We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Save
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed Monday February 24. Our check in was quick & easy. We forgot our dinner coupons but were printed new ones without ado. The rooms were spacious, decorated in a tropical decor. The beds were comfortable with many types of pillows adorning the bed.
The internet was easy. Merely choose a from two wireless connections & you're connected. No complicated codes to enter, plus no fees associated with the internet.
The bathroom was comfortable but only two bath towels. For four people, we had to get additional towels. The sink drained slowly.
There was a Keurig coffee maker with 4 K cups. Being familiar with these coffe makes, we had no problem getting our coffee made in the morning.
The heater made an annoying noise. We shut it off and slept comfortably through the night without the room temperature changing.
Overall, the room was well worth the price.
Our buffet dinner was fine with quick table service, and refills of drinks.
The staff in the casino are always friendly & pleasant.
Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    115
    30
    14
    16
See reviews for
67
128
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Export, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

my husband and I had our usual fun on day 1 of our stay. we noticed the new Keurig in our room; very nice! next A.M. coffeemaker would not brew.Supervisor came and got it going,we got 1 cup ,then same problem.called office again and was told housekeeper would be up in 5 to 10 mins. as Keurig is in bathroom we waited to shower etc. P.S. I am needing my usual caffeine.waited 30 mins.,no show,so we checked out and ate breakfast elsewhere.we also miss our favorite restaurant,The Castaway that's no longer there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Wheeling Island is one of my favorite casinos. You can always find $5 tables. The staff is friendly, the rooms in the hotel are nice and I've been pretty lucky gambling there.

Pros
1. The hotel accommodations are very nice. We've stayed there 3 times and always were impressed. We usually get the stay and play package. The rooms are large. The beds are comfortable and it's always clean. Our only problem is that sometimes when we want to stay they have been all booked up. When that happens we always stay at the Springhill Suites in Wheeling (which is actually even nicer).

2. Cheap $5 dollar tables. This makes it worth driving from Columbus for.

3. Betting on the greyhounds races is a fun and can be an inexpensive diversion. It's a great way to make your bankroll last if you weren't that lucky in the casino.

4. The food at the buffet and even the food court is pretty good. We ate at the buffet for breakfast and the custom made omelet station was awesome.

Cons
1. It is a smoking casino. It can get pretty bad if you have smokers all around you at the blackjack table.

2. It is pretty far to drive. It's about 2 1/2 hours (over 125 miles) from Columbus.

3. The casino is on the small side. There are plenty of slots to play, but finding a seat at one of the table games can be difficult sometimes.

Overall I'll keep coming back because the tables are cheap and for whatever reason I win here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistersville, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

By far wheeling is my favorite casino on the east coast. It feels homey and the rooms when we do stay the night are very clean and sometimes we get bumped up to a suite. Ted is great as a host! The steak house leaves a little to be desired but I hear they are going to vamp it up. The buffet is always good and they have a little food court that serves GREAT food almost all night.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time. They are the best hotel around and if there is an event in wheeling they book up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stay here a couple times per year on business. The rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is huge and runs about $10. Pretty much everything you can imagine is on it, buffet style. If you stay, do the stay and play packages were you get money each day to spend in the casino. Restaurant in the evening for dinner is very expensive, but well worth the money. I have tried almost everything on the menu and have always been delighted with the quality and portion size.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I don't typically leave reviews but I felt compelled to on this one. We checked into the hotel on a Saturday afternoon and didn't realize until Sunday that my iPad mini had gone missing. The helpful staff (thanks to a good Samaritan turning it in) had secured my iPad and located it on Sunday morning.

The casino itself is a little dated, but that adds character to it. The dog racing was entertaining and the rooms were large. The clientele is very local, so don't expect it to be like Rivers or even The Meadows. All in all for $145 with a $25 slots voucher, it is a decent deal. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here in December and was very pleased with the quality of the hotel and the rooms. I especially liked the cleanliness of the rooms. If you want to do any shopping, the Ohio Valley Mall is only 10 minutes west of here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.