We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas evening to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lawrencefield Bed and Breakfast

The Lawrencefield Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lawrencefield Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Lawrencefield Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Wheeling B&B and Inns
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Christmas evening to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived at the Lawrencefield B and B late Christmas evening, and were warmly welcomed by Betsy. The room was wonderful and she even provided us with wine glasses and a corkscrew. Beds are very comfortable with great sheets. Breakfast in the morning was DELICIOUS, and plentiful. We left feeling for sure that we will come back some time in the future.

Room Tip: Any of the 4 guest rooms would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our stay here was absolutely wonderful! The house and property was simply amazing and the owners, David and Betsy, were very friendly and welcoming. The stay was quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was served with a smile and was delicious. Although the weather was cold during our visit, we ventured out onto the property to explore. David gave a tour explaining what the buildings were used for, the work they have done, and the many projects they would like to do in order to restore it as closely as they can to its original glory. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway in Wheeling, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Lawrencefield and the first time with the new owners.

You couldn't ask for better hosts and a nicer place to stay when in the Wheeling, WV area. The grounds are gorgeous, as are the rooms. The James has a lovely claw foot tub and a really cool little additional side room that is so cozy. My only gripe is that the tub can only be filled up so high. But a mere sealing of the overflow drain will solve that. I love everything about this place. Betsy is a wonderful cook. The best kept secret in Wheeling. A little on the expensive side too, but not much more than staying at an icky hotel. Plus beverages and snacks are included. Go here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful views from this hill top. The stately, older brick home is large but not overwhelming. The home was very comfortable and well appointed. The whole setting was relaxing - inside and out. Betsy and her family were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfasts were very good. My sister and I really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We enjoyed being able to spread out in the extra space in the "Samuel" room. Bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in late September. The B&B is under new management and the owner, Betsy, was a very gracious hostess to us. We were the only ones there for three of the four nights, so we had an opportunity to talk to Betsy and her children on several occasions.

The room that we occupied, The James, was very comfortable. The bedroom was very large with lots of closet space, plush robes and a well appointed bathroom. The view from our room was beautiful; the leaves were just starting to change and the green rolling hills were gorgeous.

Every morning Betsy cooked something different for us for breakfast. There was always coffee and cold beverages available throughout the day. There were always cookies available in the dining room.

We very much enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return to this beautiful house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent two nights at the Lawrencefield B & B while on business in the area. The B & B is out a country road, off the beaten path, but not too far. It is within a ten minute drive to Ogelbay Resort, and 30 minutes from Bethany College and West Liberty University. I stayed in the least expensive room, which has ample room for one person or a couple. The "George" room had its own bathroom, and a nice, hot shower. I was there on a very cold evening, but the old steam radiators kept the room nice and toasty, Everything was very clean, and although I didn't use it, there was a nice bathrobe in the room - a nice touch. Breakfast was wonderful, and Millie North was completely accommodating to my schedule. Although big, impressive and elegant, the house was very comfortable. WiFi access was a breeze. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone for one night or an extended visit to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

In our room was a single rose, two chocolate covered strawberries, and a very large hershey kiss. The owners also supplied wine glasses and bottle opener. Both of which we used with the wine we bought in town. The room had the most luxurious sheets. It was very nice to relax by the gas fireplace and enjoy some much needed peace and quiet. We are already planning our trip back in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lawrencefield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawrencefield Bed and Breakfast

Address: 360 Table Rock Lane, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wheeling
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lawrencefield Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.