We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Beautiful Place!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Crownsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a Beautiful Place!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Greenbrier from 12/16 to 12/19 and had two rooms for a family of 5. The hotel was decorated for the Holidays and was absolutely beautiful!! My wife and I stayed here a few years back prior to the addition of the Casino and the recent refurbishment that has taken place and the hotel is gorgeous, everything just perfect. There is much to do, ice skating, bowling, indoor pool, golf, carriage rides, bunker tour, dining, casinos, move theater, etc. This was a great trip for all of us and allowed our teenagers to experience a part of history. Finally, the service is phenomenal. We had dinner at The Forum, Drapers and had room service on our final night and all were fantastic, especially the room serivice. The staff is as nice as can be and it is quite apparent that they want to make sure that your stay is outstanding!!!! Rooms are very spacious and beautiful as well. Enjoy!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    890
    293
    129
    56
    30
See reviews for
323
622
15
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful 3 days at the Greenbrier. What a wonderful and historical place. The hotel is first class, rooms very clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the bunker tour should not be missed! I can't wait to return for another visit this summer! It is nestled in the mountains of West Virginia and is a very lovely resort.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is an old school southern classic property well hidden mountain report. Only a few hours from Washington D.C. and Nothern VA area, the hotel offers a unique atmosphere and top-nouch hospitality.

My husband and I had a chance to visit The Greenbrier for our friend's wedding, and we were very impressed with incredibly hospitable people who work there and all the activities that were offered at the resort.

We stayed in the main hotel building, and our room was really hysterically designed - I am not a big fan of draperies ...and crazy wall papers.. I understand that that is one of the unique element of the property - but not my personal favorite... We also had a chance to visit cottages..and the cottages were SO wonderful. We are definitely staying at the cottage next time we visit. The rooms at the cottages are very spacious..and the cottage is equipped with fireplace, dining table, and large bathrooms. So, if you can, stay at the cottage.

The resort also offers varies activities including shooting, horseback riding, hiking, golfing, and many others. So, even if you are stuck in the middle of nowhere (like West Virginia), you have plenty of activities you can do. The bunker tour is so much fun and it's a must-activity when you are visiting the greenbrier.

The only downside of the resort is that things are STUPID expensive. This is definitely a place where you will over pay for everything you buy and do. Your bagel sandwich and a cup of coffee will cost you $20. So, keep that in mind. :)

Room Tip: If you can stay in the rooms at the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The customer service was upfront and personal. Waitress had a exceptional personality beyond her limits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Second time I have been to the resort before Christmas. All the staff are a delight to be around. I actually want to personally thank the gentlemen who helped me find the West Virginia wing and walked me to the back doors to meet my party. I am planning to come in July for the 4th, I can't wait for the celebration and the beauty that has been blessed upon this hotel. Thanks again, until next year.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the West Virginia Wing rooms and inside the hotel rooms, they are very large and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had a late lunch and were looking for "something" before the movie. My friend and I split the ham and cheese. It was on a delicious bun with lots of meat. They split the sandwich in the kitchen and brought it out on 2 plates with the sweet potato fries and it was more than enough for less than $9.00 each.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This resort is hidden in a remote area of WV and many people have never heard about it. The entrance looks like you are going to the White House - absolutely beautiful. Went on a two night junket in early December and it was so beautiful. 7000 poinsettias all over the hallways, Christmas trees, swags and decorations everywhere. Have never seen anything so beautiful. Be sure to take the bunker tour. It is about an hour and a half and very interesting. Don't know how they kept it quiet for so long.
As you would expect, this is a very expensive place. Don't plan to get any bargains in the shops. Cute little coffee shop downstairs that sevrves a great breakfast sandwich for $8. You can skip the $27 breakfast buffet in main dining room. You should eat there just once just for the experience and the crystal chandeliers. My friend and I split a sandwich at Drapers and it was fabulous.

Don't pass up the chance to get this once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: Look for special packages in the "off season".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
Free Parking, B...
Show More
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Free Parking, F...
Show More
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
18.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
17.0 mi away
Quality Inn Covington
Quality Inn Covington
#4 of 5 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.