We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We visited the Greenbrier for Sunday Brunch. The building and grounds are stunning and well kept. It is a 5 star resort in everyway. Thou is appears to be somewhat confused regarding it's direction. This property is a cross between a club and hotel resort. It is diffecult to get into and has many restrictions that are hold overs from the 50's. The brunch itself was well done and the food was great. The service was over the top attentive and our wait-person was very personable and professional. Highly recommended. However, be prepared, this is not just a pricy place...it is over the top expensive. Brunch for 6 eating the buffet was more than $300 with tip. The hotel itself reflects a time gone by and elegance is everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    389
    179
    75
    39
See reviews for
418
828
21
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eastern nc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Everyone should visit The Greenbrier. With its long history, lovely mountain setting and tons of activities, it has something for everyone. We enjoyed the hiking trails, falconry, horseback riding and bunker tour. The decor is cheerfully and unabashedly garish--think Vegas done by a debutante. I laughed out loud many times as I rounded a corner and came upon some outlandish, over the top decorating detail.
Our reservations had been lost when we arrived, and they instantly upgraded us (bravo for customer service). The only negative was our one restaurant meal there: tremendously overpriced and the food was only ordinary. The cornbread was downright awful---southern cornbread should definitely not be judged by this gritty and tasteless recipe.
Overall, though, we had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I just made reservations for my third visit to the Greenbrier. This time my husband and I are going there for a honeymoon that we never had. What a wonderful place to visit. We were treated like royalty. From having our bags unloaded and our car parked, to our beds turned down at night. Jim Justice has came into this place and made it a wonderful place to stay. We also toured the Bunker which is full of history and very interesting!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with others and have seperate rooms, request connecting rooms. Makes things so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I am originally forom Iowa, so I admittedly am a Pork-Chop snob. :-) I rarely find an eatery outside of Iowa that actually knows how to cook these monster-sized pork chops. This one was cooked to perfection. Absolutely the best Iowa chop I have ever had. I'll not tell my mother that her chops are now "Number-two".

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

4 college roomies/3 nights/great food: what else could we need for a great reunion? When our reservation was messed up they upgraded us to a 4BR/4B cottage on a road just a short walk from the main building. Wow! There was a huge living area, a kitchen (very dated appliances, just used it to heat up and refrigerate leftovers),and a wonderful fireplace which was cleaned and reset twice a day: all we had to do was strike a match. Comfy robes made this the place to be while it snowed. There is so much to do there, but we left the fly fishing, casino, golf and gun sports to the other visitors, concentrating instead on long walks, spa treatments, horses and shopping. Plans to go to nearby attractions never materialized since we never got bored. The grounds are beautiful!
The 90 minute underground bunker tour, given several times a day is pricey at $30., but if you're there, you'll probably want to see this Cold War relic and how it's been converted for modern day usage...not at all what you'd think it would be used for. There is daily tea/coffee service with pastries at 4:15 announced by a short performance of the Greenbrier Waltz.
In general the food we had was very good. Buffet breakfast in the main dining room is extensive, but I think we enjoyed ordering from the menu a little more since there weren't poached eggs, Eggs Benedict, etc. on the buffet. By the time you get coffee and juice however, the price is about the same. The Forum, (Italian) was really good with outstanding thin crust pizza. Dinner is very gracious in the main dining room, and quite delicious. Our least favorite, and it was still good, was the pricey restaurant at the golf club. One morning we had breakfast delivered to the cottage and were amazed at how hot and beautifully presented everything was.
While we were checking out, the bellman put cold water bottles and chocolate chip cookies in our car for the 2 hour drive back to the airport in Charleston, WV. He was NOT hanging around for a tip, although we tried to find him. This is an example of the "just happy to serve you" attitude of the whole staff.
Decor is crazy, wild, over the top gorgeous, not the staid, tone-on-tone Italian beiges so popular everywhere else these days. Their shops are great with plenty of souvenir options. We'll go back, and next time try to arrive by Amtrak which stops literally across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Greenbrier is a step back to the time when white glove service was standard. The resort offers plenty of activities to keep kids and adults as busy as they'd like, excellent multi-ethnic restaurants, and both indoor and outdoor adventures. This is the sort of resort where you can have a wonderful vacation with many new experiences, without ever leaving the grounds. I was only their for a brief business visit, but I will definitely plan to go back for a more leisurely stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

What could you say about the Greenbrier that isn't perfect? As always, everyone is extremely gracious and friendly. Instead of a cottage, since it was cooler weather we elected to take a standard room in the hotel. I was concerned when we got off the elevator to find the room right next to it, but once inside, it was impossible to tell the equipment was running right next door. The room itself, a standard, was VERY small - the only reason for my 4-circle rating as opposed to giving it 5 this stay.Although it was nice not to have to go outside in colder weather, I would opt for the more expensive cottage again with tons of space, two huge rooms, a kitchenette, fireplace, patio, porch and 2 bathrooms. The Hotel bus is glad to pick you up from the cottage and take you to the main hotel. There are a few things that are different about a place like the Greenbrier - if you haven't been to a similar hotel before, beware that there are no coffee makers in the rooms - you have to dress and go to the lobby or shops for coffee. Dressing is another issue...there are rules. Jeans are not acceptable in many areas and jackets and upscale resortwear are expected in the casino and dining venues in the evenings. Also, the food is not cheap...there are a number of options on type of food, but any full meal can easily run $100 per couple without extras like wine and dessert. Breakfast is close to $50 - or slightly more if you get the buffet which is well worth the extra cost compared with items off the menu. There are a couple of good casual restaurants in White Sulphur Springs, and Lewsiburg is only 5-6 miles away where more can be found. Overall, the Greenbrier remains a beautiful, old hotel that everyone should try at least once!

Room Tip: Pay extra and go for the cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
18.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Quality Inn Covington
Quality Inn Covington
#4 of 5 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.