We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Classic and Classy Resort in Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Classic and Classy Resort in Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went just for an overnight a few days before New Year's for a quick holiday "get away". I've read about the Greenbrier and heard different things over the years but wanted to see it for myself. The experience was excellent and well worth the trip. This is an easy place to get to compared to many other places in West Virginia. It's just a few minutes off of 64. From Richmond, Tidewater area, Baltimore or Washington, DC metro areas is almost all highway or take Amtrak. The place is huge with tons of things to do. We are an almost middle age couple and seemed to be one of just a few there this past weekend. There were mainly families and friends who traveled there to enjoy being together at a wonderful place where there is a lot to do for everyone. Great to see families together just enjoying being with each other. Greenbrier offers A LOT of options for all ages. It's almost overwhelming. It certainly made us regret not booking for a longer period. We stayed in a cottage. Very cozy yet plenty of room. Loved the fireplace, décor, amenities and just the "feel" of the place. It's formal yet laid-back at the same time. The staff we encountered were all very friendly and professional. The few we spoke to just gushed with pride when they spoke about Greenbrier. Many have worked there for a long time. We walked the grounds and went to the spa, pool and ate at Prime 44 (steakhouse mainly) and had room service for breakfast. Everything was first class. Food was excellent. Service was extremely attentive and on top of things. If you enjoy going to a classic resort with a ton of history, many options to enjoy and just kind of lose yourself in what they have to offer, you'll love it here. I like the dress code and the way they do things at Greenbrier. I know its on the higher price side as far as a vacation getaway but its in line with any other resort of this caliber and for us the travel to and from cost was minimal. We tend to experience a place and then look for somewhere else to go for the next trip. Here, I regret not staying longer and look forward to going back again and probably again and again with each time hopefully introducing others (i.e. kids/family/friends) to this special place if we don't selfishly just travel there by ourselves!

Room Tip: Call into the reservation line if you have questions. The website is good but they can provide you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave such an in depth review of your stay! Among many things that you highlight, thank you for pointing out that we are very conveniently located to DC, Baltimore, Richmond and the Tidewater area via Interstate 64. We hope our location makes it even easier for you to return again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    316
    136
    61
    32
See reviews for
333
653
16
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our third family Christmas vacation dinner at Prime 44.
Previous two times we had beef steaks and they were very good. This restaurant has been known for an excellent service and great steaks in a beautiful setting of the Greenbrier resort.This time we wanted to try something different and were set of for a surprise. We first ordered wine and while our waiter was poring wine into my glass my wife noticed that glass was dirty. I frankly did not expect that in a restaurant of this caliber/price but I understand that things happen...
We got really good appetizers but main course was not nearly what we expected. My wife and and daughter had chicken that was very good and I had sward fish that excellent. Unfortunately my son ordered lamb chop ($ 58) that was uneatable, it was basically raw with a huge piece of fat. We told our waiter about this and she showed piece to chef who decided to wave the charges for lamb. They did not offer other complementary meal so my son ended up eating mostly side dishes. To add to confusion waiter forgot to bring desert to my daughter and did it only after we reminded her. At the end we did not get charged for two deserts which somewhat improved my impression and reason for giving 3/5 rather than 2/5 for this review. I hope that chef will either improve what they serve besides steaks or remove other choices from the menu. We will definitely be back to Greenbrier resort for Christmas and other special occasions but I am not sure if we will come back to Prime 44 with so many other excellent choices for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you like "over the top" this is the place for you. The service is excellent, the grounds are beautiful and the shops and restaurants are first rate.

We visited during the Christmas season and found that the decorations were plentiful and the Christmas decorations on the grounds were beautiful with the snow.

The rooms are large and comfortable, but if you are looking for modern this is not the place for you. Large floral print wallpapers adorn the bedroom and bathroom and the draperies are busy flower patterns as well.

We enjoyed spending time in the casino, but be aware that gentlemen are required to wear jackets in the casino after 7:00 pm. This is something we were not aware of

The restaurants and shops are very pricey. A moderately priced dinner at the Italian restaurant in the Greenbrier was over $100.00 for two.

It is definitely worth visiting once - beyond that - you would have to decide

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are so glad to hear that it was definitely worth visiting!! Thank you for pointing out that we do have a dress code in the evenings as part of our 235-year history. Gentlemen are asked to wear a jacket and tie in the Main Dining Room for dinner and a jacket in the Casino Club after 7:00pm. Casual dining venues as well as room service are available for those that prefer a more relaxed atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Greenbrier itself, to me is a little underwhelming.
The exterior is beautiful, and is reminiscent of a palace, there are people everywhere to greet/assist you, yet the interior itself leaves something to be desired. The floral motif for example is a bit much and parts of it feel like an old ocean liner like the Queen Mary, old and cramped.
Draper's, however, is spot on. The service here is top notch, and the food is beyond par. The nachos I ordered here were the best I ever had, and the rest of my dinner was fantastic.
Would eat here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. The Greenbrier has enjoyed a 65-year relationship with Dorothy Draper & Company, and her legendary style of vibrant colors, floral patterns and bold contrasts is on display around every corner! We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Have been to Greenbrier several times in the summer so decided to try the Christmas experience. Also first time back since the adding of the Casino. Beautiful decorations and tours available of outdoor lighting. Food and service are excellent and staff is friendly and helpful.
It is not an inexpensive experience but worth it. The golf is superb in the summer. Always great to talk with employees who have been there for many years. They have a lot of history to share with you. Of course it is the home of THE BUNKER. Lots to do if you like staying active. Good to just relax and shop at Christmas.

Room Tip: You are offered several prices and size of room or suites so your selection is your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We love to hear from repeat guests such as yourself! The Greenbrier is proud to offer our guests over 55 activities as well as seasonal offerings such as our Christmas Lights Tour, Ice Skating, Christmas Musical and more. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Spent the Christmas, 2013 period at the Greenbrier in one of their cabins and had a very good time. The resort is huge, full of history, and has many activities for people of all ages. The staff seem very interested in their guests having a good time, and granted, it's not inexpensive. It's amazing to meet an employee who has worked at the Greenbrier for 50 years and is still happy to be there. Same story was repeated for folks who have worked there 25 years. All and all, a very pleasant place to stay and be cared for.

Room Tip: Resort rooms afford short and inside walks to dine and shop while the unattached cabins provided mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend Christmas us! The Greenbrier is incredibly proud of our exceptional staff - many who have served guests such as yourself for 15, 35 and even 55 years! We hope that we have the opportunity to spend the holidays with you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TexasFNP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

way overpriced. And NOT consistently good. Do not order the shrimp and grits. I thought if anyone would know how to prepare grits they would, but uh..NO!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.