We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to gamble and stay overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Save
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to gamble and stay overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Wheeling Island is one of my favorite casinos. You can always find $5 tables. The staff is friendly, the rooms in the hotel are nice and I've been pretty lucky gambling there.

Pros
1. The hotel accommodations are very nice. We've stayed there 3 times and always were impressed. We usually get the stay and play package. The rooms are large. The beds are comfortable and it's always clean. Our only problem is that sometimes when we want to stay they have been all booked up. When that happens we always stay at the Springhill Suites in Wheeling (which is actually even nicer).

2. Cheap $5 dollar tables. This makes it worth driving from Columbus for.

3. Betting on the greyhounds races is a fun and can be an inexpensive diversion. It's a great way to make your bankroll last if you weren't that lucky in the casino.

4. The food at the buffet and even the food court is pretty good. We ate at the buffet for breakfast and the custom made omelet station was awesome.

Cons
1. It is a smoking casino. It can get pretty bad if you have smokers all around you at the blackjack table.

2. It is pretty far to drive. It's about 2 1/2 hours (over 125 miles) from Columbus.

3. The casino is on the small side. There are plenty of slots to play, but finding a seat at one of the table games can be difficult sometimes.

Overall I'll keep coming back because the tables are cheap and for whatever reason I win here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    153
    36
    14
    14
See reviews for
83
170
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sistersville, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

By far wheeling is my favorite casino on the east coast. It feels homey and the rooms when we do stay the night are very clean and sometimes we get bumped up to a suite. Ted is great as a host! The steak house leaves a little to be desired but I hear they are going to vamp it up. The buffet is always good and they have a little food court that serves GREAT food almost all night.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time. They are the best hotel around and if there is an event in wheeling they book up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stay here a couple times per year on business. The rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is huge and runs about $10. Pretty much everything you can imagine is on it, buffet style. If you stay, do the stay and play packages were you get money each day to spend in the casino. Restaurant in the evening for dinner is very expensive, but well worth the money. I have tried almost everything on the menu and have always been delighted with the quality and portion size.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I don't typically leave reviews but I felt compelled to on this one. We checked into the hotel on a Saturday afternoon and didn't realize until Sunday that my iPad mini had gone missing. The helpful staff (thanks to a good Samaritan turning it in) had secured my iPad and located it on Sunday morning.

The casino itself is a little dated, but that adds character to it. The dog racing was entertaining and the rooms were large. The clientele is very local, so don't expect it to be like Rivers or even The Meadows. All in all for $145 with a $25 slots voucher, it is a decent deal. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here in December and was very pleased with the quality of the hotel and the rooms. I especially liked the cleanliness of the rooms. If you want to do any shopping, the Ohio Valley Mall is only 10 minutes west of here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

On a recent trip to Ohio we stayed and played at Wheeling Casino. It was was a nice hotel, no fridge or microwave though, bummer! Room was tremendous and with a California king bed, just yummy! As for the casino, well, the slots are extra tight and unless your playing 5$ slots you must pay for your drinks. Thats outrageous! Beers at 3.50 while pumping money in their machines! We play at Atlantic City and all over the northeast very often. We stay free, drink free and gamble all night on a couple of hundred bucks each and they feed us free too. Sometimes we even win a couple of grand. After going through our combined 400 bucks in an hour and spending $27 on beers with good tips of coarse, we retired to a great room. $114 was our rate. Thinking of the total cash outlay that night while we were traveling in the opposite direction going home, I called for a room on Saturday 11/30. $ 149 / 3.50 beers, no comps, and tight machines..... No Thanks. We won't be stopping again, ever! I took the time to share this with the casino hotel staff on the phone, most likely to no avail but I feel better anyway. Enjoy your gambling dollars people but not at Wheeling Island. Oh, and remember "Poker money knows no home" a great quote from an unknown author.

Room Tip: I think my review says it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. very nice bath. the hotel has no real amenities but I suppose they really want to gamble. The staff excel at their jobs and are super friendly and helpful. The rooms have no fridge and the my view was of a parking lot but it is a nice place with very friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.