We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not overly impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The spouse and I stayed at the Greenbrier in August, 2013, as the third leg of a 12-day vacation, culminating at the Greenbrier as a combination of vacation/convention. We were underwhelmed and have no plans to return.

I won't even comment on the decor, as that is a matter of taste. (we thought it rather garish, but I digress...) The room itself and closet were spacious and well appointed. The mattress on our bed, however, was wonderful. Deliciously soft while giving good support to my bad back. Kudos to the mattress!

The walls are thin. We had early morning tee times, and had lights out by 10:00 p.m. each night. The final two nights, we could hear our next-door neighbors talking and laughing after they returned to their room around 11:30 p.m. or midnight. Thank goodness they were not honeymooners.

On the other side of the room, the neighbors ran a tub bath. The noise was so loud we thought a pipe had burst in our own bathroom. Thin walls.

I took issue with the bathroom in our room. The good news is that it was humongous. There is a narrow glass shelf mounted on the wall, above the sink, that gives only space for one basic Dopp kit. There was not hook, anywhere, not even on the back of the bathroom door, on which to hang the second toiletries kit/bag. Really, for a place that is Having a nice stand with small shelves would have really added to it, giving us a convenience that was sorely lacking. As it was, the second toiletries bag had to be hung on a towel bar, across the room from the sink. Not convenient, at all. There is a small cubicle with shelves in the bathroom, but it is five feet off the floor and on the wall behind the toilet; not convenient, for fear something could bet dropped or knocked off into the toilet. Ugh...

On a positive note, the in-room air-conditioning unit did not smell musty moldy. This is a plus. Most older Southern hotels we stayed at, on this trip, had musty moldy A/C units. The one at our Greenbrier room did not. Very pleasant surprise. Well done, Greenbrier!

The shops inside the hotel are all very nice. Prices are not any higher than one would find elsewhere for the same merchandise. That was a very nice surprise.

Food was average. Their world famous chicken salad tasted very bland ("cardboard" came to mind) to me and is not worth the price. Be aware that no matter where you go "on campus", there is a 20% gratuity added to your bill, even if you order over a counter. We were hit up for this at the Cafe Carleton. We regularly tip 20% for good table wait-service, but 20% added in when food is ordered at a counter simply rubbed us the wrong way. For that reason, we avoided the breakfast buffet and ate at a local McDonald's, a few miles down the road, on our way home.

The golf courses are nice and challenging. The Old White has had a bit of a makeover now that it is on the PGA Tour, thus rendering it more challenging than it was pre-makeover. The makeover itself mostly consists of random mounds of soil with tall, wispy grass growing on them. It gave me the impression of a parkland golf course trying to be a links course. Visually, it was not aesthetically pleasing to my eye. Some greens and bunkers have been redone to make it more challenging, too. My better half enjoyed playing the Old White, while I enjoyed saving $400 ($350 greens fee + $20 caddie fee + caddie tip) and watching.

All employees encountered were very polite, friendly, and helpful.

We did not enter the casino, so cannot comment on it.

We took a tour of The Bunker and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for the many kind words you had for our staff, the size of your bath area, the maintenance of the AC unit, the shopping experience and the tour of the cold war bunker. Unfortunately, the fact that you left feeling not overly impressed is disappointing to hear. We have a saying at The Greenbrier, “OK is not OK”. Our commitment is to exceed the expectations of our guests and insure that we live up to our mission statement which is;

Our guests will experience world class service with personalized gracious
interactions. At The Greenbrier, the good becomes “extraordinary” and the great becomes “spectacular;” where each guest anticipates their return to America’s Resort.

We apologize that for this visit we failed in our mission. We would be honored to have the opportunity to serve you as our guests in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    326
    140
    62
    34
See reviews for
341
678
17
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a treat The Greenbrier was. My wife and I decided to go there after watching the PGA tournament that was played on the Old White TPC Course. The only thing more impressive than the resort was the Old White course. The other 2 golf courses there were pretty good also.
This is definitely a destination resort. Once you arrive - you do not even need to get back into your vehicle. You can find everything you need and then some right on the property. Just walking around takes you back to a more simple time. And there is a casino on the property - if interested.
Definitely worth looking into for a great getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. America's Resort has been welcoming guests since 1778 (235 years), and we are proud to recognize that the Old White TPC course will be celebrating its 100th anniversary next year (1914-2014). We look forward to seeing you out on the golf course during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Family and I tried the steak, the salmon, and the stir fry. All excellent choices!! Menu had a very good selection and this was one of the few places you could pop in with no reservations. Needless to stay it has a great location right next to the casino. Very nice atmosphere and tucked away right underneath the main lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

So I am from WV and this is the first time going to The Greenbrier form me and it was so wonderful. So many accommodations and things to do you need to go for at least a few days. Room was a little small but very clean and beautiful inside. My fiance and I enjoyed everything about the hotel; the service, the attendants, the restaurants, and the casino. They even had little shops inside that we picked up a few things for the house before we left.

Room Tip: So the rooms vary in price, and being this was my first trip there I picked one of the smaller rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you and your fiance had such a wonderful time during your very first stay at The Greenbrier! We look forward to celebrating anniversaries and other special occasions with you for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The service at Prime 44 is very good, jackets required, steaks were pricey ($64-$99 per steak not including sides, salads or dessert). My husband and I both ordered steaks cooked medium. My husbands steak came out rare and mine was barely cooked. I expect more from a place that specializes in steaks with such high prices. While management tried to send the steak back to be cooked properly, there was no other offer to make things right (an offer of a free dessert or something would have been very classy). We won't be back to this restaurant. Other restaurants on the property are amazing! Try Drapers or the main dining room instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Drapers doesn't require reservations or jacket/tie. It's actually the best restaurant at The Greenbrier with reasonable prices. The menu offers a varied selection. We had the fried chicken with green beans and mashed potatoes. It was the best tasting fried chicken that I've ever tasted. Other options included hamburgers, salads and sandwiches. This restaurant also offered choices that were healthy, as noted on the menu. Save room for dessert! The ice cream is made on site.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Service on par with Ritz, Four Seasons and Little Palm Island. Delicious food. Great spa. Plenty of activities including world class golf and indoor/outdoor tennis. Smoke free casino reserved for guests of the hotel. Don't miss this very special treasure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a TripAdvisor review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to enjoy even more of our 55+ activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.