We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What a wonderful site"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"What a wonderful site"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Second time I have been to the resort before Christmas. All the staff are a delight to be around. I actually want to personally thank the gentlemen who helped me find the West Virginia wing and walked me to the back doors to meet my party. I am planning to come in July for the 4th, I can't wait for the celebration and the beauty that has been blessed upon this hotel. Thanks again, until next year.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the West Virginia Wing rooms and inside the hotel rooms, they are very large and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    913
    310
    135
    59
    30
See reviews for
330
639
16
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had a late lunch and were looking for "something" before the movie. My friend and I split the ham and cheese. It was on a delicious bun with lots of meat. They split the sandwich in the kitchen and brought it out on 2 plates with the sweet potato fries and it was more than enough for less than $9.00 each.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This resort is hidden in a remote area of WV and many people have never heard about it. The entrance looks like you are going to the White House - absolutely beautiful. Went on a two night junket in early December and it was so beautiful. 7000 poinsettias all over the hallways, Christmas trees, swags and decorations everywhere. Have never seen anything so beautiful. Be sure to take the bunker tour. It is about an hour and a half and very interesting. Don't know how they kept it quiet for so long.
As you would expect, this is a very expensive place. Don't plan to get any bargains in the shops. Cute little coffee shop downstairs that sevrves a great breakfast sandwich for $8. You can skip the $27 breakfast buffet in main dining room. You should eat there just once just for the experience and the crystal chandeliers. My friend and I split a sandwich at Drapers and it was fabulous.

Don't pass up the chance to get this once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: Look for special packages in the "off season".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had a great burger and fried green tomato sandwich. The sweet potato fries were very tasty!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic Areal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Just returned from a nice pre-holiday weekend, just in time to see the tree lighting and the whole property ablaze in lights--enchanting! Service and friendliness of staff were both first rate, and although the Draper-designed accommodations are not quite our style, they were comfortable and generous. The breakfast buffet is abundant and fresh, but they do need to do better with fish preparation at both dinner and breakfast (skip the trout!). All said, the resort is legendary--go at least once (take lots of $$--a single cashmere scarf was $1300 in one of the men's shops) to see what all the fuss is about.

Room Tip: Huge property, so most rooms will be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Just stayed at the Greenbrier for the first for my best friends wedding. It was amazing to say the least. The staff was professional, friendly, and helpful. Our room was stunning. Their Christmas decorations, lights, and ice skating rink make the Greenbrier a magical place this time of year. My husband and I can not wait to go back for a weekend away. The only downside to staying here is now every other place we stay at will feel like a dump!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Excellent food and wonderful service. The menu had enough variety to keep it interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.