We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Greenbrier is simply wonderful - everything about it from the beautiful hotel, decor, grounds, food, etc. A truly special place to visit, whether it is a family trip, a business trip, to a romantic getaway. My husband and I were there for a long weekend with his extended family and as usual, this trip to the Greenbrier was absolutely amazing. There is an activity for everyone, from the spa, golf, hiking, shopping, bowling, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, skeet shooting, to just walking around the beautiful hotel admiring the decor and architecture. The bunker tour is a must if you have never been, a part of US history that is amazing. The new casino is a great addition to the resort - I wasn't sure how a casino that I would expect in Vegas, would blend with the timeless classic feel of the Greenbrier, but they did a nice job and the casino is classy. They do a champagne toast at 10pm every night in the casino and they have dancers that do a waltz as entertainment which we enjoyed. Highly recommend a trip to the Greenbrier, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    358
    155
    71
    36
See reviews for
379
768
17
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

A friend of mine had business meetings over two days at The Greenbrier - she invited me along to stay and play golf over the weekend.

The hotel rooms are old and feel dated. The food at the restaurants in the hotel itself is sub par. We ate at Drapers, The Forum and in the main dining room. Our experience in the main dining room was the worst. We waited forever to get a drink and have someone take our orders. It wasn't clear who our waiter was and when our food finally came it was terrible. I ordered the salmon - it was dry and had some sort of mysterious mustard sauce on top.

We were supposed to play golf at both The Greenbrier and The Meadows courses. When we walked out to our golf cart after checking in to play The Greenbrier course, our clubs were strapped onto the cart in our travel bags. What?! No one was around to help remove our clubs from the travel bags, etc. We paid $200 each for a round of golf that was mediocre at best. When we came in from our round there was no one waiting to clean clubs or take them back to the bag room. Overall service at the golf club was seriously lacking.

The bright spot at hotel was the pool - the food was edible and the service great.

There is no way The Greenbrier will ever get back their five star rating if they keep up the terrible service. I recommend skipping this hotel - it is way overpriced for what you actually get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

this was our fifth trip to the green brier, it is a fantastic place to visit with a great history, we have stayed in all the seasons and the spring is our favorite with all the beautiful flowers and low humidity. a local family purchased this from the CSX railroad last year and has improved the areas that were starting to get a little worn. the staff is excellent with many having provided service to the travelers for forty plus year. super friendly staff, the bunker tour is worth going on where our congress was suppose to retreat to in a nuclear war, it is also called the 2nd white house as many presidents have stayed there. you may see famous people or just normal folks like our selves, the food is terrific and the new casino is entertaining. would recommend to all couples, families or business. golf courses are great and the children programs are excellent. afternoon tea is a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Service was an all-time low, orders were wrong, excuses were made and ammenities were cut to the bone. Even the coffee has been "cheapened" to the point it's laughable. We love this property, but it is way way overpriced now and the casino is crashing before our very eyes. If something doesn't happen--and fast--this place will be out of business. Sad to watch but real none the less. Needs a turnaround plan and now without taking the "resort" out of the place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel has old school charm filled with today's modern enjoyments such as a casino and bowling ally in the hotel. Fabulous and fun

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We did not know what to expect since we had heard it was under new management and completely renovated. It is all more beautiful than ever and the service is impecable. Food in all restaurants was excellent. The casino is beautiful if you are interested in that and touring the Bunker is very educational.

Room Tip: Try for the view out the front, its very pretty and its good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
1,198 helpful votes 1,198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Spent one night here and am now saving to return. Expernsive, but definitely worth it. Everything was outstanding, superlative, a one of a kind experience, enhanced by a service staff (from bellman, front desk, room service, servers, housekeeping, etc.) that went beyond the call of duty to deliver exceptional care.

From the loby to the indoor pool to my room, the decor clearly has the WOW factor. My room was unbelievable from the colorful wallpaper and matching drapery, plus a fancy bathroom, to the very comfy bed. Housekeeping and room service were unbelievably wonderful. (Make certain to watch the in-house videoes that provide the history of the place as there is a rich history - over half of all US presidents have been here.)

I enjoyed one meal in the Main Dining Room and did the Bunker Tour (refer to my separate reviews of each - both 5 star plus). The Bunker Tour is fascinating; and dining in the Main Dining Room is an experience you must have (wonderful food with great service in a stunning setting). Although famed for the golf course (I'm not a golfer), there were an abundance of other things to do from horseback riding (it looked like fun) to more adverturesome sports. I mostly walked the grounds (the landscaping was incredible) and absorbed the history of the place. Very relaxing and a different, peaceful, calming experience invoking the past. There are not enough positive adjectives to describe the Greenbrier, this place is just magical.

The new owner has clearly made a considerable investment a lot in upgrading and refreshing the facilities (without any garish modernization) while preserving the character of this place. I was concerned that the new casino would be as tacky as some of the Las Vegas and Atlantic casinos, but this casino was quiet, dignified and still enjoyable. The casino is not crowded, and the dealers are patient and helpful for the less experienced players.

All in all, not just good, but a unique and great experience. Elegant, opulent and extravagent (and not intimidating), but absolutely worth it. I hope to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.