We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Wheeling to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   908 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New River Gorge, WV
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Friends and I visited Wheeling and stayed here overnight. The staff was very friendly, the suite room gave us plenty of room, and very clean, great location. Free hot breakfast was included but we wanted to go to Panera for breakfast. I normally bid for hotels through Priceline and was unsuccessful in Wheeling, so decided on this suite hotel so we could just get one room. Paid pretty expensive rate for Wheeling, WV.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    75
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
57
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel about a dozen times while visiting family in the area. Wheeling is short on hotels and aside from Ogelbay resort ($$$), it is probably the best bet going (though I've heard the Hampton has been renovated and is nice).

The price is a little high for what you get, probably because Wheeling doesn't have a lot of hotels. However, the rooms are always clean, the kids love the pool, and the breakfast has gotten a little better - now with scrambled eggs and bacon rather than those fake "egg patties" hotels of this class often serve. Also, the views of Wheeling College from some of the rooms are nice.

The hotel sits way up on a hill (a consideration in winter) but the location is good. It is near a Sheetz, Kroger, and CVS for the essentials. It is near I-70 and Oglebay, about midway between downtown and Elm Grove.

My only real complaint was during one stay (when our younger son was an infant) we were put across the hall from a bachelor party and the hotel staff would do nothing to quiet the noise which went on until about 4 am. That was a rough night and they did give us a huge discount, but I would've rather had a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Consistently good experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We loved it here, it is a short drive to the casino and the free breakfast is great in the morning. The rooms have a wet bar and a couch, great for relaxing before heading to the casino. Great weekend rates when the casino is sold out. Don't forget to bring your swim suit for the hot tub and pool!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, Fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We travel to Wheeling every year to attend the Heritage Blues Festival. For the last three years we've stayed at Springhill. It's clean, modern, spacious rooms and best of all, the staff is about the friendliest, most helpful staff I've come across at a hotel. We love staying there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great clean new rooms. Good front desk service. All amenities. Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stay in wheeling one weekend each July and we stay at the same hotel each year, except this year our normal hotel was booked! But, based on the trip advisor reviews I booked a room at springhill and was not disappointed! Hotel is super easy to get to from route 70 and is surrounded by several restaurants, pharmancys and gas stations. The hotel is brand new and very nice! We traveled with 3 children and 2 adults and the room had ample space for a hotel room. The pull out sofa was perfect for our 3 year old and the boys shared one of the two queen beds. Comfotable beds, lots of pillows, nice mini fridge/sink area. I pool needs some attention, the cholrine smell is unbearable, my kids were asking to leave within 10 minutes of getting to the pool because they were getting sick from the smell. The breakfast is good, however it also needs some work-they ran out of meat by 8:30, we waited 20 minutes for eggs, ect... but the nice lady there was trying really hard, she was just overwhelmed. We slept in late the 2nd day and missed checkout and the front desk folks were super nice about it. It's a new hotel so hopefully the few problems that they have they will be able to correct. But, the pros deffenetly outweight the cons! Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Friendship, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stay here often and would recommend hotel to families.
Clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good. The lady that runs breakfast is one of the most friendly people you will meet and so helpful.

Pool needs attention. High chlorine smell almost to the point of making you feel sick.

Stay here when you go to wheeling.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Address: 908 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Wheeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.