We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will feel as if you stepped back in time.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“You will feel as if you stepped back in time.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a wonderful family weekend together. The place was still decorated for the holidays even though we left by January 6th so that was an extra treat. Members of our group enjoyed bowling, hiking, the spa, dining, the bunker tour, ice skating....... plenty to do... we never even made it to any of the shops.... I guess that's what happens when your group includes 10 kids under the age of 10! (They enjoyed the Kid's Activity area too) According to the staff there is still train service to White Sulfur Springs.... right across the street from the hotel. Our trip from the Virginia Beach area took 5 hours, but it was an easy highway drive. Several different dining options available too....

Room Tip: We enjoyed the cabins... close to the main hotel, but a little extra room for the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay! The Greenbrier is proud of the unparalleled ranges of amenities and activities available for guests. With over 55+ activities ranging from falconry and fly-fishing to spa treatments and swimming, there is something for everyone to enjoy at The Greenbrier. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    919
    311
    136
    60
    30
See reviews for
330
642
16
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We are in our mid 30s and were celebrating our 10th anniversary at the Greenbrier. The golf, the fly fishing, the abundance of amazing outdoor activities made this property special. The grounds are truly amazing. You could walk for hours taking in the scenery.
The hotel itself wasn't our style. Beautiful on the outside but rather an odd and eclectic choice of decor on the inside. Bright colors everywhere. One room didn't match the texture and style of the next. The wallpaper in the rooms a little too busy. We were expecting something a bit different, more subtle, not so loud and ostentatious but to be honest it really didn't detract from our stay. We definitely enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

The service was as you'd expect in a hotel of this stature - excellent. The manager assisted us with checkin and he was incredibly gracious.

The food for us was just ok. We both are vegetarians and the choices were rather limited. We ate in both the Main Dining room and the Forum for dinner. Both were good but we would have expected a little more. Each morning after our workouts we wanted to grab something quick to enjoy the day, however the breakfast sandwiches to go from the small sundry shop only had 2 choices both with meat. When asked if they could make one without they said they were unable to do so and we were forced to grab bagels each morning. We even went to the concierge to ask them if they could recommend something else and they said the only choice would be to have a sit down breakfast. I know this is a tad bit nit picky but we've been to plenty of hotels of this caliber and they tend to be a tad bit more accommodating. Nevertheless, we didn't come to this property for the food.

Did I mention how great the golf was? Got the chance to play the Greenbrier twice and the Old White. Played by myself on the Greenbrier in just over 2 hours each round which was perfect. Both were spectacular courses and in excellent condition. I could have spent hours at their amazing practice facility. If you like to fish or heck even if you don't - I wouldn't miss out on the fly fishing. We asked to be taken a bit farther up stream away from the traditional deep pool to a more secluded location and it was really amazing. Our guide was a true gentleman and was incredibly knowledgeable and accommodating.

Overall an excellent few days. It seemed to us that the clientele was much older. We would definitely come back to this hotel especially for the golf, just maybe in a couple decades!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 10th anniversary with us at The Greenbrier! We appreciate your feedback regarding vegetarian dining options and apologize that breakfast was so limited. Our food and beverage department is continually working to refine our menus, and your comments will be very helpful. We look forward to your feedback on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent two nights at The Greenbrier over MLK weekend and it exceeded our expectations. We were particularly impressed with how kind and thoughtful everyone was towards the children (3 and 6). They loved the complimentary teddy bears. They also enjoyed taking their "VIP cards" to the shops for little treats. The large rubber golf balls were a huge hit. Even the woman who was doing a cooking demonstration paid special attention to the 6 year old and this was appreciated. The kids loved all the activities -- skating, bowling, swimming, movies and the carriage ride. One of the children was celebrating a birthday and he was given a huge sundae at Draper's, which really made his trip. He has already informed us that he is going back next year for his birthday. Tyler at the skating rink was very patient with the 6 year old who can be cautious and she ended up really enjoying the lesson and her confidence increased. While we had a great trip, the downside, in my opinion, was the food. We ate dinner at the Forum and, for the price, we thought the pizza was not very good. The food at Draper's, aside from the sundae, was pretty average. The afternoon tea is a wonderful idea, but as other reviewers have mentioned, it is a big free for all. When they bring out the cookies, there is a stampede. The mini cupcakes go quickly and were not replenished. There was a long line to get hot tea. They needed more food and more stations. The overall experience of the resort was wonderful, but some attention should be paid to make the afternoon tea a more special, relaxing event. We would highly recommend this as a wonderful long weekend especially if you are traveling with children.

Room Tip: We had a superior room and it was very large. There was plenty of room for a roll away bed. The cl...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for noticing our emphasis on creating a family-friendly environment here at The Greenbrier! Children 12 and under receive a "VIP Card" upon check-in that is redeemable for daily prizes and can participate in our "Kids Play Free" program for a variety of activities with a playing adult. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We ate here for Christmas with our family. Food was at beast average and certainly not worth money.
We first noticed that my glass was dirty before they pored wine. Waiter appologized and got another one.
My salmon was good but my son got really fatty piece of lamb. We complained and they offered not to charge us for his meal as well as they offered free desert. Unfortunately waiter forgot to bring desert for my daughter.
So overall it was not a very memorable experience. We will go back to greenbrier resort but not to this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a one of a kind hotel property with all the trimmings...bowling alley, pool, casino, theatre, bunker....on and on. The staff is friendly and nice (Champaign at check in) and the rooms are spacious. We stayed on January 2 and the rates were reasonable and the hotel not over booked. If you are in this area this is a must experience. I would have liked to see more $5 or $10 tables for black jack. There was only one and folks were waiting while other higher tables unoccupied.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Some guests may not realize that The Greenbrier now offers an elegant Casino Club described as Monte Carlo meets Gone with the Wind. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The service and the food was delicious. Truly great service. I enjoyed a delicious steak and the mac and cheese was so good the kindly sent me the recipe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This over the top colorful resort is truly a feast for the eyes. We enjoyed our 3 nights from when we arrived and were greeted with a glass of champagne to all the spa and dining we enjoyed.

It is an old hotel and they have kept it up nicely. The only complaint I had is that the room smelled like smoke and the mattresses are very soft. The cleaning lady was so kind and flipped our mattress and placed a pad on top and voila! great bed. In reference to the smoke smell. I believe it was from years and years of smoking in the past. The bathrooms have been renovated and are very nice. I bought a candle and that helped the smell.

The staff is truly amazing! They take pride in offering you the best service they can. It is a must to go and enjoy.

Room Tip: I was told by the cleaning staff that the 4th floor (the floor we stayed on) used to be a smoking fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you so much for pointing out that our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service! Housekeeping routinely adjusts mattresses and pillows according to guest preference. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.