We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to play” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Save Saved
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
Sistersville, West Virginia
1 review
“Great place to play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

By far wheeling is my favorite casino on the east coast. It feels homey and the rooms when we do stay the night are very clean and sometimes we get bumped up to a suite. Ted is great as a host! The steak house leaves a little to be desired but I hear they are going to vamp it up. The buffet is always good and they have a little food court that serves GREAT food almost all night.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time. They are the best hotel around and if there is an event in wheeling they book up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    73
    23
    14
    16
See reviews for
45
89
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stay here a couple times per year on business. The rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is huge and runs about $10. Pretty much everything you can imagine is on it, buffet style. If you stay, do the stay and play packages were you get money each day to spend in the casino. Restaurant in the evening for dinner is very expensive, but well worth the money. I have tried almost everything on the menu and have always been delighted with the quality and portion size.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I don't typically leave reviews but I felt compelled to on this one. We checked into the hotel on a Saturday afternoon and didn't realize until Sunday that my iPad mini had gone missing. The helpful staff (thanks to a good Samaritan turning it in) had secured my iPad and located it on Sunday morning.

The casino itself is a little dated, but that adds character to it. The dog racing was entertaining and the rooms were large. The clientele is very local, so don't expect it to be like Rivers or even The Meadows. All in all for $145 with a $25 slots voucher, it is a decent deal. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here in December and was very pleased with the quality of the hotel and the rooms. I especially liked the cleanliness of the rooms. If you want to do any shopping, the Ohio Valley Mall is only 10 minutes west of here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

On a recent trip to Ohio we stayed and played at Wheeling Casino. It was was a nice hotel, no fridge or microwave though, bummer! Room was tremendous and with a California king bed, just yummy! As for the casino, well, the slots are extra tight and unless your playing 5$ slots you must pay for your drinks. Thats outrageous! Beers at 3.50 while pumping money in their machines! We play at Atlantic City and all over the northeast very often. We stay free, drink free and gamble all night on a couple of hundred bucks each and they feed us free too. Sometimes we even win a couple of grand. After going through our combined 400 bucks in an hour and spending $27 on beers with good tips of coarse, we retired to a great room. $114 was our rate. Thinking of the total cash outlay that night while we were traveling in the opposite direction going home, I called for a room on Saturday 11/30. $ 149 / 3.50 beers, no comps, and tight machines..... No Thanks. We won't be stopping again, ever! I took the time to share this with the casino hotel staff on the phone, most likely to no avail but I feel better anyway. Enjoy your gambling dollars people but not at Wheeling Island. Oh, and remember "Poker money knows no home" a great quote from an unknown author.

Room Tip: I think my review says it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. very nice bath. the hotel has no real amenities but I suppose they really want to gamble. The staff excel at their jobs and are super friendly and helpful. The rooms have no fridge and the my view was of a parking lot but it is a nice place with very friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Rooms clean, bathrooms modern. Non smoking rooms on higher floors, smoking rooms on lower floors. Smoke rises folks...hello! 49.00 room rate can't complain. However was lured under false pretense. Brochure stayed 10.00 free cascino play no coupon needed. Was not available.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.