We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mclure review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The McLure Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The McLure Hotel to your Saves list
The McLure Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
“Mclure review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A wonderful staff greets you and the location is wonderful. It was an excellent choice for me being a nursing student because it's a few blocks from OVMC, WVNCC, and the various government buildings. it has great parking in the garage and is a very safe secure site

Room Tip: love the spiral stair case. pick the first floor!!! It's usually decorated for the holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thanks again for your review.

We are so happy that you decided to stay with us during your stay in Wheeling. Thank you for giving us a chance to accommodate you.

Have a great year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New Martinsville, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel has accommodated me in so many ways. I attend the West Virginia Northern Community College, Wheeling Campus, as a nursing student. Having to be here for clinicals very early in the morning and staying up late at night has been challenging. By staying at this wonderful hotel, I have been able to accomplish my goal of being a nurse and being in a clean, and safe environment. Thank you McClure Hotel for your kindness.

Room Tip: The apartments are wonderful. Four of us stayed in an apartment . Thanks Michael for all the wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trhoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hi Theresa!

Thank you for the positive review! We are happy that you stayed with us and please don't be a stranger when you are in Wheeling.

Good luck in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
469 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The owners and management team deserve credit for trying to make the McLure a competitive and viable choice for travelers needing to stay in Wheeling. While the hotel touts it's history and the famous guests (Grant, Wilson, McCarthy, Nixon, etc.) who have stayed here, renovations in the 1970s have totally erased any architectural trace of that bygone era. I would classify the building as utilitarian, especially the facade. The circular lobby is decent (and interesting) and may be the only vestige from the original hotel. There is a display cabinet in the lobby which has old photos and mementos of the original McLure. The elevators appear old and have severely knicked walls. I also didn't see an Elevator Inspection sign posted inside the elevator. The halls are adequately lit and painted white. My king size bed room also included a sofa and armchair. The room was sizeable and much larger than most hotel rooms. The mattress was too soft for me (and nowhere near the comfort of midrange hotels such as Hampton Inn or Marriott) and the bed was lower than most hotel beds. The box spring was also squeaky. But for one night, it was ok. The bathroom sink faucets were old and leaked. Toilet and tub were new. Bath towels were too small and not comfortable. The view from my 6th floor room of downtown Wheeling and the Ohio River was nice. There are 7 floors in the hotel. I don't think the hotel was full, but I easily heard my noisy neighbors coming and going across the hall and my adjacent neighbor's occasional sounds. Despite all this, I still was able to get a good nights sleep. Parking is free and is in a parking garage directly behind and adjacent to the hotel. An interesting feature of the parking garage is that you can park on your floor level and enter directly into the hallway where your room is (garage is only five levels; you need to walk up for floors 6 and 7). Access from the garage is by your room key card; the area is under video surveillance. Overall, I found my room and the common areas to be clean. A sticker near the front entrance indicates that the hotel supports the Marcellus Shale work. Many of my fellow guests during my midweek stay that I saw in the lobby, bar, and elevator were Marcellus Shale workers. There is a bar on the lobby level. A restaurant on the lobby level is currently closed. The continental breakfast is very Spartan and consists of a few plastic wrapped baked goods and coffee. Staff and management personnel that I met were extremely polite and professional. Despite any shortcomings, I applaud the effort being made to make the McLure a solid choice for visitors. I would stay here again and especially at the $79 rate that I paid. Wheeling needs a good downtown hotel, and the McLure has the potential to BE that good downtown hotel. Within walking distance of the hotel are a few good restaurants, interesting historic architectural buildings, and scenic views of the Ohio River. Those who find American history interesting should consider spending a night at the McLure and explore the environs of downtown Wheeling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thanks for your feedback.

We enjoyed your comments very much. Wheeling has a lot of history with many high profile guests in the past, but we enjoy every guest that walks through our doors.

We hope to continue installing more fixtures that represents our history throughout the hotel. One of the biggest reasons we are still here is because of guests like you, who enjoy a different experience.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

After reading several of the reviews was really worried. Stayed overnight for nailers game package. Room was very clean and accommodating. Front desk very polite and called to make sure we were fine. Hotel is old but who cares. Heating system could be quieter but slept well. Had a nice overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetF8828ZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Go Nailers! ; )

Thank you for staying with us during a Nailers game! We enjoy the fans very much.
Next time your in town and the ac is acting up, give us a call at the front desk and the maintenance staff will take care of that quickly.

There is one sentence in your review that stands out: "Had a nice overnight stay."
We try to give everyone of our guest's a nice stay, and we are happy when we succeed.

Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budds Creek
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My stay was for one night (Tuesday) and it was great. The room was well decorated, comfortable, reasonably priced, clean and quiet. When I read other reviews, people commented that it was old. I actually thought it was "charming", not "old". They had complimentary coffee and danish, which was fine for me on this trip. The staff were all friendly and seemed to be working hard. By the way, the towels smelled good. That hardly ever happens!! And, I did see the guy working on folding the linens, so I know he was working hard. Please give him kudos, management. Anyway, my stay was good and I plan on staying again when I am in the area. I would choose it any day over the chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Sincerely, Thank you for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We has stayed here several years ago and were very disappointed in it current condition. We got a non smoking room and found cigarettes butts out in a glass in the room which smelled of smoke... We reported to front desk. They did not offer to switch us rooms or anything... The room besides that looked straightened up but not clean... Walls, floors, need a good scrub down not what website portrayed... Thick dust on inside of dressers... Just kept stuff in our suit cases... Beds awful... We can understand the cost to refurbish but inside elevator garbage and gum on carpet inside elevator... the Irish pub is misleading its neither Irish or pubby just a bar... Although the bartender over poured so badly that you could not drink our drinks at least this area seemed clean... It is ashame that this place has been let to go to pot... Instead of having a nice relaxing weekend we were left feeling grossed out

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kappie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Currently, we are renovating the hotel rooms by replacing the wallpaper and carpet. We hope to have this completed very soon.

We are sincerely apologetic for your experience here at the hotel. I will let the housekeeping staff know that they need to be more detail oriented. The housekeeper's are not perfect, but they try very hard. It is not easy cleaning 10 rooms in one day and sometimes details are missed. We can do better and we will.

I'm not sure what you were expecting by an Irish Pub, but it is a nice pub and we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations.

Next time your in town, ask for Michael Garey, Operations Manager, and I will do everything in my power to make your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here while attending a wrestling meet. It was the closest hotel. The room was in real need of updates. I understand that it is a historic hotel, I have stayed in many, but replace things that are broken such as tile etc. The sinks in the bathroom look dirty because of the many cracks. Again, this does not add charm. Cracked floor tile looks unsanitary. We had a handicap shower, not sure why, but it had loose tile. The room AC did not work. It was winter but the room was very hot and I like the noise of the AC. Street noise was heard. The parking was minimal for a truck. There was a restaurant attached to the hotel. Only one person waiting tables. Both breakfast and dinner, the waitress was very stressed and frustrated. For the money, I would not stay here again but would choose another hotel. This may have been a grand hotel at one time, but it is need of some major renovation to get it back to that grandeur, sorry.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank your taking the time to give us your feedback.

Currently, we are replacing the wallpaper and carpet in each room. During the wrestling tournament in January we usually sellout and the handicap room may have been the only room that could accommodate you. Coincidentally, the handicap room is one of our largest room types, so it may have been based on the size of your family. Thank you for letting us know about the tiles, because you are correct and we need to replace them.

Hopefully, with the renovation we can meet your expectations and you would reconsider us again in the future.

Thank you for your review. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeling/Highlands
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites WHEELING
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The McLure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The McLure Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — The McLure Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than a mile from the Wheeling Island Casino, the McLure Hotel is conveniently located in Downtown Wheeling, West Virginia. The property is a unique experience, a true piece of Americana. Presidents, Senators, actresses and actors have stayed at this great hotel at one point in the hotel's 150 year history. Nestled along the Ohio River and surrounded by inspiring American architecture our guests are never disappointed by the charm of Wheeling. From the McLure Team to you: We hope to see you at the McLure Hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The McLure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing