We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
marietta, ohio
1 review
“fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

great place to visit, a lot of area attractions two other casinos within an hours drive, golf course, and shopping within an hours drive plenty of fine restaurant's too. all nestled between Ohio and West Virginia

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    64
    23
    14
    16
See reviews for
43
80
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelsonville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had so much fun! The people were great I loved the variety of slot's. The Buffet was a culinary delight and the rooms are beautiful! We also enjoyed a show in their showroom and had so much fun! We are planning a trip back in the fall!

Room Tip: They were booked so we had to take a smoking room. They held our bags after we checked in ( we playe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Love this Casino... The Staff is always friendly, The entertainment was awesome and I actually left a winner! The place is always very clean and It is so convenient to be able to have a room ,,,,
the rooms are very nice!

Room Tip: King Corner Rooms or the Suites are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lore City, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

i enjoy playing at wheeling casino but winning is always a better trip home. it was a very long ride home last nite. casino is very clean and its nice to get free soda or coffee when you like. i will be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent show for the value. Nice clean rooms. Could use a few more newer slots. Plenty of selections at the buffet. Had a great steak at the steakhouse. Nice band that played during the night hours. Free soda and coffee set up in convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great get-a-way for a day or two. The greyhound racing is very exciting and the payoffs are more than fair. The staff in the racing area are very polite and lets you know that your business is appreciated. The casino is fair and offers a variety of slots and table games. I highly recommend Wheeling Casino and Racing. Even though we have Hollywood Casino in Columbus, I prefer to travel two hours to Wheeling.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Atmosphere is beautiful here ! Lots of slots to play. Buffet was great ! We enjoyed ourselves ! We enjoyed the bands that were there ! If your looking for a place to get away and have some fun, this is a great place to go !

Room Tip: We like the double beds in the room. , they come in handy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list