We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you are a fan of vintage decor, history and architecture, you will love this place. We choose to stay in mostly historic properties, and this hotel has been nicely maintained and preserved. All older hotels have quirks, so if that is a problem for you, don't book at one. Our Superior room was large, with an extremely comfortable bed and bedding. Room was very clean. In addition to the mints, the maid left postcards and the daily activity sheet at turn down. The grounds are very nice, even in the winter. There are all sorts of rooms, so if you want to find a quiet place to read under a portrait of Grace Kelly, you can. It is a bit quiet off season, but I enjoyed that. The spa was very nice, and the Swedish massage, while a bit pricey, was great. My only complaint would be the service charges on everything- and calculating of tax after the service charge. It adds up. Also, 20 percent for take out seems a bit excessive. The food on our recent trip was great, so no complaints there (Prime 44 West, Forum). The historical slide show was very interesting, and there are lots of archival pictures throughout the halls. I personally did not care for the Draper decorating style, but it adds to the vintage feel, and you do get used to it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful and gracious review. The Greenbrier Hotel is celebrating its 100th birthday and we are proud of the century of service associated with The Greenbrier Hotel. However, we are even prouder of the 236 years of recorded history surrounding the Greenbrier Resort. There are very few institutions in America that have, like us, been basically in the same business for two hundred years; other examples might be Harvard, Yale, Congress, and the U.S. Army. Our owner is committed to reinvesting in the Greenbrier. We will honor the Dorothy Draper style and tradition while updating our facilities with modern amenities. We are proud to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    392
    179
    75
    39
See reviews for
421
829
21
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Most reviews mention the high price point of Prime 44, but chances are that if you are planning to eat at Prime 44, you are ready to pay for quality. Even at ~150/head without wine, I regret nothing. The food, service, and ambience were outstanding. The table-side preparation of the Cesar salad harkens back to an earlier era of great steakhouses. The steaks were exquisitely aged and prepared to the perfect, requested temperature (a rarity these days, if you will forgive the pun). Overall, Prime 44 is an outstanding restaurant for those wanting a wonderful steak in WSS.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The blue cheese crusted filet was one of the best we have ever had. The table side made Cesar was fantastic also. Good selection of wines, even by glass. We were seated next two large parties that took away from our overall experience and the level of service that we received from our waiter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to The Greenbrier. The hotel is truly stunning. We loved the facilities and it's historic charm.

Room: Our room had ample space, was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We really did have a great room on the 4th floor. It was in a private alcove and was very quiet during our stay. Our only complaint of the room was the very low water pressure in the shower.

Service: The service that we received during our stay was as you would expect for this type of facility. Andy in the main dining room for breakfast on Sunday morning was a shining star during our stay.

Restaurants: During our stay we dined at Drapers for lunch, Prime 44 for dinner and the Main Dining room for breakfast. The filet and table side made Cesar salad at Prime 44 were fantastic. The buffet for breakfast at the main dining room was one of the best we ever had. They were constantly turning over the food, refreshing and replenishing the selections. It hands down beat the brunch we had at The Jefferson in Richmond,VA by a long shot. My only complaint of our dining experiences at the Greenbrier relates to Prime 44. We were there for our 15th anniversary - so we were looking forward to a delicious romantic dinner. We got delicious, but romantic it was not. The restaurant was aware we were there for an anniversary and commented on it when we were seated, but proceeded to place us next to two very large (and loud) parties. It really took away from the entire experience.

Spa: My husband and I both had spa treatments during our stay. There was a scheduling snafu, they had us booked for our treatments for the following week. When we went to sign in they quickly worked things out to accommodate our treatments. I had the Greenbrier Treatment and the massage that Stephen did that accompanied the treatment was superb!

Casino: We had a fun time here and even won a little money!

Overall, it was a very good experience...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we wish Happy Anniversary, once again. As you mention, dinner at Prime 44 West is an excellent choice! Honoring NBA legend and West Virginia native Jerry West #44 (the man in the NBA logo), Prime 44 West is a supreme steakhouse offering nothing but the finest aged beef. However, we must apologize for our carelessness in assigning your table. We apologize that this lapse in service detracted from your special evening. The Greenbrier Spa is one of the top spas in the world! We encourage all our guests to experience our signature Sulphur Soak and "take the waters" as guests have been doing for 235 years. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I visited the Greenbrier for a romantic getaway. We found a reasonable deal online with a package. Arrived Friday (first of two nights) and greeted by courteous bellstaff. Sweet tea or champagne on check-in was a nice touch. We found our room (newly-decorated/renovated deluxe) to be spacious comfortable, and luxurious. My request of extra foam pillows was fulfilled. Bathroom was to die for with Italian marble, dedicated heater, large space. Plasma screen TV. Housekeeping was impressive with nightly turndown service (including mood lighting and music + chocolates) and afternoon ice service. Complimentary bath robes and slippers. The bed was amongst the most comfortable I've experienced. Very high thread count bedding. This resort is definitely several steps up on the class meter. Dress code is a cut above the rest. We found the food pricey but exquisite (see reviews of Prime 44 West and The Forum). We engaged in many "free" or included activities including hiking trails, billiards, afternoon tea, complimentary bites at bars (including sports bar), complimentary champagne at 10pm in the casino club. We enjoyed the overall ambiance of the entire resort. I particularly enjoyed the bourbon selection. Our nightly hangout was the casino bar. Service was amazing throughout the resort and on a level I've experienced only on high-end cruise ships or at Ritz-Carlton resorts. The Greenbrier itself is a museum worthy of a day or more of exploration. We enjoyed the shops (my wife found a nice Tory Burch collection). We had breakfast our second morning at Carleson's cafe which was pricey but tasty. Afternoon tea was a bit disappointing due to lack of variety of food selections. Otherwise, our experience couldn't have been better. Next time we might consider the bunker tour and some of the more warm weather attractions. We also wanted to try the room service but ran out of time. Tip: check out the neighboring subdivision of homes ranging from ~$1m to > $6m. This place truly is "America's Resort"... a gem hidden in the mountains of Appalachia.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the newly-remodeled "deluxe" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your visit to The Greenbrier! The Greenbrier is proud of the unparalleled ranges of amenities and activities available for guests. With over 55+ activities ranging from falconry and fly-fishing to spa treatments and swimming, there is something for everyone to enjoy at The Greenbrier. Thank you for pointing out The Greenbrier's unique collection of shops in your review! The shops offer items skillfully crafted by local artisans as well luxury brands you would expect to see at America's Resort. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent a weekend at the Greenbrier (see other review). Everyone dresses up in the evening. Pre-dinner drinks were enjoyed at the The steakhouse reservation was made well in advance due to popularity. You get what you pay for here... prices were reasonable and comparable to any high end steakhouse chain. David F was our expert server and amazing... A Greenbrier employee for 40 years. The ambiance of this restaurant is dim and enveloping. It is much bigger inside than it looks at the entrance. The tableside-prepared Caesar salad is a real treat and not to miss. Appetizers sounded (and looked) appetizing but we knew what we were about to be hit with and opted out of those. The award-winning cornbread was delicious. Very very nice bottle or by-the-glass wine selection (my wife had a very nice Columbia Valley blend). We elected to split the bone in cowboy ribeye. The steak was exquisite and cooked to a turn. Sides were large and included the best french fries (served with smoked ketchup and garlic aoli) and parmesean-encrusted creamed spinach I've ever tasted. Wish we'd saved room for dessert. The tableside bananas Foster looked amazing. This is quite possibly the most appetizing restaurant at the Greenbrier. The service, the food, the ambiance absolutely impeccable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our second stay at The Greenbrier couldn't have been more memorable. The regal surroundings and outstanding staff are world class from every perspective! A variety of accommodations, luscious cuisine, and multitude of recreational experiences are sure to please guests of all ages and interests. The Greenbrier has it all. During this visit we especially enjoyed some of the more unique opportunities. A hour long historic slide show, presented by The Greenbrier's knowledgeable and entertaining historian, provides guests with an interesting documentary of the resort's significance over the past two centuries. Plus, we found ice skating surrounded by lights and music to be an absolute delight. Daily afternoon tea with sweet treats and piano music adds a lovely touch and shouldn't be missed. The Greenbrier continues to be reminiscent of an elegant era gone-by, but for those who wish to step back and enjoy, the reality of the experience even exceeds its fine reputation!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! Since 1778, America's Resort has been proud to welcome distinguished guests including 26 U.S. Presidents. The Greenbrier is proud of the unparalleled ranges of amenities and activities available for guests. With over 55+ activities ranging from falconry and fly-fishing to spa treatments and swimming, there is something for everyone to enjoy at The Greenbrier. Many of these activities are complimentary including nightly champagne toasts in the Casino Club, movies with popcorn in The Greenbrier Theatre, the daily history tours and presentations that you mentioned, as well as, culinary demonstrations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier and providing another 236 years of exceptional hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
18.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
8.5 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 8 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.