We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oglebay Park Good Zoo

Oglebay Park Good Zoo
465 Lodge Dr, Wheeling, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 Attractions in Wheeling
Type: Zoos
Attraction Details
Mechanicsville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This zoo has indoor and outdoor exhibits. There is also a model train display. There are several hills, so be prepared. Not crowded. Loved feeding the birds with cups of nectar and panning for gemstones! There are animated dinosaurs that roar, which seems a bit strange at a zoo, but I'm sure the young children would love them. You can actually walk into the enclosure for kangaroos and wallabies. Wish there were more animals though. Nice gift shop.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    12
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“small but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

It was small, but animals where nice to see up close. Kangaroo's were out. Ok price, Nice place to take smaller childrem.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“$43.00 for this??? oh and $14.00 more for the train??? UGH!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

2 zebras
2 ostrich
2 river otters
1 crazy looking/acting bear
1 blue tongued lizard
1 burmese python
some naked mole rats
fake dinosaur display
2 poorly maintained playgrounds
1 extra squeaky train
6 lorakeets (1.oo per cup of sugar water) and
1 blue pheasant
...............and a closing time of 5:00 in the summer???
no discount for educators?
map is incorrect when it states there are wild dogs in a pen...looked pretty deserted.
Oglebay should be ashamed at those prices for this amount of animals. I read the statement that you explained that most cities of 30,000 don't have a zoo and that you are fortunate to have it. I disagree at this price point. Keep the zoo but charge what it is really worth. If you are having to charge so much to maintain the few animals then the real question is....is it worth it?
My opinion?? NO!
Save your money and go to Pittsburgh Zoo!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of the Good Zoo at Oglebay Park Good Zoo, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. The endangered wild dogs are currently off exhibit caring for their three very rare, 5-week-old pups, on display soon. We regret that you missed the sign and small video camera that showed them in the den: we are working on better guest viewing into the den. We are sorry you missed our entire children’s zoo area, the red pandas, two lemur exhibits and all of the main building exhibits which includes over 30 species of amphibians, snakes, birds, small mammals, and two species of monkey families. We hope you visit us again, with the realization that we are a small self-supported 30-acre community zoo, while the state-funded 2,000 acre zoo in your community is one of the largest in the Unites States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice small zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a nice small zoo and always good for a walk around. Do check the weather before you go. If it is icy or too cold they close the outside exhibits but do not give any discount. Especially good for families with young children.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice zoo and not crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This zoo was nice to visit with our 2 year old grand daughter on a Sunday afternoon. She loved the train ride! We walked the outer loop around the zoo and was able to see all the animals. I felt that the playground area needs new mulch; it was muddy and puddled under the swings. The zoo is very hilly which was not a problem for us but a stroller could be tough to push up some of the hills.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oglebay Park Good Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Oglebay Park Good Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oglebay Park Good Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.