We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Save
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Ohio
1 review
“Birthday visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms were pretty nice, except no tv remote. Employees were all friendly and helpful. Check in should be located downstairs, away from the casino, just because it would be easier with bringing in luggage. Love the casino although they need some updated slot machines. Buffet quality leaves something to be desired for the price. Love the soft drink self-service! Overall great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    114
    29
    14
    16
See reviews for
67
124
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit. The area the casino is located in is kind of seedy but the facilities were beautiful. The slots paid well and had a good selection. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel rooms were obviously they don't switch out the creamers often because they separated in my coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Drove down from Pittsburgh...checked right in (no line at check in counter!) nice big room comfortable beds (as always). played a few slots then headed for the buffet.
Had a good meal with a large selection of food. Played some more then went up to the room for a restful evening.
Had the breakfast buffet in the AM they have a nice custom omelette station and you can cook your own waffles..too much breakfast!!
Lost some more money then used in room check out to close out the stay.
We will be back!!
Nice trip as always

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The service is great and the facility is very clean. We especially enjoy dining at the players buffet. One of the Best around this area. Large selection of slots and a nice area for table games. Soft drink self service areas are clean and well placed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had a very clean and room with a wonderful view . Easy access to the elevators and the casino. Overall it was a very happy and enjoyable visit.Would love to be able to visit it more often.
Great people that are very courteous and friendly.The casino has come along way from when we first went there.All the improvments have really made it a beautiful place to go to for a fun and good way to relieve some stress.

Room Tip: I don't think you wouldn't have a bad room in the hotel.The one we had was lovely and decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Took the bus from Columbus,oh. Always a good time,good food at the buffet,and the slots I most enjoy! All employees were attentive and professional. Keep up the good work.
Did not stay at the hotel, but hope to someday.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Had a couple of minor issues and they were handled quickly and efficiently. Sad to see the Grilligan's Island name gone, not as quaint as it used to be in the buffet but no complaints about the food to be sure. Questions and issues get answered promptly and my only disappointment was showing up too late for the dog races. As soon as we can go back, we'll be there.

Room Tip: Book your Jacuzzi room in advance, but not when we're coming down, we want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.