We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Save
You added Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack to your Saves list
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Gallipolis, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. very nice bath. the hotel has no real amenities but I suppose they really want to gamble. The staff excel at their jobs and are super friendly and helpful. The rooms have no fridge and the my view was of a parking lot but it is a nice place with very friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    114
    29
    14
    16
See reviews for
67
124
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Rooms clean, bathrooms modern. Non smoking rooms on higher floors, smoking rooms on lower floors. Smoke rises folks...hello! 49.00 room rate can't complain. However was lured under false pretense. Brochure stayed 10.00 free cascino play no coupon needed. Was not available.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First time stay at Wheeling Island hotel, and last minute decision. After their website said "No Vacancies" we decided to call the hotel direct. They did have openings and we enjoyed our stay. Check-in smooth, over-sized, clean room. All personnel pleasant and helpful. true..not much else to do, but we were there to gamble, have a little fun, and rest before the long drive home. Ate dinner and breakfast at the Buffet. both were good.

Room Tip: Suggest calling the Hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

nice clean hotel with good rates and helpful personnel however there is absolutely nothing else to do there..no pool ..work out or game rooms... however that should be fine if you know that ahead of time

Room Tip: buffet was good ...would eat there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The gaming and dog race attractions were top notch, and the rooms quite nice, but the attitude of this one employee made us never want to go back there again...His name was Alex, and he was a snippy , rude man who has no business dealing with the general public at all...Acted like he owned the place,and like he was too good for associating with us "Normal" folk....If you go there, avoid this arrogant S.O B if you can.....Sorry, but i just HAD to complain about this...we would have had a good experience if it weren't for this man...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were on our way (with another couple) from NYC to St. Louis and decided to make this our first overnight stop. If you can get beyond the cigarette smoke, it was a great decision. The non-smoking area is small and not smoke free. As new players to this casino, we got a free play with a bonus play. Our rooms were "smoke free", very clean and well maintained. It was also a Sunday night stay, so we got a nice rate on the room as well. The people that work here couldn't be nicer. If in the area, we would definitely stay there again. We were just sorry we weren't in time to catch the Greyhound races.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Some background info, my husband & I live in Columbus but with family in Pittsburgh we go to wheeling often ,every 6-8weeks sometimes staying overnight sometimes just stopping to play for a few hours. Thursday night 9/19/13 was one of the nights we stayed overnight & it happened to be the night of 100 winners, my name was called & I won $ 50 which they said would be on my players card in about 20 minutes, no problem... We were tired & decided to go to our room ( it was about 10:00 pm ) go down to the casino in the morning to play my $ 50 winnings but, it wasn't on my card, proceeded to front desk/ players club only to find out that if you win money but don't use it by 5:59 am they take it back off of your card. I was never informed of this when I claimed my winnings& one of the front desk employees proudly told me the same thing happened to someone else who actually had to leave the casino for a family emergency... She had her winnings taken away also because she had to leave. So warning to all players.... If you win money in this promotion use it right away. Luckily for us there are other casinos in West Virginia & also meadowlands casino closer to Pittsburgh so after 10 years of going to wheeling island we will spend our money elsewhere. All of the front desk employees I talked to including Lori "the front desk manager" ( or so I was told) had terrible attitudes & not one of the 4 that were working even said they were sorry about the situation , they actually seemed proud of the fact that they screwed another player out of their winnings. Bad bad business Wheeling Island.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Address: 1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. The resort also features the # 1 Greyhound track in the United States (based on purses paid), making it your best bet for a gaming getaway. So, plan your weekend at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.