We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect spot for our girls day out !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Chester, VA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A perfect spot for our girls day out !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I recent visited Drapers Cafe with my sister in law and niece and it was a great visit. We had lunch at Drapers while shopping and taking in the decorations of the Greenbrier Resort. We were seated within 5 minutes and our server was just perfect. Since I had read reviews I had some questions and she was very informative. The cheesburger/sweet potato fries were perfect as I had read and our dessert was a shared Oakmonter. So delicious but I did get a picture to share. Cheesecake for the bottom layer topped by a fudge layer surrounded by chocolate mousse. Sinfully delish. I must agree a little pricey but for an occasional splurge with the girls it wswas wonderful, memorable occasion. I am already planning a return visit during the holidays next year with girlfriends. The Greenbrier is a wonderful visit during the Christmas season.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    326
    140
    62
    34
See reviews for
341
677
17
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Food was inconsistent from one visit to another. One entree was good; one almost unedible. When server came to pick up plates no remedy was offered even though my dinner was almost untouched.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had been looking forward to seeing The Greenbrier in person for many years. Wish I had the opportunity to visit sooner....when everything was shiny and new. In general, the experience is all Americana including a staff that is well-trained, extremely cordial and ever helpful. Definitely reminiscent of a bye-gone era worth remembering. The service was excellent, the food was very good (especially the Italian restaurant) but the decor seemed somewhat tired in many areas of the common areas. Our room was large, bathroom somewhat inconvenient due to lack of counter space, bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: Intermediate corner rooms are spacious; bathrooms, however, have no counter space. Perhaps deluxe ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went there for lunch and the burgers are to die for, however, they are very pricey! The banana split was so big that 5 of us couldn't finish it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Checked in on11/6/1212 for three nights and stayed that night in room 3155. Got eaten up by bed bugs by morning, took several to the front desk and they changed the room to 4155. The irritation got worst as time when on, scratching was constant. Even went to the hospital ER hoping for some relief. Called about problem and left messages (no one answers their phone) for VP Quest Relations who didn't return call for a week. The long and short of the story is after several calls and a letter to the owner/CEO and almost 6 weeks in which the problem was "stonewalled" I got a call and my compensation for the problem was the bed bug night expense would be credited back to me and I would get two free nights on a future visit. Wasn't that nice of them? Fat chance I'll ever be back!!
The good news, the food was excellent and the staff most pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share both your positive and negative comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food during your stay, but we truly regret that the rest of your stay was less than pleasant. We pride ourselves on customer service and thought that the situation had been handled to your satisfaction. We sincerely apologize and hope that you will take the opportunity to come visit The Greenbrier again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Obviously Christmas is a busy time at the Greenbrier. On a recent December weekend day visit (Saturday)--I was returning after a 6 year absence. You would have thought by all the media coverage and writings that the resort had done some major renovations to the facility, but I found a generally shabby lobby and guest areas (thread worn furniture that is dirty and overused), inadequate lighting, crowded common areas and outrageous prices for everything. The carpeting is dirty and worn out as well, something that is unacceptable in a hospitality facility such as this.

The Draper's restaurant was loud, there were at least 3 instances of waitstaff dropping dishes (momentarily silencing the entire restaurant). The lobby bar tender was vocally displeased with many things, but the other staff was friendly and attentive.

The mad rush to high tea at 4 pm is a disaster. Backpackers, sloppy T shirt people, kids in tow etc.. make this experience less than desirable. Family photo hour(s) in the parlor adjacent to the lobby bar is annoying because of the continual bright flash for hours on end.

The resort MUST return to a registered guest oriented facility if it is to survive. You can not have day guests competing with registered guests for services, space and attention.

I have visited this facility since the early 1970's. Spent a fortune over these years. But not inclined to continue to do so.

Room Tip: Avoid guest cottages. Overpriced and poor access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We take reviews from longtime guests very seriously, and we continually strive to improve our guests' experiences based on feedback. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Greenbrier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great for lunch or dinner. As a kid I loved the milkshakes. Wonderful, easy food, great option for a low key night

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.