We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing recent visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Save
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disapointing recent visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Was at the Casino/Hotel on March 15, 2014, for our groups annual St Patrick's day weekend "bash" at the dog track. The first thing to go wrong was the check-in at the hotel, the online reservation system screwed up my reservation, as well as my companions, it reversed the guest name with the reservation holder's, had to go find my guest in the casino and have THEM check in, because my name was now omitted from it, lost a lot of time with that, Secondly, the quality and selection of food at the buffet was below par, several commonly available items usually there were not provided, notably shrimp scampi and lasagna !! The seating was VERY SLOW at the buffet as well, MANY open seats available with a LONG line.....

Room Tip: Do NOT use the online reservation system, it is very flawed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    106
    29
    14
    16
See reviews for
64
120
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Not sure the quality of this place would be worth visiting. I have emailed them questions on their website 3 times over a span of a month already with no response . The questions were simple questions regarding table games. In addition to this I have called the general casino line and it took 30 minutes to reach someone. After I told them I wanted table games I was sent to an extension that kept ringing and ringing with no attendant. I'm pretty sure if I ever visited this casino it would be filled with non-functioning slot machines and empty tables. Might take my money and check out the Meadows instead.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have been gambling at Wheeling for years. So glad they have such a nice hotel. It makes the trip fun. We come right off the elevator and are ready to gamble. No worry about driving or what the is doing weather (snow). We can hop on the elevator and go back to our room for a break. Rooms are always clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Dining options could be better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed Monday February 24. Our check in was quick & easy. We forgot our dinner coupons but were printed new ones without ado. The rooms were spacious, decorated in a tropical decor. The beds were comfortable with many types of pillows adorning the bed.
The internet was easy. Merely choose a from two wireless connections & you're connected. No complicated codes to enter, plus no fees associated with the internet.
The bathroom was comfortable but only two bath towels. For four people, we had to get additional towels. The sink drained slowly.
There was a Keurig coffee maker with 4 K cups. Being familiar with these coffe makes, we had no problem getting our coffee made in the morning.
The heater made an annoying noise. We shut it off and slept comfortably through the night without the room temperature changing.
Overall, the room was well worth the price.
Our buffet dinner was fine with quick table service, and refills of drinks.
The staff in the casino are always friendly & pleasant.
Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Export, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

my husband and I had our usual fun on day 1 of our stay. we noticed the new Keurig in our room; very nice! next A.M. coffeemaker would not brew.Supervisor came and got it going,we got 1 cup ,then same problem.called office again and was told housekeeper would be up in 5 to 10 mins. as Keurig is in bathroom we waited to shower etc. P.S. I am needing my usual caffeine.waited 30 mins.,no show,so we checked out and ate breakfast elsewhere.we also miss our favorite restaurant,The Castaway that's no longer there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Wheeling Island is one of my favorite casinos. You can always find $5 tables. The staff is friendly, the rooms in the hotel are nice and I've been pretty lucky gambling there.

Pros
1. The hotel accommodations are very nice. We've stayed there 3 times and always were impressed. We usually get the stay and play package. The rooms are large. The beds are comfortable and it's always clean. Our only problem is that sometimes when we want to stay they have been all booked up. When that happens we always stay at the Springhill Suites in Wheeling (which is actually even nicer).

2. Cheap $5 dollar tables. This makes it worth driving from Columbus for.

3. Betting on the greyhounds races is a fun and can be an inexpensive diversion. It's a great way to make your bankroll last if you weren't that lucky in the casino.

4. The food at the buffet and even the food court is pretty good. We ate at the buffet for breakfast and the custom made omelet station was awesome.

Cons
1. It is a smoking casino. It can get pretty bad if you have smokers all around you at the blackjack table.

2. It is pretty far to drive. It's about 2 1/2 hours (over 125 miles) from Columbus.

3. The casino is on the small side. There are plenty of slots to play, but finding a seat at one of the table games can be difficult sometimes.

Overall I'll keep coming back because the tables are cheap and for whatever reason I win here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistersville, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

By far wheeling is my favorite casino on the east coast. It feels homey and the rooms when we do stay the night are very clean and sometimes we get bumped up to a suite. Ted is great as a host! The steak house leaves a little to be desired but I hear they are going to vamp it up. The buffet is always good and they have a little food court that serves GREAT food almost all night.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time. They are the best hotel around and if there is an event in wheeling they book up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.