We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was very clean and comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Save Saved
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“The hotel was very clean and comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I would recommend staying at the hotel if you are visiting Wheeling. The beds are very comfortable. It was a restful nights sleep The casino is clean and the buffet is excellent. They will be renovating the hotel rooms this month.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    92
    27
    14
    16
See reviews for
56
114
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckeye Lake, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We had a nice time at Wheeling Casino. The staff we encountered were pleasant and very helpful. Ate at the buffet it was good. We will more than likely make another trip there some day. Wasn't to far to travel for a day of fun.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stopped by while in Wheeling. Nothing special. Not as nice as some other casinos we have visited. Had brunch at the buffet. Should have chosen another dining option. Quality and variety was not worth the price paid.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Nice person and waited on us very quickly. Would have her for our bartender all the time. A lot of times when we go there you have to wait forever to get waited on.She keeps the bar area very clean all the time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashport, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Very pleased with how clean and up to date the hotel is.
Casino was fun and I felt very safe here. Staff is wonderful, but I would not recommend the Buffet, Food was not very good and for the price there is not much of a selection. I love coming to this Casino, but I will skip the Buffet.

Room Tip: Fourth Floor very Comfortable, Good Lighting, felt very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hibbs, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Had an ok time. Staff was friendly and helpful. Slots were not very profitable at all. Left quite a few dollars there! Bathrooms not the cleanest and buffet pricey . Friend had a free room, which was nice. Really wouldn't travel there for any other reason.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Had fun and the food was good. Did not do well at the slot machines, but i did enjoy myself watching and looking at all the things Wheeling Island had to offer. I plan on making a return trip soon......

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.