We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stay here a couple times per year on business. The rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is huge and runs about $10. Pretty much everything you can imagine is on it, buffet style. If you stay, do the stay and play packages were you get money each day to spend in the casino. Restaurant in the evening for dinner is very expensive, but well worth the money. I have tried almost everything on the menu and have always been delighted with the quality and portion size.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheScientist1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I don't typically leave reviews but I felt compelled to on this one. We checked into the hotel on a Saturday afternoon and didn't realize until Sunday that my iPad mini had gone missing. The helpful staff (thanks to a good Samaritan turning it in) had secured my iPad and located it on Sunday morning.

The casino itself is a little dated, but that adds character to it. The dog racing was entertaining and the rooms were large. The clientele is very local, so don't expect it to be like Rivers or even The Meadows. All in all for $145 with a $25 slots voucher, it is a decent deal. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here in December and was very pleased with the quality of the hotel and the rooms. I especially liked the cleanliness of the rooms. If you want to do any shopping, the Ohio Valley Mall is only 10 minutes west of here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

On a recent trip to Ohio we stayed and played at Wheeling Casino. It was was a nice hotel, no fridge or microwave though, bummer! Room was tremendous and with a California king bed, just yummy! As for the casino, well, the slots are extra tight and unless your playing 5$ slots you must pay for your drinks. Thats outrageous! Beers at 3.50 while pumping money in their machines! We play at Atlantic City and all over the northeast very often. We stay free, drink free and gamble all night on a couple of hundred bucks each and they feed us free too. Sometimes we even win a couple of grand. After going through our combined 400 bucks in an hour and spending $27 on beers with good tips of coarse, we retired to a great room. $114 was our rate. Thinking of the total cash outlay that night while we were traveling in the opposite direction going home, I called for a room on Saturday 11/30. $ 149 / 3.50 beers, no comps, and tight machines..... No Thanks. We won't be stopping again, ever! I took the time to share this with the casino hotel staff on the phone, most likely to no avail but I feel better anyway. Enjoy your gambling dollars people but not at Wheeling Island. Oh, and remember "Poker money knows no home" a great quote from an unknown author.

Room Tip: I think my review says it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. very nice bath. the hotel has no real amenities but I suppose they really want to gamble. The staff excel at their jobs and are super friendly and helpful. The rooms have no fridge and the my view was of a parking lot but it is a nice place with very friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strohs9754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean, bathrooms modern. Non smoking rooms on higher floors, smoking rooms on lower floors. Smoke rises folks...hello! 49.00 room rate can't complain. However was lured under false pretense. Brochure stayed 10.00 free cascino play no coupon needed. Was not available.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tsikalas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First time stay at Wheeling Island hotel, and last minute decision. After their website said "No Vacancies" we decided to call the hotel direct. They did have openings and we enjoyed our stay. Check-in smooth, over-sized, clean room. All personnel pleasant and helpful. true..not much else to do, but we were there to gamble, have a little fun, and rest before the long drive home. Ate dinner and breakfast at the Buffet. both were good.

Room Tip: Suggest calling the Hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chendabrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.8 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The McLure Hotel
The McLure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Wheeling
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeling/Highlands
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. So, plan your getaway at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing