We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Although we only stayed overnight, we had a lovely suite that was exquisitely decorated. The check-in process, as well as every other aspect of the hotel, is carried out in the tradition of fine resorts. The dining room, for example, is enormous, and the breakfast buffet ranks up there with the best. There are plenty of activities, including sports, a casino, and shopping.

Management might consider a coffee maker in the room - if a well stocked bar is included, why not a morning beverage? The Italian restaurant is mediocre with a strange menu, below average food, and high pricing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    339
    143
    64
    35
See reviews for
353
714
17
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Greenbrier located in White Sulfur Springs, WV is truly a sight to see and place to experience. The grandeur and beauty of this resort is easily matched by the friendliness of all who work at the Greenbrier. As you stroll through the building and grounds, all the employees will greet you and wish you a nice day, and you feel that they truly mean it. They will remember you from one day to the next, and make certain you stay is exceptional.

Yes, the Greenbrier is not inexpensive, and they are not bashful about charges and fees, but there are not many places like this in this part of country. I have had the pleasure of also visiting the nearby Homestead Resort which is also grand but seems somewhat tired. The Greenbrier on the other hand is vibrant and alive. We were there on recent weekend when they were not all that filled but yet the place was still buzzing.

I am not a gambler, but it was fun visiting the casino and sit in the bar and watch people and enjoy the entertainment. The casino is not like ones in Las Vegas where as soon as you walk into a hotel, it is right there. Rather, it is hidden a few steps away from the lobby. Other than the signage, you would not be aware of it.

The Greenbrier is a place where we do indeed like to go on occasion to feel pampered. While it is not my normal type of destination, it is a real treat to occasionally visit. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Driving in WV on a trip. I came upon the sign for the Greenbrier and had seen the special on the secret bunker atomic bunker built for congress. So I stopped.
I booked a room through Hotels.com but when I got to the hotel they had trouble finding the reservation. I waited about 20 minutes. Which seemed long but for my trouble I was upgraded. My rate was high for a regular room but for the upgrade it was nice.
The room....ugh...
This is difficult. The size of the room and the quality of the bed and the furnishings was very good however the choice of decorations was very very very much not my taste. In fact, it seemed more of my grandmothers taste. This is a very subjective area so I will let the pictures speak for me on this issue.
Staff was friendly made my stay very nice.
I toured the bunker and enjoyed it very much.
The grounds, the staff and the surrounding were top notch and the Greenbrier has many other activities, such as falconry, the choose from if you happen to book during the right season. And a casino with Craps table on the grounds....
Stationary was available in the room and in the lobby, a plus for me.
I would highly recommend the Greenbrier.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A king would be right at home in the Greenbrier and many have visited. We have visited the palaces of Europe and some of them pale in comparison to the opulence of the Greenbrier. Each room you enter is an explosion of color that your mind can hardly comprehend. You can pretend your servants are ready to snap to attention at your command and you will discover your palace has a little secret. There are once secret underground facilities used by our government as an alternate position should Washington be attacked. You can go deep into the recesses of a place we never had to use thank God, but you can imagine what life would be like underground. There are sleeping quarters, dining facilities, and even a conference room. When the Senators and Congressmen arrived their first stop was at a location where everyone changes into standard clothing like the Chinese and all their clothes they came in with are burned in a giant incinerator. Then as your emotions are swirling from what you saw in the tour you are again back on the main floor walking the halls of the rich and famous. We drove our 1980 Mercedes Benz 300SD, which were only made for the North American market, there and for a while it was 1980 and we were on vacation. It is a place you will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the Grande Dame of Resorts. Nestled on over 40 acres in the middle of West "by God" Virginia. We stayed on the fifth floor of the main hotel asking for "the cheapest room possible." Our room was still bright, big, spotless and quiet. The shower was great with good water pressure and the mattress and pillows top notch. The reception of the "hi def" TV was so bad however we felt like we were watching the AFC Championship game on videotape.

While there we ate at the main dining room and The Forum. The main dining room is very formal and the food was good but pricy. I would skip it if I had to do it over again. The pizza in the Forum was very good but also expensive. Service was great. We took advantage of the exercise facility which was in the tennis pavilion and was excellent. I went to the gun club and shot skeet, trap and sporting clays. Great experience in a beautiful setting. High quality Beretta over/under shotguns, six stations and great instruction.

If you have your own gun you can bring your own ammo (buy some shells at Walmart) and it will save you a lot of money.

The indoor pool was nice but full of kids.

The decor of the place is signature "Draper" design and was not to our taste. Felt dated and not in a good way. Like your grandparents old living room minus the plastic covered couch.

Valet parking was $20 per day. Park yourself and you will have to walk a quarter of a mile back.

Looks like if you went in the summer with a family there is tons to do.

Overall if you like the formality and an early twentieth century feel this is a great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My adult son and I enjoyed the ambience and the variety of entree's in Drapers. The waiters were exceptionally friendly and even made the attempt to remember the names of regular customers. We ate 80$ of our meals in Drapers for our one week stay. It made up for the terrible dining experience in the Greenbriar's Main Dining Room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chicken pot pie was wonderful..Fried chicken and waffles is a surprising delight...
Desserts are well worth the calories.
The limited menu might pose a challenge for some diners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.