We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed restaurants” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in White Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Greenbrier
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Closed restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Many of the restaurants on site are closed sun,mon, and Tuesday. That poses are real problem when planning
How and where to have a meal. Even when a convention is within the hotel, closures still occur.Three of their best
Restaurants were closed during our stay. Choose your travel days wisely.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    360
    159
    71
    36
See reviews for
382
772
17
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have Visited the Greenbrier many times, but this was our first time staying at the resort
Our room was a tastfully decorated and away from the busy part of the hotel so it was quite too.
We had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Greenbrier continues to hold its stature as an executive getaway. This is NOT a new/modern resort by any means, but definitely expect old world charm with all the class and time honored sophistication. Our corporate offsite was very well served by this venue. The rooms were very nicely appointed and carefully maintained. The warm and friendly nature of the hotelling staff, dining room staff, and even the casino staff really made the visit more enjoyable than already expected with the surroundings. We drove into the hills of West Virginia witnessing the beginning of foliage changing colors with weather at the brisk beginning of fall. All the outdoor activities including a most wonderful round of golf and the falconing as well as the indoor activites like the spa and a tour of the cold war bunker were excellent and very memorable. Conference center venue for business meetings was very appropriate. Corporate picked up the tab for us...a very good thing...and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in between some intense business meetings. This is the way to do it! West 44 had the absolute best steak we've ever had...be sure to get reservations there and ask for their signature fillet priced by the ounce.

Room Tip: Expect some 'excess color/pattern combinations' in the hallways. The rooms themselves are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Draper's was a rather fancied-up tea room. The food was good, the ice cream was excellent, the wait staff was attentive and efficient and overall it was a welcome change from the outrageous prices and stuffy atmosphere of the Main Dining Room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently spent four nights at The Greenbrier in a ridiculously expensive room. The room was all right exceot for the decor (nothing matched and some things clashed) and the ancient heating/cooling system. When it went on, there was a horrible noise that woke me up multiple times. The maid said they could not afford to upgrade the heating system at this time. We paid $455 a night (including taxes) and the daily $25 resort fee was waived because we were with a fairly large group attending a meeting. The meal prices had to be seen to believed. We ate in the Main Dining Room only one night and were astounded by the prices. A filet mignon was $54 and included very little in the way of starch or vegetables. I had a piece of overcooked fish with four tiny asparagus spears for $34. Breakfasts there were equally expensive with juice, coffee, eggs and toast for $22. Fortunately therre was another dining room, Draper's, where the food was good and fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This course has a great layout and wonderful charm... more enjoyable to play than Old White and a better value

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you visit The Greenbrier, bring your Jacket... and your Wallet.

We did a four night Bed and Breakfast/Golf package at the Greenbrier in September and enjoyed the experience.

The resort is large, but easy to navigate. There are shuttles running from the main building to the golf courses and cottages and we used them to get to the Golf Club dining room when it rained in the evening.

The Lobby decor is Historic, or maybe Vintage is a better description, or perhaps Unique, definitely Unique! Very 50's. Flowery prints on the walls, floors and in the moldings... and the colors are pretty bold... That being said, I liked it and it lends to the character of this Grand Old Resort.

Breakfast in the Main Dining Room is a grand affair. The buffet is extensive and includes a manned station for omelets or fried eggs, along with fresh baked breads and biscuits, Fresh fruits and berries and everything else you would expect in a West Virginia Feast. It was very good... especially the Bread Pudding French Toast with fresh berries.

Our room was very large with a King bed and separate sitting area with couch, chairs, coffee and end tables and a 32" flat screen TV with a good selection of free and pay TV channels.

We also had a mini fridge with space for us, plus a mini bar offering beverages and snacks for purchase.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and nicely decorated. My only issue with our room was the commercial style toilet in the small bathroom. It is the style without a tank that you would see in an airport bathroom or a school or public building. It was very loud when it flushed and had huge suction! The shower was in a tub and worked very well with lots of pressure and plenty of quick hot water.

We had a nice meal at Sam Sneads at the Golf Club. The service was quite good as was the food. It is a little pricey, but you are at a resort in West Virginia. The decor at Sam Snead's is fabulous if you are a golfer. Lots of pictures and memorabilia in a bright and airy room. The Cream Corm Crème Brule is an amazing side dish for the chicken or beef entrees.

Our evening meal in the Main Dining Room was a little disappointing. A Jacket and Tie are required for Gentlemen. The limited menu didn't hold my interest very well and the special sounded a whole lot better than it actually was. The wine list was pretty good and I enjoyed my dessert and coffee more than the rest of the meal.

Our Meal at Prime 44 West was the best of the bunch, and the most expensive. The steaks are very pricey, $180 for a Rib eye for 2 or $62 for a T-Bone for one... plus sides. The Mac and Cheese is delicious and a wonderful companion for perfectly medium rare bone-in strip loin. They also make a lovely tableside Caesar salad. Dessert here was a house specialty Italian Cream Cake, spectacular. Jacket required here too.

The service here was also the best we experienced at the Resort, it was very good. Friendly, informative and timely.

Very pricey, close to $275 including gratuity and tax for salads, steaks with side, 1 dessert, wine and coffees for two people.

Basketball Hall of Famer, Jerry West, whom the restaurant was named for, was there that evening and paid a special visit to the table next to us to say hello the couple celebrating their honeymoon at the resort. He is a gracious host and a very nice man.

Golf at the Greenbrier is very, very good. Although we were rained out for one day, we did get to sample the two better courses at the Resort. We played the Old White course, host of the PGA Tour's Greenbrier Classic and found it a nice course with some history and interesting holes. However there was a large surcharge to play this course, along with a Caddie fee for the mandatory Forecaddie and I was not certain it was worth the surcharge after we played our round. The next day we played the Greenbrier course and I was certain the Old White surcharge is not worth it. The Greenbrier course, in my opinion, is a much better course than the Old White. It has a wonderful layout and is in excellent condition with tricky greens and deliberate approaches... if I had been treated to both rounds and then asked which course charges the surcharge, I would have picked the Greenbrier course, which has hosted a Ryder Cup and a Solhiem Cup, over the Old White as the one charging the premium. I wish I had the opportunity to play the Meadows course, but that will be for another visit.

The Casino is a pretty intimate affair with the usual games and machines. Jacket required. Only Resort guests and Greenbrier members are permitted in the Casino.

The Resort also has walking tours of the grounds, tennis courts, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and a tour of the historic formerly secret Congressional Bunker. It takes 90 minutes and is a great insight to the 1950's and 1960's political climate and cold war fears.

Over all and very cool visit, I’ll do it again in 5 or 10 years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.