We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality with something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
SW Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality with something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just spent two nights with another couple at The Greenbrier. The guys played golf and loved the course, the water and towels on the course and the attentive service. The girls shopped and enjoyed a morning at the SPA which was very nice. We also enjoyed the tour of the main building, learning the history of Dorothy Draper and her sense of color and pattern. The Bunker Tour is another highlight and gives great insight into the political scene of the 60-80's. Dinner at Sam Snead was wonderful with the recipe for the fresh peach soup provided.

Room Tip: Call and discuss your room desire with the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    381
    173
    74
    39
See reviews for
405
816
21
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

what a beautiful place! i booked a room using the 'tribute to virginians' special so was able to save some money. we wanted to go just to experience the place and weren't planning on spending much once we got there. the place has a LOT to offer though in the way of restaurants and entertainment. loved the evening tea time and just walking around the place. we took a great walk around the golfcourse and grounds, visited the shops, and ate our meals in town to save money. we got in a little late and had a very hard time finding a place to park, but didn't feel the need to do valet. the room was very cute and the turndown service thoughtful. be prepared to spend a lot of money, though we knew this going into it ...overall a wonderful resort with plenty to do.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

What can I say about the greenbrier that could be in any way a complaint....? It rained one evening.!!!
Other than that, it was superb, the restaurant (there are four) and the wines were excellent, the service discreet and very efficient, the public rooms were beautifully furnished and tasteful, the atmosphere so relaxed,
Bedrooms were spacious and very well-appointed, with large bathroom and a walk=in dressing room area.
Staff were attentive and very courteous and good at their jobs....with a smile always on their faces..
Set in hundreds of acres of the most scenic countryside with walks and horse-drawn carriage tours, golf courses, bowling lanes, a huge swimming and water complex and even an underground nuclear bomb complex, we did not have enough time in 5 days to even see it all, never mind use the facilities. The list of guests over the years makes interesting reading, from King Edward V111 and Mrs Simpson to the Kennedy's and most of the Hollywood legends.
And lets not mention the new and exclusive Casino, so relaxed and ....yes, we lost some cash.So let's not mention that!!!
As an international traveler over the past 40 years, this is THE BEST YET.... and it did not break the bank either.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I visited The Greenbrier in late December 2010, early January 2011. I went with my husband and my in-laws to celebrate New Years. It was wonderful. We stayed in a cabin, which was beautiful - super comfy bed, very quiet, tranquil. The location is beautiful. The food was awesome. There is a lot of shopping in the resort, but it was a little expensive. The casino is also very nice, and lots of different restaurants to choose from.
The New Year's Eve celebration was outstanding. Great food, wonderful atmosphere, overall - incredible.
I got a little bored while staying here - I wasn't interested in the outdoors activities and shopping got old after a while. But my husband, his dad, and his brothers loved all 4 days we were here.
Overall, beautiful and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Went here for a conference having never been before, so we didn't know what to expect. The room was a little less than anticipated, it could use a little TLC, but it was spacious and comfortable. The dining was great. We did Italian one night and catered the next. Meals were a bit pricey, but no more than anticipated and you did get quite a bit of food. The Breakfast Buffet was good, not great. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spotless resort with white glove service in every aspect - extremely comfortable cottages! Food options very pricey but absolutely delicious. Will definitelymreturn once we win the Powerball Lottery!

Room Tip: Go for the cottages unless with elderly family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I was here for a business conference and the hotel is spectacular. Rooms were nice. It was 100 degrees the night I was there and my room never truly cooled off but the hotel is old. Casino and shopping were really nice. I especially liked the infiniti pool overlooking the golf course. Service was impeccable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
18.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Quality Inn Covington
Quality Inn Covington
#3 of 5 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.