We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Southern Elegance in Need of Some Tweaking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Highlands, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classic Southern Elegance in Need of Some Tweaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I remember coming to this fine resort for the first time several years ago and marveling at how it knew its niche in elegant hospitality and how to implement it. Classic old southern tradition, quality food steeped in history and well served by the South's finest indigenous wait staff along with its very personalized service teams propelled it into the best of five star quality resorts. It had, and still does have, all the amenities one could wish for and I'm sure its new ownership (The Justice Family) who grasped it out of the hands of some larger hotel chain to retain its southern roots and quality, wish to "modernize it, yet retain the key elements of its classic roots. In our opinion, they are not quite there yet, but we must give them some time to get this done; Rome wasn't built in a day so to speak.
You arrive and you are well greeted, the rooms while dated have had some effort expected to improve but still need work. Our friends had a problem with their bed which had the dents of former guests well defined into the mattress and along with not very comfortable pillows, kept them from comfortable sleep. We had a sink that obviously had been updated but the faucet barely made it to the sink wash area so that when you tried to brush your teeth, it was hard to place your toothbrush under the water flow (new sink, old faucet, bad match). The furniture in our room had seen many a guest and didn't present or exude quality.
There are areas of decay in the building that show the passage of time but detract from the overall beauty of this southern charmer. Wood floors in the main building are in need of refinishing. All this, one could live with if the pricing weren't mirroring a newer model in our minds; its the old price/value thing rearing its ugly head. Restaurants are very expensive. After sampling the Main Dining Room's limited menu which we enjoyed, we went to a wonderful place in nearby Lewisburg (Food & Friends) and had such a great dinner the first night, that we returned to sample the menu again (for about half the price of the Main Dining Room at The Greenbrier but certainly NOT as elegant). There are many outings and business functions at this resort, but that is expected and they handle them well. Over time, perhaps individuals who are not on expense account or business guests will find the value as good as the days of yore and be rewarded with the needed tweaking this beautiful resort so badly needs. We wish them well in this quest and we shall return someday.

Room Tip: "Intermediate" rooms have good space. We were on a golf package at $480/night (no meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. As you mentioned, improvements are continually taking place at The Greenbrier! Recent additions include the Casino Club (an elegant 103,000 square-foot venue), Greenbrier Avenue (our hidden 5th Avenue shopping corridor), Prime 44 West (a fine dining steakhouse) and The Greenbrier Classic (a PGA TOUR FedEx Cup Event). Thank you for your well wishes - we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    890
    293
    129
    56
    30
See reviews for
323
622
15
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visited the Greenbrier on business. A grand hotel in the American tradition. Rich history, beautifully furnished. Stayed in one of the cottages, very nice well appointed. A cottage would be a great place for a family reunion etc. with four sleeping rooms and a large common area with full kitchen. Wonderful meals. Would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your recent visit. We agree that with a wide variety of accommodations and over 55 activities, The Greenbrier would make an excellent place for a family reunion. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We ate dessert here one night and it was a most delicious chocolate cake. It was light with a mousse layer. It was quaint sitting at the soda fountain seats. Excellent staff!! We watched them make the much talked about banana splits and really it would take about 5 people to eat one. They were HUGE! Then we ate dinner there the next night. I highly recommend the chicken pot pie. It comes in a bowl with puff pastry on top. My husband had the southern nachos (pork) and he liked it. Excellent staff again! Prices were a good value for the food quality and portion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

With the exception of the doorman/bellhop when we arrived, the staff was extraordinary. The air conditioning was not working in the first room we were assigned. The meals were okay but nothing special. If you didn't do the casino, there wasn't much going on in the evening. Would have liked more free activities such as dancing, comedian, etc. There wasn't an opportunity to meet other guests and strike up conversations. The resort felt cavernous with large empty rooms on the level they called the "social level". Not really so social feeling. The prices in the shops were very expensive i.e. $300 for a shirt. I've been to better resorts, hotels and dining establishments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Greenbrier. We pride ourselves on our unparalleled range of activities and amenities, and we are incredibly sorry to hear that they did not meet your expectations. We offer 55+ activities with a variety of complimentary offerings including property tours, culinary demonstrations and afternoon tea during the day and live music, karaoke and movie screenings in the evenings. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience all that The Greenbrier has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Recently spent a family all boys gathering. While grandpa and daddy played two rounds of golf, three teenage boys went swimming, climbing, etc. We all gathered for lunches at the clubhouse, diners at Drapers and the bunker tour. Very impressive site with all possible amenities. Trouble however at checkout. Unacceptable for such and expensive resort with tens of years of experience in hosting guests and major events.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at The Greenbrier. We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful family gathering and were able to fully enjoy our activities and amenities. We sincerely apologize for your trouble at check-out and have addressed the situation with our staff. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to once again enjoy The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We made our reservations late and that night they were slammed! The earliest we could be seated was 9:30 p.m. We had heard it was outstanding and it was our last night so we took the late reservation. Their specialty is steak although they have a great variety of other types of food. Because it is famous for their steaks I definitely wanted a rib eye. Unfortunately the smallest size was a 22oz! My husband nor I are big eaters and it would be 10 p.m. or later before we would actually be eating. The waiter was great and suggested we split the order....I wouldn't dare ask in a place like that and was surprised that he suggested it but we were happy he did. So we ordered the rib eye with a Caprice Salad and they serve what they call "a gift from Cathy Justice" (wife of Jim Justice, the owner of Greenbrier) her Blue Ribbon award winning Cornbread and they present the ladies with a Blue Ribbon and the Cornbread recipe on the back of the ribbon.....nice touch! Everything was absolutely delicious...especially the rib eye steak! But it was very large and we both left some on our plates. It was still crowded at the end of our meal. The tables were very close to each other...like they made room for extra tables.....that didn't belong in the spaces and it was noisy. But it was a wonderful dining experience.....just wish we could have been seated a little earlier when we were hungry. Pricey but steaks were prepared and cooked to perfection. Server was professional and attentive. Don't miss Prime 44 but make your reservations early.....it fills up fast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a business trip for my husband and a pleasure trip for me! His organization chose The Greenbrier for this years convention! It was the best choice to celebrate the organizations 50th anniversary. The Greenbrier is the star that outshines The Homestead, The Carolina, and Nemacolin. Approaching the hotel itself is breathtaking! It is huge, all white against the Allegheny mountains, and surrounded by beautiful manicured lawns and well-cared for flower gardens. Spectacular! Inside is like a step back to the era of "high society" with Dorothy Draper's classic designs throughout. They are changing the wall paper as the hotel is being restored back to it's original grandeur. I befriended a wall-paper hanger working in the hallway outside of our room and asked if I could have a scrap of the Dorothy Drape design wall-paper he was hanging. He did one better and gave me a nice size piece that I will frame and hang in my home. We were there for 5 days and I am sure we missed something. There is so much to see and do! Of course Golf is the big draw but there is something for everyone like horse-back riding, carriage rides, bowling, the indoor and outdoor pools, tennis courts, the movie theatre, the Casino, the Spa (my favorite), about 40 shops, 4 upscale restaurants and 6 or 7 not so formal dining, afternoon tea....and more. There were many families with young children and teens enjoying this hotel! It's pricey but if it's in their budget, there was plenty for them to do.
Most important was our room. It was spotless, roomy, and cozy! The king bed was so very comfortable, great mattress, soft, clean, comforters and pillows (no need for me to bring in our own pillows as I always do), terry robes and slippers for use during your stay, large walk-in closet, and turndown service. Bathroom was immaculate! All service people were extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. Each morning an activity flier is slide under the door....it lists the activities, times, and locations, offered for that day.....too many to mention here! If you get bored it's your fault!
The only incident encountered was with check-in. Our assigned room was occupied. We unlocked the door to find open luggage around the room fortunately the occupants were not there. The desk apologized and reassigned us. After dinner we returned to our room to find a nice bottle of wine on ice waiting for us but no note. Housekeeping said it was for us but did not know anything other than that. We assumed it was from hotel managment over the room mix-up. A short note would have been nice.

Room Tip: King rooms are spacious. But desk with mirror in front of air conditioner deemed it useless....cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an in-depth review of your recent visit! The Greenbrier features Dorothy Draper's distinctive style of vibrant colors, floral patterns and bold contrasts throughout the property, and we are happy to hear that you have a nice square of custom wallpaper as a souvenir. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.