We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, spectacular grounds, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing location, spectacular grounds, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved this resort! The food was essentially superb in all venues (though pricey). Our room, though at the low end of the price range was bright and spacious with a queen, a sofa, a chaise, two arm chairs and a table, a walk in closet and large bathroom. The service was uniformly friendly and great from concierge to maid service. The spa was wonderful and the whole wing with the pool and spa was really lovely (I had the GB massage, soak and whiskey shower special). The underground vault is fascinating and worth the tour. The artist colony was charming with gorgeous items for purchase. An extended walk around the grounds, provided spectacular views in all directions.

My only criticism is with the decor, the chintz and floral excess is so dated and so overpowering. It makes a statement, and sets the GB off with its own unique look, but that signature is unfortunately loud, pink, green, and multi-patterned. Not very calming for a spa resort. But with the many amenities the GB has to offer, I soon overlooked the crazy decorating and looked for other diversions among its many offerings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    890
    293
    129
    56
    30
See reviews for
323
622
15
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went with friends to the Black Jack Tournament and we had a great time. Rooms are nice, clean but small as compared to newer places but love the old decor reminds me of my childhood. I went with several college friends we had a great time. Some came with teenage kids that enjoyed the bowling and pool while we did the slots and tables.

Room Tip: Great place to meet friends and have a fun weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great service!
Beautiful at Christmas time.
First class management!
The Christmas show was free with our stay and we enjoyed the show very much.
The bunker tour is excellent.
The history tour is free and interesting.
The casino is a nice addition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food was great once we received it. The cook seemingly forgot our order entirely. We waited over an hour for sandwiches. They were great though - you can't beat a "fried green tomato sandwich"!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Greenbrier is absolutely Gorgeous! Southern Charm is the best way to describe her impeccable beauty. The service was wonderful and food was amazing! We enjoyed our stay so much that I am hoping to go back soon with my husband for a couple's getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our week at the Greenbrier was simply a fabulous experience. While the resort is dated, it is not run down, just dated in a quaint, classic way. The grounds are immaculate with every detail covered. We are from the deep south, so when we arrived in our room and saw their signature slogan "It's sleepy time down south", we chuckled to ourselves. However, we are pleased to announce that while the Greenbrier is up north to us, they have southern hospitality down pat. ALL of the employees greeted us with smiles and seemed genuinely happy to be working at the Greenbrier. The property has everything you need - shopping, world class restaurants (world class wines as well), golf, activities - swimming, bowling, video games for the kids, etc. The SPA treatments are as good as anywhere we have been. Oh, did I mention the sleigh ride? Wow. We thought when we booked a week in the winter that we might be bored after a couple of days, well we weren't. In fact, one day we realized we haven't even left the building, much less the property. Golf, walking, hiking trails abound. We are planning another trip. Save your money, it is worth the price!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Greenbrier is a place to go if you wish to be transported back to a time when service and dress were normal. I am not going to get into all of the resort ammenities, which are numerous. The charm of this place is in the detail. I do not beileve there was an employee the entire trip that did not give us a heart felt greeting or warm wishes. Everyone of them truely wanted to go out of their way to make our trip more enjoyable. The entire compound holds true to its original turn of the century architecture extravagance. We stayed in a standard room which had all of the regular hotel ammenities. Yes, it was not large, and had dated features but they were all charming, clean, worked perfectly and looked brand new. The public rooms were dramatic. There were tall detailed ceilings, large windows, enormous chandeliers everywhere, winding stairways and passageways in every direction. You could have spent hours exploring just the inside. Although it was March and patches of snow were on the ground, we did manage a stroll outside and could imagine the beauty that spring would bring with all of the landscape in full bloom. In the evening, we enjoyed both the main dining room and the Forum. The service and food were impecible. The casino was like being on the vegas strip with the usual gaming. The only difference being that the drinks were not free. Which brings me to the last item and that is the fees. I have been to other resorts that charge similar fees. This was the only time I felt that all of them were completely justified. It is a 5 star resort with 5 star service and earned every penny that I paid them. My only suggestion to the Greenbrier would be to come up with an All-Inclusive price so there will be no sticker shock at checkout. The only other resort I know of in America of this caliber that has an All-Inclusive price is the Amelia Island Plantation in Florida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.