We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a notch below The Homestead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just a notch below The Homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Greenbrier is a magnificent property and you'll ooh and ahh your way around the many sitting areas and shops in the main building. It was nice to be greeted with sparkling wine and we were very pleased with our Spring Row Cottage ~ we especially enjoyed the fireplace.

Also, we did have top notch meals in the Main Dining Room, where the chef prepared us some epic scrambled tofu in the morning. However, at The Homestead the chefs had actually come out in person to speak with us about our vegan meal preferences ~ and that kind of personalized service is hard to beat.

The Greenbrier's gym could use some renovation and could definitely be cooled down, and while we did enjoy our spa treatments, the facilities are underwhelming to say the least ~ especially once you've discovered the life-changing Aqua Thermal Suite at The Homestead's spa.

The glass-blowing demonstration was fun and the shops really are pretty fantastic. Dinner at The Forum was slow and a little disturbing ~ when they brought my mom gnocchi swimming in oil and drenched in cream and cheese and kept promising it was vegan.... Well, we didn't really know whether to laugh or cry.

Room Tip: Spring Row Cottages are centrally-located and it's wonderful to have a real fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay. Thank you for pointing out that The Greenbrier is able to accommodate a variety of special diets including Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free. We apologize for the confusion in The Forum, but we appreciate you sharing your experience so that we can make sure to correct it for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    339
    143
    64
    35
See reviews for
353
714
17
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

As we drove up to the front entrance of this magnificent property, the holiday lights were absolutely beautiful. This was our second time staying at Greenbrier, the first was in August so the options for recreation and dining were more limited; however, that proved to be a good thing as we ate in restaurants that we had not tried before. Sam Sneads is our favorite restaurant but this time we enjoyed The Forum and Drapers for the first time. We dined again at Prime 44 (had a wonderful scallop dish) and the Main Dining Room. Although Sam Sneads remains our favorite, these other venues did not disappoint. I had a wonderful Rueben and fried chicken at Drapers......get the small fried chicken, it is plenty and so very good. We never got the chance to get the famous banana split because we always left full. But next time we plan to split a salad and a banana split.
My husband golfed on the Meadows course and I rode along. For December and following rain, the course was in pretty good condition.....not like the middle of summer but still great. He enjoyed it very much and the beauty of golfing when it is cold is a fast game and no waiting. We walked the grounds at night enjoying the fantastic light show. I indulged in a 90 minute pedicure at the salon. Check it out there......much cheaper and much better than the spa! The spa is way overpriced in my opinion.....$3 a minute per treatment is ridiculous! But the salon was $90 for a 90 minute pedicure and it was over the top outstanding - ask for Sara! The waxing at the salon was disappointing however.
Drinks at the lobby bar is always a favorite of ours. A late evening port topped off wonderful dinners and the staff there is very attentive. We spent some time in the casino - although the slots are limited, we love that there is no smoking and EVERYTHING is immaculately clean. What a contrast to other WVA casinos!
We loved the gift tree that the Greenbrier set up in the main lobby - it is collecting gifts for local children. You can bring your own gift or purchase one at their retail toy store. Wonderful! Just think if every guest contributed just one gift!
I would like to know the number of pointsettia plants decorating the hotel.....must be thousands.
Check out their website for Jan-March special rates....a great way to test the waters at a very inexpensive rate. We love the place because we just relax here and everyone working is delightful....no grumps here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had a chance to visit The Greenbrier during our "60 spectacular days of holiday cheer." In addition to the 100+ Christmas trees throughout the property, we have a very special "Dream Tree for Kids" built from over $1 million in gifts hand-wrapped by employees and volunteers. This massive community project will benefit 86 charities in 4 states this year! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The overall experience was poor. Never will return, overpriced and rated.
Maybe great when CSX owned it, but now a casino atmosphere. Front desk
staff ignored us waiting and concierge did not know daily events to help us.
The only good thing was the Bunker Tour. Needs repair and hard to get to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Robert A. Mickey, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest, I am sorry that I did not have the opportunity to meet you during your recent visit to The Greenbrier and I apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations. I assure you that any lapses in service our amenities you might have experienced could have and should have been corrected to beyond your expectations. As far as getting to The Greenbrier; we are a 20 minute drive from a commercial airport and FBO and The Greenbrier is a short five minute drive off of I-64. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour of the cold war bunker, code named, Project Greek Island. What other resort or hotel can post of partnering with the U.S. government for almost forty years to provide the facilities and an operational plan to ensure the survival of our unique form of constitutional government? The bunker at The Greenbrier was the government’s plan for a response to the most dreaded nightmare of the 20th century, nuclear war. From 1962 to 1992 we stood ready to adapt to the direst set of circumstances imaginable and provide a critical emergency service to our nation’s leaders. We remain at your service and should you wish to contact me to discuss your stay I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com . On behalf of everyone at The Greenbrier, please accept our best wishes for a blessed holiday and winter season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We travel to the Greenbrier once every 1-2 years. A few years ago, before the resort was under new management, it was rumored to be close to shutting down. The quality significantly decreased at that time- including the appearance, the amenities, and the general feel of the resort. However, with the new management and addition of casino, the resort has come back to life. I love everything about it including the history of the bunker which I toured first as a child. It brings back so many wonderful memories. I would recommend Draper's for a causal dinner or lunch. We also really enjoyed the Forum for dinner. The main dining room serves a delicious breakfast buffet. You won't be disappointed! The carriage rides are fun in the winter, although a bit pricey. Take time to have hot chocolate and cookies in the evenings and enjoy the pianist and giant fireplace. There is so much history and warmth to this great resort. It's pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
The Greenbrier is always happy to hear from returning guests! We are excited to soon be unveiling a new Loyalty Rewards Program so that we can show our true appreciation to repeat visitors such as yourself. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My family traveled 7 hours from South Carolina just to experience the history and ambiance of the Greenbrier. This was a once in a lifetime experience and we are considering returning in a few weeks because there is so much to do that we were unable to do & see everything in 3 days. Our trip was over the Thanksgiving holiday & we had dinner in the Crystal room, complete with a piano player, crystal chandeliers, it was like something you would only see on TV. Yes, dinner was expensive, but what most of the negative reviewers fail to realize is you are paying for much more than just the food. Its the experience as a whole that makes the Greenbrier more than worth the cost of dining and activities. My 7 year twin boys loved the bowling alley and the indoor swimming pool. Which by the way looks like it should have been in a Jane Russell movie. We were fortunate enough to ice skate while it was snowing, absolutely beautiful! A hot chocolate station and gas fire pit were wonderful touches! The staff, where do I even begin. They were amazing! My background is in HR and I had a chance to speak with some of the staff about working at the Greenbrier. One gentleman had been there for 20 years after serving in the military! That almost unheard of these days, and that says to me that not only is it a beautiful place to visit, but a great organization to have such happy employees working at the Greenbrier. Happy employees will always provide better service!
I tend to over plan, research down to the last detail and I'm disheartened by some of the comments. Perhaps Tripadvisor should categorize their reviews for like minded travelers. This property is not owned by Hilton or Holiday Inn, thank heavens!! The decor & presentation of this hotel is a piece of American history and without it the Greenbrier would just be another Ramada Inn. If thats the type of vacation your family is accustomed to then this is not the place for you. The Greenbrier exudes elegance of another time and should be appreciated and admired not ridiculed. I personally hope the new owner does not change anything about this grand hotel. This is one family that will be returning again and again!!

Room Tip: Our options were limited because it was Thanksgiving and I booked 2 weeks prior. We stayed in a sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate Thanksgiving with us at America's Resort! We truly are a family here at The Greenbrier, and we are proud of the number of employees who have been with us for 20, 30, 40 and even 50 years! We look forward to having you and your family join us on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, KY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I always wanted to stay at the Greenbrier and when I had the chance to attend a convention there I was totally excited and rightully so! This is an absolutely fantastic place with service and accomodations that can hardly be rivaled. The level of service is what you would expect from a 5-star resort. The hotel and surrounding grounds are pristeen and every employee greets you with a smile and conversation. Additionally, we were very impressed with the town of Lewisburg, WV (9 miles down the road). It was recently named the "Coolest small town in America" by a national publication. It is very well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the North side of the Hotel have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you finally had a chance to stay! The Greenbrier is fortunate to be located in one of the most beautiful regions of the country surrounded by many wonderful communities. We hope that you have another opportunity to visit West Virginia and America's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean VA, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Greenbrier is one of these wonderful places that you always dream of going to, and when you arrive, are treated to a majestic setting, gracious service, very good restaurants, and a smorgasbord of things to do (horseback riding, skeet shooting, fly fishing, carriage rides, tennis, golf, hiking, pool, bowling, casino, high tea, fitness, jeep rides, etc.). I brought my family (kids in 20s, couple grandchildren) and we took full advantage of almost everything the resort had to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves for Thanksgiving, and the place looked resplendent in holiday cheer and decorations.

The only problem, and it's a big one that can keep you from coming back, is the price tag. From room rates to wine, "$35 resort fees" to "22%" gratuity for parties over 7, I felt taken to the cleaners. I also moved reservations from the main dining room from one night to the next, and they tried to charge me $530 for a "cancellation" fee, which in all fairness they removed quickly and with pleasure when I challenged this item, but why would they try to fleece their guests like this? The over-the-top floral designs in decor also start getting to you, but the classic Greenbrier stripes on bags and walls are great. The relatively new casino is nice, with a cool bar and free champagne toast at 10:00p.m., but then they charge you for drinks even when playing multiple spots at decent stakes.

Bottom line? This is a beautiful, historic, classic resort with activities for all, but they would earn my loyalty and return trip(s) if they lowered their prices--way too expensive.

Room Tip: Junior suites are spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your Thanksgiving stay! The Greenbrier is excited to offer an our unparalleled range of activities and amenities on our 10,000 acre playground - particularly during the holidays. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to America's Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.