We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited here again for Christmas season. The lights are absolutely beautiful. The resort has so much history, just so interesting. Comfortable beds. Had breakfast in the main dining room and it was very nice. Casino nice. Lunch in Drapers, it was good. Carolers sang, hot chocolate then Santa arrived to turn on all the lights!

Room Tip: Our room was near the elevator, but right outside of a ballroom where they were unloading equipment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Welcome back to The Greenbrier! We are excited to soon be launching our new Loyalty Rewards Program to demonstrate our true appreciation to repeat visitors such as yourself. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    316
    136
    61
    32
See reviews for
333
653
16
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stopped at the Greenbrier for several hours and lunch on the way to The Homestead. Very attractively decorated for the Christmas Season. The upstairs parlor and ballroom were elegantly decked out even beyond the normal beauty of The Greenbrier. The daytime restaurants have been moved to the lobby of the new casino - suspiciously placed to attract gamblers to the same. We missed the more elegant location of Draper's with an attached patio.
The shops are quite good and my wife loves the kitchen store with live cooking demonstrations several times a day. Great to stay for several days but also just for a passing-by lunch!

Room Tip: Drive around to the resort on the right and find free and accessible parking along the resort or eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit! Christmas is truly a spectacular time to visit The Greenbrier with our 10,000 acres fully decorated to celebrate our "60 spectacular days of holiday cheer." We look forward to welcoming you to The Greenbrier on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron,ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Clearly the Greenbrier is one of the premier hotels in the United States. As you enter the drive , the absolutely stately white sprawling complex surrounded by tastefully decorated conifers highlighting the winter season reminds the guest that countless hours have been spent defining the importance of glamour. Once again the staff , their friendliness , desire to be helpful, was another reminder that this resort was special. Poinsettias dotted the interior as did a festive display of gifts that were to be given to the disadvantaged. Terry the tennis pro, a former West Virginia University coach, was a terrific instructor, correcting forehand and backhand flaws with the same helpfulness as the other dedicated staff.
The primary problem with this grand hotel was some of the hidden costs that seemed like a "nickel and dime" practices that may not be bothersome to those with unlimited financial resources, but left a sour taste in what would have been an otherwise exquisite experience. For example, upon arrival we were asked if we like the valet to park our car. It was not until the next day that we learned from several individuals attending a seminar that there was a fee of $20.00 per day for the "privilege" of our car sitting in a parking lot that was located next to a free lot if we had parked it there ourselves. Or the " free" coffee offered in an area 50 feet from the main dining room. What was never stated was that if that free cup was refilled in the dining room $4.00 would be added to the bill. Or the $4.00 that was added to the bill for an order of toast that you would expect would be included in the $17.00 fee for an omelette. How sad it is that what otherwise would have been an absolutely delightful experience had to be dampened by a couple of silly business practices that one would expect from a less than dignified business manager than a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is old. Ours lacked a bathroom fan, so you might want to inquire about that. The bedding w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your stay. The Greenbrier is incredibly proud of our wonderful staff and the exceptional customer service that they are able to provide our guests. During this time of year we also applaud their community spirit as they hand-wrap 38,000 gifts that will benefit 86 children's charities in 4 states. Thank you for recognizing their efforts, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Greenbrier is a magnificent property and you'll ooh and ahh your way around the many sitting areas and shops in the main building. It was nice to be greeted with sparkling wine and we were very pleased with our Spring Row Cottage ~ we especially enjoyed the fireplace.

Also, we did have top notch meals in the Main Dining Room, where the chef prepared us some epic scrambled tofu in the morning. However, at The Homestead the chefs had actually come out in person to speak with us about our vegan meal preferences ~ and that kind of personalized service is hard to beat.

The Greenbrier's gym could use some renovation and could definitely be cooled down, and while we did enjoy our spa treatments, the facilities are underwhelming to say the least ~ especially once you've discovered the life-changing Aqua Thermal Suite at The Homestead's spa.

The glass-blowing demonstration was fun and the shops really are pretty fantastic. Dinner at The Forum was slow and a little disturbing ~ when they brought my mom gnocchi swimming in oil and drenched in cream and cheese and kept promising it was vegan.... Well, we didn't really know whether to laugh or cry.

Room Tip: Spring Row Cottages are centrally-located and it's wonderful to have a real fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay. Thank you for pointing out that The Greenbrier is able to accommodate a variety of special diets including Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free. We apologize for the confusion in The Forum, but we appreciate you sharing your experience so that we can make sure to correct it for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

As we drove up to the front entrance of this magnificent property, the holiday lights were absolutely beautiful. This was our second time staying at Greenbrier, the first was in August so the options for recreation and dining were more limited; however, that proved to be a good thing as we ate in restaurants that we had not tried before. Sam Sneads is our favorite restaurant but this time we enjoyed The Forum and Drapers for the first time. We dined again at Prime 44 (had a wonderful scallop dish) and the Main Dining Room. Although Sam Sneads remains our favorite, these other venues did not disappoint. I had a wonderful Rueben and fried chicken at Drapers......get the small fried chicken, it is plenty and so very good. We never got the chance to get the famous banana split because we always left full. But next time we plan to split a salad and a banana split.
My husband golfed on the Meadows course and I rode along. For December and following rain, the course was in pretty good condition.....not like the middle of summer but still great. He enjoyed it very much and the beauty of golfing when it is cold is a fast game and no waiting. We walked the grounds at night enjoying the fantastic light show. I indulged in a 90 minute pedicure at the salon. Check it out there......much cheaper and much better than the spa! The spa is way overpriced in my opinion.....$3 a minute per treatment is ridiculous! But the salon was $90 for a 90 minute pedicure and it was over the top outstanding - ask for Sara! The waxing at the salon was disappointing however.
Drinks at the lobby bar is always a favorite of ours. A late evening port topped off wonderful dinners and the staff there is very attentive. We spent some time in the casino - although the slots are limited, we love that there is no smoking and EVERYTHING is immaculately clean. What a contrast to other WVA casinos!
We loved the gift tree that the Greenbrier set up in the main lobby - it is collecting gifts for local children. You can bring your own gift or purchase one at their retail toy store. Wonderful! Just think if every guest contributed just one gift!
I would like to know the number of pointsettia plants decorating the hotel.....must be thousands.
Check out their website for Jan-March special rates....a great way to test the waters at a very inexpensive rate. We love the place because we just relax here and everyone working is delightful....no grumps here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had a chance to visit The Greenbrier during our "60 spectacular days of holiday cheer." In addition to the 100+ Christmas trees throughout the property, we have a very special "Dream Tree for Kids" built from over $1 million in gifts hand-wrapped by employees and volunteers. This massive community project will benefit 86 charities in 4 states this year! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The overall experience was poor. Never will return, overpriced and rated.
Maybe great when CSX owned it, but now a casino atmosphere. Front desk
staff ignored us waiting and concierge did not know daily events to help us.
The only good thing was the Bunker Tour. Needs repair and hard to get to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Robert A. Mickey, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest, I am sorry that I did not have the opportunity to meet you during your recent visit to The Greenbrier and I apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations. I assure you that any lapses in service our amenities you might have experienced could have and should have been corrected to beyond your expectations. As far as getting to The Greenbrier; we are a 20 minute drive from a commercial airport and FBO and The Greenbrier is a short five minute drive off of I-64. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour of the cold war bunker, code named, Project Greek Island. What other resort or hotel can post of partnering with the U.S. government for almost forty years to provide the facilities and an operational plan to ensure the survival of our unique form of constitutional government? The bunker at The Greenbrier was the government’s plan for a response to the most dreaded nightmare of the 20th century, nuclear war. From 1962 to 1992 we stood ready to adapt to the direst set of circumstances imaginable and provide a critical emergency service to our nation’s leaders. We remain at your service and should you wish to contact me to discuss your stay I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com . On behalf of everyone at The Greenbrier, please accept our best wishes for a blessed holiday and winter season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We travel to the Greenbrier once every 1-2 years. A few years ago, before the resort was under new management, it was rumored to be close to shutting down. The quality significantly decreased at that time- including the appearance, the amenities, and the general feel of the resort. However, with the new management and addition of casino, the resort has come back to life. I love everything about it including the history of the bunker which I toured first as a child. It brings back so many wonderful memories. I would recommend Draper's for a causal dinner or lunch. We also really enjoyed the Forum for dinner. The main dining room serves a delicious breakfast buffet. You won't be disappointed! The carriage rides are fun in the winter, although a bit pricey. Take time to have hot chocolate and cookies in the evenings and enjoy the pianist and giant fireplace. There is so much history and warmth to this great resort. It's pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
The Greenbrier is always happy to hear from returning guests! We are excited to soon be unveiling a new Loyalty Rewards Program so that we can show our true appreciation to repeat visitors such as yourself. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.