We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trbute to the virginias” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Albans
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“trbute to the virginias”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great deal for the price. I always wanted to visit The Greenbrier and this was a great experience. Jim Justice has done a great job of restoring this grand hotel. The service and staff were great. We had some snow and it gave the grounds a beautiful winter scene.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are a great value,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your March visit to The Greenbrier. With an unparalleled range of amenities and activities, America's Resort is an ideal place for friends to get away for a few days. Thank you for reminding us that even in winter The Greenbrier is a “beautiful” place to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    913
    309
    135
    59
    30
See reviews for
330
639
16
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My family just returned from a 3 night visit at the Greenbrier. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. After a minor snafu at check in relative to our room that was quickly resolved, everything was great. The accommodations (Spring House Cottage) were great. The restaurants (Prime 44, Slammin Sammy's, Forum, Drapers) while a bit pricey were good, not great, but good. Prime 44 was priced fairly compared to other top notch steakhouses. The spa, golf pro shop(lessons for my son and I) and the tennis pro shop (lesson for my wife) were all first class. The Jeep excursion was clearly the highlight the trip for me. If you take the Jeep excursion, I highly reccomend that you request Pepper. I do not reccomend the bunker tour. While our guide was good, it is really a tour of the bowels of the hotel and frankly pretty boring. Nothing, with the exception of one room and an auditorium, is like it was as during the Cold War. The entire area has been repurposed as a data storage site (huge profit center I am sure).

Overall, the stay was very good. I do agree with the other reviews relative to the fees. The daily resort fee and 20% gratuity are expected at a resort of this caliber, however the Preservation Fund 6.5% fee is piling on. If you need to charge another $25 a night for the room, just charge it in the base rate. Our rate was stated @ $399 a night, when it was all said and done, it was just over $500 a night. I am not complaining because it was clearly disclosed upfront and it is not out of bounds for a resort of The Greenbrier's caliber, but the way it is charged is a bit unbecoming.

Overall, it was a great visit and we will be back.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The Greenbrier is a luxury resort, and we pride ourselves on offering an unparalleled range of amenities and activities as well as exceptional customer service throughout our 10,000-acre property. Thank you for recognizing our incredible staff and the service they provide. I have shared your kind words with Pepper! We believe that our first priority at The Greenbrier – no matter one’s official duties – is to sincerely care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. This is the essence of ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen. Of course, enjoying this world-class experience does come at a cost, and so we do our best to publish all rates, fees, gratuities and menus on our website so that there are no surprises upon arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back to America's Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a great stay at the Greenbrier! The site, landscaping and grounds are wonderful...The employees seemed very friendly and approachable...There are a ton of outdoor activities such as golf, horseback riding, tennis, hiking and off-road driving...If you have the budget for all of this, it's really a unique experience not replicated elsewhere...They also host a PGA event, but difficult to get lodging then. Don't miss the breakfast buffet, which was excellent even at $27/plate, but well worth it if on vacation. Our dinner in the Prime 44 West restaurant was stellar (but over $300)...My wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed our steak and seafood selections and the wine selection was great...We were pleasantly surprised at the wine prices ($40-$50/bottle)...My KC Steak at just under $60 was good sized and excellently prepared, but we were both blown away by the garlic, buttered, lobster mashed potatoes---they did NOT skimp on the lobster or the helping---it quickly became our favorite side dish ever!!! The cigar menu had a dozen or so well known favorites and you could find an excellent stick for under $20! We rec'd conflicting reports on whether jackets were required when booking our room and making dinner reservations over the phone and even from the bellhops when we arrived, but ultimately found jackets are encouraged but not required at Prime 44...I'd recommend wearing them as 99% of the males (of all ages) did---and they ARE required in the casino in the evenings...The Casino was great too...great service, very clean and new still...We had the opportunity to take in lunch at the golf clubhouse and the gentleman at the bar almost made the weekend for us in his own right...He was a wonderful older man and made our lunch a highlight of our weekend. The afternoon tea/coffee was an added bonus---leisurely and relaxing---as long as you stay clear of the "goodie trays" which are literally swamped with people...Don't miss the bunker tour---although really not much to look at, just to take it in with its historical significance and to comtemplate the reason for its existance was of great interest to us. The free historical tour of the hotel itself was interesting and provided additional insight about the resort's evolution. We highly recommend this place as a weekend stay...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Greenbrier! Thank you so much for pointing out so many of our 55+ activities. In addition to the activities that you highlighted, we are also excited to offer, sporting clays, kayaking, biking, croquet and much more. As you mention, dinner at Prime 44 West is an excellent choice! Honoring NBA legend and West Virginia native Jerry West #44 (the man in the NBA logo), Prime 44 West is a supreme steakhouse offering nothing but the finest aged beef and of course their famous lobster whipped potatoes. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

As expected, the second we arrived, we were met with exceptional service. We were thrilled with our room. Spacious and overlooking the main entrance, breathtaking! We checked in fairly late so we decided to grab dinner in the steakhouse, Prime 44. Knowing the price point for Prime; and hearing all of the wonderful things about the steakhouse, we were more than prepared-and happy, to pay for an exceptional meal. Unfortunately, the price did not match the quality. We were further surprised when we got our bill and saw a 6% historical fee tacked on! We were absolutely shocked!

The next day, we enjoyed Sam Sneads. The views at Sneads are breathtaking and the food is pretty good for the price point. However, 6% historical fee tacked on to that bill as well. The casino is an absolutely fantastic spot, as is the entire mezzanine level. The staff on the mezzanine level bring a different and fantastic kind of energy to the resort. Pasty, Nancy, and Sue were absolutely delightful and very knowledgeable of the resort. They gave fantastic tips for dinner that evening as well as ideas for things to do in Lewisburg. Moving Drapers down to the mezzanine level was such a clever decision! I am sad to see the lingerie store, Mysteries, closing it's doors. I hope to see some of the brands in Mysteries still carried in the other women's shops.

That evening we dined at The Forum. We both had the Italian Wedding Soup and I had pizza-fantastic! Definitely made up from the meal at Prime. However, I was disappointed with the dessert...it could easily be compared to a chain restaurant's. That evening we enjoyed drinking and karaoke at JJ's. Such a great spot to unwind without feeling like you're below Greenbrier standards. We had an absolute blast!

I love the fact that The Greenbrier still enforces their dress code for dinner and in the casino. However, I was dissapointed to see afternoon tea moved from the upper lobby to the main dining room. It really disrupts a wonderful tradition. Back to this historical fee...I can totally understand and get behind paying a historical fee for our room or the bunker tours, but NOT every single purchase made at The Greenbrier. What does buying a pair of Gucci sunglasses have to do with preserving the history of The Greenbrier? Very disappointing and more frustrating that this new fee was not mentioned when the rooms were booked. While we had a very nice time, we left feeling nickle and dimed to death!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room overlooking the front entrance. Also, tell them if you prefer to be in a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are honored that overall you had a wonderful visit and enjoyed your stay with us. Your feeling that the value of your experience was not commensurate with the price paid will receive our careful attention; and we will certainly continue to work to improve that perception for all our guests. The Greenbrier is a luxury resort, and we pride ourselves on offering an unparalleled range of amenities and activities as well as exceptional customer service throughout our 10,000-acre property. Enjoying this world-class experience does come at a cost, and so we do our best to publish all rates, fees, gratuities and menus on our website so that there are no surprises upon arrival. I would be happy to discuss in detail your concerns regarding fees and the preservation and maintenance of this historic 236 year old property. I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com.
The Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) of 6.5% is collected to preserve and protect landscapes, buildings, and amenities that have played a meaningful role in The Greenbrier’s past while carefully planning the continuous improvement for the future. The proceeds from this fund will also have an important economic, environmental, and educational impact on the resort and surrounding communities. We want future generations to be able to experience and discover their own connections to The Greenbrier. We remain at your service and hope to have the honor of serving you again.

Sincerely,
Robert A. Mickey
Vice President of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We just returned from three nights at The Greenbrier, and while the property is lovely and the service was good for the most part, the fees charged are over the top. In addition to the $35/day resort fee (plus taxes.... even a tax on the resort fee!) there is now a 6.5% "Historical Preservation Fund Fee" on EVERYTHING! The fee as added to the room rate, any and all food purchases, any retail purchases, tours, golf.... everything. I asked two employees what this "Fund" is for and was given two totally different answers. Coincidentally, a practice facility with three football fields and an indoor facility is currently being built for the New Orleans Saints to use for three weeks this year in July. I asked if the "Fund" was being used for this construction and after some hesitation was told "no." The Greenbrier is a beautiful place, but has gotten very pricey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit! Thank you so much for recognizing our wonderful staff and the exceptional customer service and warm hospitality that they provide our guests. The Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) of 6.5% is collected to preserve and protect landscapes, buildings, and amenities that have played a meaningful role in The Greenbrier’s past while carefully planning the continuous improvement for the future. The proceeds from this fund will also have an important economic, environmental, and educational impact on the resort and surrounding communities. We want future generations to be able to experience and discover their own connections to The Greenbrier. Some recent and current projects that are being funded are:
• Preservation and improvements to Paradise Row Cottages
• Preservation of Louisiana Cottage
• Congressional Suite Terrace restoration including roof deck replacement, new roof, new permanent awning structure and décor upgrades
• Windsor Club and Virginia room preservation and improvements
• Preservation and renovation of the Valley View estate
• Restoration of window treatments in Cameo Ballroom
We remain at your service and hope to welcome back to America’s Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our stay of three days was an enjoyable experience. The food was very good as was the décor. The service was absolutely spectacular! The only negative remark is the true cost of everything. Prices were high even on resort standards. But still I would recommend the Greenbrier to anyone looking for a special getaway.

Room Tip: Find a special on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to The Greenbrier. 1,800 employees of The Greenbrier work to fulfill our mission statement to our guests everyday. We are honored that you feel that we lived up to these words. “Our guests will experience world class service with personalized gracious interactions. At The Greenbrier, the good becomes “extraordinary” and the great becomes “spectacular;” where each guest anticipates their return to America’s Resort.” We remain at your service and hope to welcome back to America’s Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Unfortunately, we visited The Greenbier over Easter Weekend which happened to be when a noro virus was running rampant in the hotel. All of my family (as well as many other families that we met) were struck with the bug. Not the hotel's fault, but the way that the outbreak was handled was really disappointing. For example, when we called about seeing a local doctor, the concierge told me that they could not help us. When I called to cancel my spa appointment because I was throwing up all night, I was told that there was a 24 hour cancellation policy and I would be charged if I didn't show up for the appointment.

This is still a very nice resort, but for the prices being paid, one would expect the service and understanding (especially in our situation) to be more top notch. I doubt that we will return anytime soon.

Room Tip: The Spring Row Cottages and Paradise Row Cottages are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at The Greenbrier; and please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings and disappointments you shared. The indication that you might not return anytime soon is concerning to us.

Your atypical experiences regarding the Spa and our lack of concern and care were very disappointing to read, and I am following up with that team to ensure that issues of this nature do not recur in the future. I also apologize that we were not more helpful and caring concerning your family’s illness. Although we do not have direct access to a doctor or nurse we certainly could have helped with clinics and offices in the area that would have been able to see your family; as well as providing transportation for you.

I am very sorry that we failed to live up to our traditional standards of excellence during your recent visit with us. If you should decide to honor us with a return visit, I hope you will contact me directly for assistance with all the arrangements. I believe you have already received an email from me with my contact information, but to be sure I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com

Sincerely,
Robert A. Mickey
Vice President of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.