temps. It was hard to get excited for the trip when looking at the forecast prior to our arrival. The rain started within minutes of our arrival and lasted days. We immediately noticed how friendly the staff members were at check in, and also how accommodating they were. We arrived early and our cottage was ready. The rooms were very nice and the beds were comfortable. The shuttle service around the grounds were perfect. Everyone we came across was extremely nice! Loved the casino and restaurants on property. Grounds were also manicured beautifully.

Now I will talk about the golfing experience. Most golf courses under those conditions would be closed due to saturation. All of the courses here had great drainage. Under the circumstances, the courses were still in great shape! Loved the Greenbrier course just as much as Old White. We had to change tee times around and the staff in the pro shop were more than helpful. I've done a lot of traveling in my life, and it is very rare to come across as many great people as we did at Greenbrier. If there is anything you need during your stay, you just pick up the phone and someone is more than happy to help!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your golf getaway! The Greenbrier is proud to offer five championship golf courses including the Old White TPC (host to The Greenbrier Classic, a PGA TOUR FedEx Cup Event) and Oakhurst Links (the first golf course designed and built in America). However, we thank you even more for recognizing the unique service provided by the staff of The Greenbrier. We truly believe that our first priority– no matter one’s official duties – is to sincerely care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. This is the essence of ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen. We look forward to seeing you out on the golf courses again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    369
    161
    73
    37
See reviews for
387
788
17
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg,WV
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I have always wanted to stay here, as we live in WV, but always found it a little pricey. We were able to secure a FABULOUS deal($198 with breakfast included!) in December 2013 and were so excited to be able to stay at such an iconic resort. We fully expected to have a very small room with a poor view for the price we paid but were pleasantly surprised to find our room size more than adequate with a HUGE closet. We also had a nice view of the grounds at the back of the resort, our only complaint was how really dirty the windows were...a 5 star resort requires attention to every detail. The staff here provide excellent service and make you feel very welcomed. The resort was beautifully decorated for Christmas, which gave it a truly special feeling during our visit. Yes, the decor is very flowery and classic but fits with the history of the resort and did not bother us. We had dinner at Prime 44, which was exceptional (especially the lobster mashed potatoes!!), less impressed with the Forum but found it adequate. Breakfast buffet was nice, but a little close and crowded for those seated nearby...we were fortunate to be seated away from the chaos. We did the bunker tour, was enjoyable. We did have to check out early am due to a large snowstorm moving in, which was disappointing, but we were very pleased with our stay overall and hope to return again in the future to take advantage of the Spa and other wonderful services/activities provided by this iconic resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. The Greenbrier has enjoyed a 65-year relationship with Dorothy Draper & Company, and her legendary style of vibrant colors, floral patterns and bold contrasts is on display around every corner! As you mention, dinner at Prime 44 West is an excellent choice! Honoring NBA legend and West Virginia native Jerry West #44 (the man in the NBA logo), Prime 44 West is a supreme steakhouse offering nothing but the finest aged beef and of course their famous lobster whipped potatoes! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband, eight-yr-old daughter and I just came back from a three-night stay at The Greenbrier and had such a memorable time. The grounds, guest rooms and hotel are beautiful. My daughter loved the writing room and indoor pool in particular. And the activities are endless, though be prepared to pay for almost all of them. The guides/instructors were all incredibly friendly and knowledgable and made each experience worthwhile. We took tennis lessons and did horseback riding, archery, skeet and clay shooting,bowling and our daughter spent a morning at the kid's-only adventure zone. The most surprising part of the experience for us though was how great the food was. Prime 44 and Sam Snead's were just delicious. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations! We have been welcoming guests since 1778 and have had 235 years of experience in providing exceptional customer service. Thank you for noticing our emphasis on creating a family-friendly environment here at The Greenbrier! Children 12 and under receive a "VIP Card" upon check-in that is redeemable for daily prizes and can participate in our "Kids Play Free" program for a variety of activities with a paying adult. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed as part of a wedding party in October 2013. Our rooms were spacious and very clean. Dining at Prime 44 was great, the service was very good and the food was excellent. You do pay resort prices but they are more than offset by the experience. The grounds were in great shape and the amenities are top notch.

Room Tip: It depends on the traveller. The views from the different porticos are all good. The entrance side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and letting us know that for your visit we fulfilled our vision statement; “Where experiences are timeless and memories last forever….” We understand how important special occasions are for our guests and do our best to make them absolutely memorable! October is such a beautiful time of the year at The Greenbrier, especially for a wedding celebration. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A true resort where the customer is valued above all. You are truly appreciated and the buildings,shops ,casino, restaurants,rooms , grounds ,halls, and lounge ares are perfectly decorated and maintained. The staff at all levels are the most cooperative and friendly. Will go again

Room Tip: We have been there 4 times and each room was different and great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank for your review. At The Greenbrier, we believe that our first priority– no matter one’s official duties – is to sincerely care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. This is the essence of ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our unique character - over 236 years in the making! The cottages built in the 1830s are the oldest buildings still standing and the central section of the current hotel was completed in 1913. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy The Greenbrier's long history and hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great deal for the price. I always wanted to visit The Greenbrier and this was a great experience. Jim Justice has done a great job of restoring this grand hotel. The service and staff were great. We had some snow and it gave the grounds a beautiful winter scene.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are a great value,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your March visit to The Greenbrier. With an unparalleled range of amenities and activities, America's Resort is an ideal place for friends to get away for a few days. Thank you for reminding us that even in winter The Greenbrier is a “beautiful” place to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My family just returned from a 3 night visit at the Greenbrier. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. After a minor snafu at check in relative to our room that was quickly resolved, everything was great. The accommodations (Spring House Cottage) were great. The restaurants (Prime 44, Slammin Sammy's, Forum, Drapers) while a bit pricey were good, not great, but good. Prime 44 was priced fairly compared to other top notch steakhouses. The spa, golf pro shop(lessons for my son and I) and the tennis pro shop (lesson for my wife) were all first class. The Jeep excursion was clearly the highlight the trip for me. If you take the Jeep excursion, I highly reccomend that you request Pepper. I do not reccomend the bunker tour. While our guide was good, it is really a tour of the bowels of the hotel and frankly pretty boring. Nothing, with the exception of one room and an auditorium, is like it was as during the Cold War. The entire area has been repurposed as a data storage site (huge profit center I am sure).

Overall, the stay was very good. I do agree with the other reviews relative to the fees. The daily resort fee and 20% gratuity are expected at a resort of this caliber, however the Preservation Fund 6.5% fee is piling on. If you need to charge another $25 a night for the room, just charge it in the base rate. Our rate was stated @ $399 a night, when it was all said and done, it was just over $500 a night. I am not complaining because it was clearly disclosed upfront and it is not out of bounds for a resort of The Greenbrier's caliber, but the way it is charged is a bit unbecoming.

Overall, it was a great visit and we will be back.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The Greenbrier is a luxury resort, and we pride ourselves on offering an unparalleled range of amenities and activities as well as exceptional customer service throughout our 10,000-acre property. Thank you for recognizing our incredible staff and the service they provide. I have shared your kind words with Pepper! We believe that our first priority at The Greenbrier – no matter one’s official duties – is to sincerely care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. This is the essence of ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen. Of course, enjoying this world-class experience does come at a cost, and so we do our best to publish all rates, fees, gratuities and menus on our website so that there are no surprises upon arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back to America's Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.