We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SANTA WOULD NOT WANT TO LEAVE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
baltimore md
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“SANTA WOULD NOT WANT TO LEAVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

If Santa came to Greenbrier he going to be late probably , He will have a hard time leaving , From the time you arrive , the staff is so Friendly and everything you may want to do is all there , Or just sit back and do Nothing , The property is Decorated for Christmas and even scrooge would have to hum a christmas song .

Room Tip: Be sure you make your dinner and spa appointments when you reserve your room and or shortly after th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing so many photos of your recent stay at The Greenbrier! Christmas is a truly wonderful time to visit with our 10,000 acres decorated for our "60 spectacular days of holiday cheer." We look forward to seeing photos from your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    339
    143
    64
    35
See reviews for
353
714
17
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Elegance. What more can you say about the Greenbrier than that. You haven't lived until you've seen the Greenbrier decorated for Christmas.

I was lucky enough to visit the Greenbrier in December of 2013 and I can honestly say I had the best meal of my life. Dinner in the main dining room is something that must be experienced.

Take the Bunker tour! And don't miss out on the hot chocolate by the fire place in the main lobby. (They also have hot chocolate by the ice skates!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay! Our iconic Main Dining Room has been welcoming guests for over 100 years and continues to be a memorable part of many visits to The Greenbrier. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Love the decor and the food! Great prices; wonderful selection. Food is delicious. We love having lunch there. Sandwiches and desserts are divine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have been to The Greenbrier and another resort with similar facilities. The Greenbrier wins hands down! The service, atmosphere, dining and activities are by far superior to other places nearby. We have been visiting since 1994 and have never had anything but the best experience.
Great for family vacations as well as that personal weekend spa retreat- which is what we enjoy the most. We have many wonderful memories of The Greenbrier and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We love to hear from repeat visitors such as yourself! The Greenbrier is proud to offer an unparalleled range of activities and amenities which makes us the perfect destination for family vacations, romantic retreats, girlfriend getaways and more. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

at the Greenbrier, I had experienced 100 years of excellence for 2 days this December at the Greenbrier. The Greenbrier had FAR exceeded my expectations, and I couldn't find ONE complaint... ONE!!! well, I had truly enjoyed my stay at the Greenbrier.

Room Tip: pick the main building, with rooms that were just recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so happy to hear that The Greenbrier far exceeded your expectations! We have been welcoming guests since 1778 and have had 235 years of experience in providing exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped in here for lunch and it was very good. The chili was excellent! Also, some raved on the red velvet cupcake! Nice service and pretty inside. Wish I would've tried the home made ice cream!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited here again for Christmas season. The lights are absolutely beautiful. The resort has so much history, just so interesting. Comfortable beds. Had breakfast in the main dining room and it was very nice. Casino nice. Lunch in Drapers, it was good. Carolers sang, hot chocolate then Santa arrived to turn on all the lights!

Room Tip: Our room was near the elevator, but right outside of a ballroom where they were unloading equipment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Welcome back to The Greenbrier! We are excited to soon be launching our new Loyalty Rewards Program to demonstrate our true appreciation to repeat visitors such as yourself. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.