We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Nashport, Ohio
1 review
“Great place to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Very pleased with how clean and up to date the hotel is.
Casino was fun and I felt very safe here. Staff is wonderful, but I would not recommend the Buffet, Food was not very good and for the price there is not much of a selection. I love coming to this Casino, but I will skip the Buffet.

Room Tip: Fourth Floor very Comfortable, Good Lighting, felt very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    194
    41
    14
    14
See reviews for
130
223
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hibbs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Had an ok time. Staff was friendly and helpful. Slots were not very profitable at all. Left quite a few dollars there! Bathrooms not the cleanest and buffet pricey . Friend had a free room, which was nice. Really wouldn't travel there for any other reason.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Had fun and the food was good. Did not do well at the slot machines, but i did enjoy myself watching and looking at all the things Wheeling Island had to offer. I plan on making a return trip soon......

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The rooms and staff were extremely nice and people courteous and friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean and had nice amenities. Residential area surrounding the hotel was somewhat rundown and kind of sad, but we also walked over the suspension bridge into town and visited a few sights during the day. Everyone was very friendly. Wish they offered cruises on the river. (Or if they did, we weren't made aware of it). Variety of ages of guests, and the entertainment in the lounge areas was good. We enjoyed the buffet (especially the Friday seafood buffet).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberling City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We always have a good time when we go to Wheeling Island Casino. Everyone is so pleasant and helpful. Love the slot machines. Drinks are always free in the high limit room. It is never too crowded, you can always find a machine to play. Bells are always going off, someone is winning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms were pretty nice, except no tv remote. Employees were all friendly and helpful. Check in should be located downstairs, away from the casino, just because it would be easier with bringing in luggage. Love the casino although they need some updated slot machines. Buffet quality leaves something to be desired for the price. Love the soft drink self-service! Overall great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was our first visit. The area the casino is located in is kind of seedy but the facilities were beautiful. The slots paid well and had a good selection. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel rooms were obviously they don't switch out the creamers often because they separated in my coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.6 mi away
The McLure Hotel
The McLure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Wheeling
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeling/Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.