We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Save
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The rooms and staff were extremely nice and people courteous and friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean and had nice amenities. Residential area surrounding the hotel was somewhat rundown and kind of sad, but we also walked over the suspension bridge into town and visited a few sights during the day. Everyone was very friendly. Wish they offered cruises on the river. (Or if they did, we weren't made aware of it). Variety of ages of guests, and the entertainment in the lounge areas was good. We enjoyed the buffet (especially the Friday seafood buffet).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    113
    29
    14
    16
See reviews for
67
123
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kimberling City, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We always have a good time when we go to Wheeling Island Casino. Everyone is so pleasant and helpful. Love the slot machines. Drinks are always free in the high limit room. It is never too crowded, you can always find a machine to play. Bells are always going off, someone is winning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms were pretty nice, except no tv remote. Employees were all friendly and helpful. Check in should be located downstairs, away from the casino, just because it would be easier with bringing in luggage. Love the casino although they need some updated slot machines. Buffet quality leaves something to be desired for the price. Love the soft drink self-service! Overall great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit. The area the casino is located in is kind of seedy but the facilities were beautiful. The slots paid well and had a good selection. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel rooms were obviously they don't switch out the creamers often because they separated in my coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Drove down from Pittsburgh...checked right in (no line at check in counter!) nice big room comfortable beds (as always). played a few slots then headed for the buffet.
Had a good meal with a large selection of food. Played some more then went up to the room for a restful evening.
Had the breakfast buffet in the AM they have a nice custom omelette station and you can cook your own waffles..too much breakfast!!
Lost some more money then used in room check out to close out the stay.
We will be back!!
Nice trip as always

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The service is great and the facility is very clean. We especially enjoy dining at the players buffet. One of the Best around this area. Large selection of slots and a nice area for table games. Soft drink self service areas are clean and well placed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had a very clean and room with a wonderful view . Easy access to the elevators and the casino. Overall it was a very happy and enjoyable visit.Would love to be able to visit it more often.
Great people that are very courteous and friendly.The casino has come along way from when we first went there.All the improvments have really made it a beautiful place to go to for a fun and good way to relieve some stress.

Room Tip: I don't think you wouldn't have a bad room in the hotel.The one we had was lovely and decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.