We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to The Greenbrier. The hotel is truly stunning. We loved the facilities and it's historic charm.

Room: Our room had ample space, was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We really did have a great room on the 4th floor. It was in a private alcove and was very quiet during our stay. Our only complaint of the room was the very low water pressure in the shower.

Service: The service that we received during our stay was as you would expect for this type of facility. Andy in the main dining room for breakfast on Sunday morning was a shining star during our stay.

Restaurants: During our stay we dined at Drapers for lunch, Prime 44 for dinner and the Main Dining room for breakfast. The filet and table side made Cesar salad at Prime 44 were fantastic. The buffet for breakfast at the main dining room was one of the best we ever had. They were constantly turning over the food, refreshing and replenishing the selections. It hands down beat the brunch we had at The Jefferson in Richmond,VA by a long shot. My only complaint of our dining experiences at the Greenbrier relates to Prime 44. We were there for our 15th anniversary - so we were looking forward to a delicious romantic dinner. We got delicious, but romantic it was not. The restaurant was aware we were there for an anniversary and commented on it when we were seated, but proceeded to place us next to two very large (and loud) parties. It really took away from the entire experience.

Spa: My husband and I both had spa treatments during our stay. There was a scheduling snafu, they had us booked for our treatments for the following week. When we went to sign in they quickly worked things out to accommodate our treatments. I had the Greenbrier Treatment and the massage that Stephen did that accompanied the treatment was superb!

Casino: We had a fun time here and even won a little money!

Overall, it was a very good experience...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we wish Happy Anniversary, once again. As you mention, dinner at Prime 44 West is an excellent choice! Honoring NBA legend and West Virginia native Jerry West #44 (the man in the NBA logo), Prime 44 West is a supreme steakhouse offering nothing but the finest aged beef. However, we must apologize for our carelessness in assigning your table. We apologize that this lapse in service detracted from your special evening. The Greenbrier Spa is one of the top spas in the world! We encourage all our guests to experience our signature Sulphur Soak and "take the waters" as guests have been doing for 235 years. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    335
    142
    64
    35
See reviews for
351
708
17
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I visited the Greenbrier for a romantic getaway. We found a reasonable deal online with a package. Arrived Friday (first of two nights) and greeted by courteous bellstaff. Sweet tea or champagne on check-in was a nice touch. We found our room (newly-decorated/renovated deluxe) to be spacious comfortable, and luxurious. My request of extra foam pillows was fulfilled. Bathroom was to die for with Italian marble, dedicated heater, large space. Plasma screen TV. Housekeeping was impressive with nightly turndown service (including mood lighting and music + chocolates) and afternoon ice service. Complimentary bath robes and slippers. The bed was amongst the most comfortable I've experienced. Very high thread count bedding. This resort is definitely several steps up on the class meter. Dress code is a cut above the rest. We found the food pricey but exquisite (see reviews of Prime 44 West and The Forum). We engaged in many "free" or included activities including hiking trails, billiards, afternoon tea, complimentary bites at bars (including sports bar), complimentary champagne at 10pm in the casino club. We enjoyed the overall ambiance of the entire resort. I particularly enjoyed the bourbon selection. Our nightly hangout was the casino bar. Service was amazing throughout the resort and on a level I've experienced only on high-end cruise ships or at Ritz-Carlton resorts. The Greenbrier itself is a museum worthy of a day or more of exploration. We enjoyed the shops (my wife found a nice Tory Burch collection). We had breakfast our second morning at Carleson's cafe which was pricey but tasty. Afternoon tea was a bit disappointing due to lack of variety of food selections. Otherwise, our experience couldn't have been better. Next time we might consider the bunker tour and some of the more warm weather attractions. We also wanted to try the room service but ran out of time. Tip: check out the neighboring subdivision of homes ranging from ~$1m to > $6m. This place truly is "America's Resort"... a gem hidden in the mountains of Appalachia.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the newly-remodeled "deluxe" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your visit to The Greenbrier! The Greenbrier is proud of the unparalleled ranges of amenities and activities available for guests. With over 55+ activities ranging from falconry and fly-fishing to spa treatments and swimming, there is something for everyone to enjoy at The Greenbrier. Thank you for pointing out The Greenbrier's unique collection of shops in your review! The shops offer items skillfully crafted by local artisans as well luxury brands you would expect to see at America's Resort. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent a weekend at the Greenbrier (see other review). Everyone dresses up in the evening. Pre-dinner drinks were enjoyed at the The steakhouse reservation was made well in advance due to popularity. You get what you pay for here... prices were reasonable and comparable to any high end steakhouse chain. David F was our expert server and amazing... A Greenbrier employee for 40 years. The ambiance of this restaurant is dim and enveloping. It is much bigger inside than it looks at the entrance. The tableside-prepared Caesar salad is a real treat and not to miss. Appetizers sounded (and looked) appetizing but we knew what we were about to be hit with and opted out of those. The award-winning cornbread was delicious. Very very nice bottle or by-the-glass wine selection (my wife had a very nice Columbia Valley blend). We elected to split the bone in cowboy ribeye. The steak was exquisite and cooked to a turn. Sides were large and included the best french fries (served with smoked ketchup and garlic aoli) and parmesean-encrusted creamed spinach I've ever tasted. Wish we'd saved room for dessert. The tableside bananas Foster looked amazing. This is quite possibly the most appetizing restaurant at the Greenbrier. The service, the food, the ambiance absolutely impeccable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our second stay at The Greenbrier couldn't have been more memorable. The regal surroundings and outstanding staff are world class from every perspective! A variety of accommodations, luscious cuisine, and multitude of recreational experiences are sure to please guests of all ages and interests. The Greenbrier has it all. During this visit we especially enjoyed some of the more unique opportunities. A hour long historic slide show, presented by The Greenbrier's knowledgeable and entertaining historian, provides guests with an interesting documentary of the resort's significance over the past two centuries. Plus, we found ice skating surrounded by lights and music to be an absolute delight. Daily afternoon tea with sweet treats and piano music adds a lovely touch and shouldn't be missed. The Greenbrier continues to be reminiscent of an elegant era gone-by, but for those who wish to step back and enjoy, the reality of the experience even exceeds its fine reputation!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! Since 1778, America's Resort has been proud to welcome distinguished guests including 26 U.S. Presidents. The Greenbrier is proud of the unparalleled ranges of amenities and activities available for guests. With over 55+ activities ranging from falconry and fly-fishing to spa treatments and swimming, there is something for everyone to enjoy at The Greenbrier. Many of these activities are complimentary including nightly champagne toasts in the Casino Club, movies with popcorn in The Greenbrier Theatre, the daily history tours and presentations that you mentioned, as well as, culinary demonstrations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier and providing another 236 years of exceptional hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It is truly a historic oasis and a beautiful resort; however, during my families recent visit to the Greenbrier, a member of the resort staff decided to help themselves to my parties belonging. Things that went missing included cash, clothing, and jewelry. We reported the lost items almost immediately but the resort security did not aggressively pursue the issue. The security staff assured my party that this has never been an issue at the resort, but after additional probing it was apparent that the security staff had been highly suspecoius of and monitoring the hotel staff member that accessed our room the morning of the theft. The case is still under investigation, but the damage has been done. I do not expect to receive any of the stolen property back and I believe that the suspected guilty party is still an employee of the resort. I would not recommend any aspects of the Greenbrier Resort because of this experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear guest, I am sorry that I did not have the opportunity to meet you during your recent visit to The Greenbrier and we are very disappointed and concerned about your recent stay with us. Of course, we take this very seriously and are continuing to investigate. I would be happy to discuss in detail your stay, concerns and disappointments. I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com . We remain at your service and we hope to resolve this unfortunate and isolated incident to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Greenbrier is truly the "White House" of American resort hotels. Its interiors are magically preserved yet updated by the master hand of Dorothy Draper and Company and its president, Carleton Varney. From the moment we arrived on property at the gate house until the time we departed, we were treated with great courtesy and genuine hospitality.

In today's age, maintaining the financial viability of such a grand, elegant and historic property is overwhelming. Thank goodness that Mr. Jim Justice was able to step in 2009 and "preserve, protect and defend" this American treasure. The traditional Greenbrier ambience and public spaces are still intact and the new casino, restaurants, bars and shopping areas have only added to this gem. The casino is truly one of the classiest, most intimate and stylish gaming areas in the United States and does not detract in any way from the resort's ambience--gentlemen must wear jackets after 7 p.m. and this is strictly enforced. The new Cafe Carleton, relocated Draper's, Twelve Oaks bar and In-Fusion Asian restaurant are all wonderful additions.

We were very pleased with our classic Draper Greenbrier rooms located on the hotel's main floor near the North Entrance. My room was only steps from the North Parlor and was resplendent in Draper's yellow rose wallpaper and green carpet. This is one of the few hotel's left that still does true, "grand hotel" room service complete with table service and fresh flowers. Everyone should indulge themselves with this treat at least once during their stay.

If you appreciate a timeless treasure and more gracious, genteel way of life, you will never get tired of this great landmark nestled in the mountains of southern West Virginia. I hope the Greenbrier prospers so that I can return again and again to this civilized, dignified oasis.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are humbled by your gracious and wonderful review. Thank you mentioning our dress code; we are proud that at The Greenbrier ladies and gentlemen still dress for dinner. Thank you for highlighting that The Greenbrier features the unique style of legendary interior decorator Dorothy Draper, known for her vibrant colors, floral patterns and bold contrasts! We are glad you agree that at The Greenbrier room service is not just a service; it is an elegant dining experience! Our commitment to you and all our guests is to continue to build upon our 235 years of tradition and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Greenbrier Resort five times since 1981 and each time has been a stay to remember. Old White is truly a grand experience, the likes of which we really don't see much anymore. Old world class with modern amenities in a historic and opulent setting. The resort is "grand" to say the least and it actually amazes me to see ratings on TripAdvisor any less than excellent but perhaps everyone has a different idea of what elegance is. My first trip to the Greenbrier, quite frankly made it difficult to ever stay in "normal" digs again, and I still feel that same sense of satisfaction each time. The food is legendary, with a history of great chefs such as Herman Rusch, Hartmut Handke and others who have gone on to cook for presidents, food is a focus. Breakfast is a treat worth the price of admission in itself, and is not to be missed. The area around White Sulpher Springs is beautiful and removed from the rigors of everyday, almost like a setting back in time. The golf courses are fabulous, the spa...well Forbes ranks it one of the tops in the world, and the accomodations fabulous. The Greenbrier is expensive, far from casual, and almost a world unto itself.......and to me it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are so honored to read that you have been a guest of The Greenbrier since 1981! We are glad to know that you enjoy our grand and historic resort - over 235 years in the making! The cottages built in the 1830s are the oldest buildings still standing and the central section of the current hotel was completed in 1913. The Greenbrier has enjoyed a 65-year relationship with Dorothy Draper & Company, and her legendary style of vibrant colors, floral patterns and bold contrasts is on display around every corner! Thank you for mentioning some of our past legendary chefs and our new Executive Chef, Bryan Skelding, is bringing the elegance back to dining at The Greenbrier. The Greenbrier Spa has also just been recognized as on of the Top 25 spas in the world by Conde Nast Traveler. Again, we are honored by your patronage and we hope to have the honor of serving you for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.