We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the minute we pulled up till departing it was wonderful. A piece of paradise. We stayed in a cottage and it was lovely. The housekeeping was wonderful. I wish I knew her name but the housekeeper was so nice and cleaned the cottage like it was her own. So nice to sit outside with your coffee and newspaper in the morning. From restaurants to shops everyone was very pleasant and just made the trip great without realizing it. My son loved the fly fishing, clay shooting, bunker tour, falcons, horses and canoeing. There was just so much to do and not enough time. Even leaving at the airport everyone is just so nice. First time and we will certainly be back. Left a few days before Classic but will be back next year.

Room Tip: Cottages are perfect if you like to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    892
    293
    129
    56
    30
See reviews for
324
623
15
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

To be honest, we picked this restaurant as an alternative to the more expensive restaurants at The Greenbrier without having to go off the resort for dinner. And we were not disappointed. The food was very good and the service was outstanding. We would definitely go back when staying at The Greenbrier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I cannot say enough about the attention and "desire to please" that I was shown by the senior resort manager, Mr. Mickey.

We are not "regular" visitors to The Greenbrier. This was our first visit to celebrate a special occasion; but Mr. Mickey took time out of his busy schedule (the day of a federal judge convention with Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts as the speaker) and the week before the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament. Even with what had to be a hectic schedule, Mr. Mickey took time to listen and generously correct a concern which I had.

The grounds and building are beautiful and the staff were all very friendly - from the waitstaff, the housekeeping staff, the front desk, etc., to Mr. Mickey.

The bunker tour was very interesting and definitely worth doing while visiting there.

Our breakfasts in the dining room and dinners at Drapers were all delicious.

We had a very nice and relaxing time there. Thanks for making us feel special!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a nice view of the grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

a great place to grab a cappuccino and breakfast sandwich. We then took our "picnic" to the patio and enjoyed the beautiful mountains!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful course! It was a pleasure watching the professionals try to overcome its challenges! It looks much easier on tv!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Greenbrier is lovely any time you are fortunate enough to visit but during the Greenbrier Classic it was especially festive. We stayed in a friends home at the Greenbrier Sporting Club. We had full access tickets to the golf tournament and concert series. It is truly a family event! The infinity edge pool is beautiful. The food is delicious and the golf tournament is well run and a pleasure to attend. Every person we encountered working at the hotel and golf event were courteous, helpful and polite. We had wonderful cappuccinos in the coffee shop, delicious dinner at the italian restaurant and fabulous lunches by the outdoor pool. We look forward to attending next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown,Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Treated like royalty from the minute we arrived to the time we left. Beautiful old building. Real attention to detail. Loved the tour of the bunker. The grounds surrounding the building are beautifully maintained. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.