We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Wheeling to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   908 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Cortland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We were watching my son play basketball at Bethany College about 25 minutes from Wheeling and took he and his girlfriend out to eat at TJ's Sportsbar in Wheeling. We stayed one night at the SpringHill Suites. We were so impressed with the nice staff and the beautiful room. The decor and comfort was very very nice. We got up and had the breakfast which was a nice little spread too, You could even make your own waffles from waffle iron if you wish. Overall I would stay there again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    69
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
57
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Thought we would give it a try even though, we have routinely stayed at Hampton Inn, 1 mile down the road. Had to change rooms immediately, they claim no pets allowed but, short wirey hairs found. ? sweeper had really been ran in that room. Room didn't look clean at all. Had to get new keys twice due to not working. "Two room suites" is a bit of a stretch but, they did have a mini refrigerator and microwave in the rooms. Rooms are more quite than most hotel rooms and the complimentary breakfast is free for a reason--fair at best. When you check out and they say, how was your stay? They really don't want to know. My husband said fair and told them about the cleanliness, room key inconveniences, etc. --they were like, oh, sorry.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Food is the worst, Powdered eggs, bacon so hard you cant eat it and staff is so slow they cant keep up with even a few individuals that dare to eat the food.

Rooms are dirty, toilet especially, shower stall rack falling down, loose cable on tv.

Over charge any acounts that you use and they dont tell ya about it. so if you run close in your acounts it will most likely bounce something.

Pool was so strong it burned your eyes walking into the room.

No parking at night. If you want to park come early just to get a spot.

Hill up to this place is steep and they dont clear it when its bad out also.

I stay in marriotts all the time and this has been the worst for sure.

  • Liked — At least the internet worked
  • Disliked — Overcharging securities and the filth in the rooms.
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Back from a three night stay at the Spring Hill Suites in Wheeling, WV. Great location, convenient to Ogelbay Resort and several areas of Wheeling/Triadelphia. Stayed in a king room, 3 adults for 3 nights. Sofa bed was a bit uncomfortable (most are) but king bed was very comfortable with several pillow choices. Room is nicely decorated and space functions well. A little cramped for space with the sofa bed in use but we managed. Room was clean and everything was in great condition. Fridge/microwave clean as a whistle. Staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. Nice fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Above average breakfast selection. Comfortable sitting area in lobby/breakfast room with small business center. Also had good internet access in room. This is our favorite hotel when in the Wheeling area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is a nice, very modern and new hotel. The rooms are a good size with decently comfortable beds and nice large flat screen TVs. Bathrooms were large and clean with seperate sink/mirror area which was appreciated.

There were plenty of in-room amenities, from fridge to microwave to Ipod dock-alarm clock. Its the kind of thing I'm used to seeing in $300+ rooms in larger cities. This room was $160. As nice as it was, if you are there to go to the Casino via the shuttle, make sure to call and confirm it is working.

Our bachelor party crew ran into some very bad luck, as both the hotel's and casino's shuttles were out of service. This lead to us using cabs, which wouldn't be a problem except that there is less than ten (10) cabs in the city, and the most we ever saw in one place were 3, and we knew all the drivers within our first few hours of arriving.

The good news is that the ride from SpringHill to the casino is only $5.20, but the 30 - 60 minute wait on the cabs that are still in service made for a very interrupted night out in Wheeling.

So no shuttle really hurt our trip, but the hotel itself is a great success.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

The staff was friendly. The room clean. Free breakfast and WIFI. A very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed for the night, and it's a nice, clean hotel with comfortable beds. Also, very quiet. Nice location on a hill. The breakfast is typical free breakfast, but it is free! Would stay here again if I am in the area.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Address: 908 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Wheeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.