We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greyt Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeling Island Racetrack and Gaming Center

Wheeling Island Racetrack and Gaming Center
1 South Stone Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
304-231-1831
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 44 things to do in Wheeling
Attraction details
Mississauga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Greyt Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My daughter & I travelled to Wheeling over the August 1 long weekend. We had gone for a greyhound conference & it was held at the casino. Amazing place. We visited the greyhound adoption centre. Watched the greys race for my first time. It is amazing how fast they go. They are such beautiful dogs. Did some gambling at the casino but we are not smokers & even though there is a non smoking area, the smell of the smoke was in the air. Had a greyt time & am looking forward to returning next year.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    63
    48
    18
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I go to the other three local casino's and I like this one the best because of the employes ! And best buffet for the price !

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Casino With Dog Racing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I enjoy visiting the different casino's around the country and "donating" towards their upkeep. It's a fun place to see and play. After, I watched the greyhound racing. Never saw it before and it was amazing how fast these dogs run plus how they make them stop running. Apparently, it's a popular passtime here since the betting area was crowded
There's alot of smoke in the area but they do have a non smoking area which still has a smell of smoke.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dog track and casino fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was probably my 5th time here? Went mainly for the dog track, unfortunately the rabbit broke down after 3 races and took over an hour to fix, stayed for maybe 4 more races, first time this has ever happened while I have been there though. Gambled some in the casino, nice place, had fun, really wouldn't recommend the pizza at the snack counter place, had a lot of grease, but other than that, no real complaints.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Casino was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I liked the casino but many of the slot machines were very dirty, actually to dirty to use. The people supposed to be cleaning worked in a group of three so only one worked at a time. I am not sure it takes three people to empty and ashtray. They do not wipe them out just empty them. I never seen them wipe down a slot machine.

The slot machines payed off well the little bit I played but the casino was very cold.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheeling Island Racetrack and Gaming Center also viewed

 

Been to Wheeling Island Racetrack and Gaming Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeling Island Racetrack and Gaming Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.