We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular New Year's Eve Celebration, Beautiful Resort, Incredible Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Greenbrier to your Saves list
The Greenbrier
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spectacular New Year's Eve Celebration, Beautiful Resort, Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I visited The Greenbrier in late December 2010, early January 2011. I went with my husband and my in-laws to celebrate New Years. It was wonderful. We stayed in a cabin, which was beautiful - super comfy bed, very quiet, tranquil. The location is beautiful. The food was awesome. There is a lot of shopping in the resort, but it was a little expensive. The casino is also very nice, and lots of different restaurants to choose from.
The New Year's Eve celebration was outstanding. Great food, wonderful atmosphere, overall - incredible.
I got a little bored while staying here - I wasn't interested in the outdoors activities and shopping got old after a while. But my husband, his dad, and his brothers loved all 4 days we were here.
Overall, beautiful and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    326
    139
    61
    33
See reviews for
340
674
17
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Went here for a conference having never been before, so we didn't know what to expect. The room was a little less than anticipated, it could use a little TLC, but it was spacious and comfortable. The dining was great. We did Italian one night and catered the next. Meals were a bit pricey, but no more than anticipated and you did get quite a bit of food. The Breakfast Buffet was good, not great. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spotless resort with white glove service in every aspect - extremely comfortable cottages! Food options very pricey but absolutely delicious. Will definitelymreturn once we win the Powerball Lottery!

Room Tip: Go for the cottages unless with elderly family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I was here for a business conference and the hotel is spectacular. Rooms were nice. It was 100 degrees the night I was there and my room never truly cooled off but the hotel is old. Casino and shopping were really nice. I especially liked the infiniti pool overlooking the golf course. Service was impeccable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I visited The Greenbrier this past spring. What a relaxing trip!! Had dinner at Prime 44 West and breakfast in the Main Dinning Room. The food was wonderful at both locations. The Bunker tour was a great learning experience. The casino was very nice. Be sure to see The Greenbrier Waltz held each night in the casino. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Greenbrier. The staff's service was extraordinary from the time we were greated at the car door until the moment we checked out. The doorman had been with them for over 50 years! Everyone was friendly and efficient. There were many activities to enjoy and great walking trails. We especially enjoyed the Bunker Tour--talk about history. We were lucky enough to have the resort's Historian give us a tour of the Resort and take us back in time. Room Service could use a little bit of work to get that to a five-star, but everything else was top notch.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash. DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed there for two nights in early June, first time there. Service & staff were excellent all round. Has a cottage ( Copeland Row ). Room was ok considering the price, pretty standard sort of room.
Lots of activities to keep most entertained although some come with a pricey fee. Grounds were well kept and beautiful. Hiking trails are good.
Tried to make dinner reservations at In Fusion one night and after several attemots to do so, found out it was closed but there was no public mention of it to the guests.
My personal observation...the Hotel askes for jackets, collared shirts, ties for some of its restaurants they claim are fine diniing with exceprional cuisine BUT they are in essence either a glorified burger joint or a not so great Italian restaurant. I think the expectation of the dress code does not match the actual restaurants they have and it felt a little odd having to wear a jacket in Drapers which in essence is really a burger/sandwich place.
The 'stuffy' dress code is dated and it should embrace a more casual approach to dining or then have a restaurant that is worthy of people getting dressed up for. Not to say that the food we had was bad, it just did not warrant the jacket/tie.
Clientelle appeared to be primarily older, white and conservative which may not augur well for any updates in the culinary arena.
Having also staye din Nemacolin in PA, which is similar, Greenbrier has more to do and has history and fame on its side, but Nemacolin has the culinary side of the comparison well ahead. They have more modern restaurants and a slightly younger more dynamic vibe to it.
Went for the Bunker tour which was excellent.
Overall a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.