We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, needs improvements, and better food choices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The McLure Hotel

Save Saved
You added The McLure Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The McLure Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Market Street, Wheeling, WV 26003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dated, needs improvements, and better food choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here while attending a wrestling meet. It was the closest hotel. The room was in real need of updates. I understand that it is a historic hotel, I have stayed in many, but replace things that are broken such as tile etc. The sinks in the bathroom look dirty because of the many cracks. Again, this does not add charm. Cracked floor tile looks unsanitary. We had a handicap shower, not sure why, but it had loose tile. The room AC did not work. It was winter but the room was very hot and I like the noise of the AC. Street noise was heard. The parking was minimal for a truck. There was a restaurant attached to the hotel. Only one person waiting tables. Both breakfast and dinner, the waitress was very stressed and frustrated. For the money, I would not stay here again but would choose another hotel. This may have been a grand hotel at one time, but it is need of some major renovation to get it back to that grandeur, sorry.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank your taking the time to give us your feedback.

Currently, we are replacing the wallpaper and carpet in each room. During the wrestling tournament in January we usually sellout and the handicap room may have been the only room that could accommodate you. Coincidentally, the handicap room is one of our largest room types, so it may have been based on the size of your family. Thank you for letting us know about the tiles, because you are correct and we need to replace them.

Hopefully, with the renovation we can meet your expectations and you would reconsider us again in the future.

Thank you for your review. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    16
    22
    15
See reviews for
16
22
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Air conditioning did not work only blew hot air. Ignorant staff. Filthy and no privacy you can hear everything and everyone throughout the hotel because of the paper thin walls.

DO NOT STAY HERE YOU WILL REGRET IT I PROMISE YOU!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your brief review of our hotel.

The staff and I at the hotel are very curious about this review, because we don't even know if this person stayed at our hotel. There is no profile or past reviews from this reviewer? I am completely doubting that this person stayed at our hotel. It's just too bad that hotels have to defend against reviews that are undocumented. There is no registration evidence for this review, which is very concerning for the sake of our hotel and the accuracy of Tripadvisor.

Overall, this review is misleading and false. Our hotel employee's are great, our housekeeper's are great, and the hotel is made of concrete...(I've seen it myself)...please don't let these misleading review's create doubt about the McLure Hotel. We are truly a unique and grand hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We rented a room here after much research of reviews. We were "en route" for the holidays and we have a small dog. Many of the things we read were true. It is older. It is a little worn but it is very clean. We paid $130 for two people and that includes pet fee and taxes. We were plenty close enough to walk to get something to eat and there is an Indian Food restaurant attached...it just wasn't open when we were passing through. This is an old hotel, absolutely elegant lobby that shows what it looked like in days past. It was fine for traveling which is what we used it for.

Room Tip: Remember, if you have a pet...it is a little walk to take your dog out. Have to sort of plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you Kathy! We appreciate your review and your reservation as we know you have many options.

We are historic in a historic area. We try to differentiate ourselves from all the franchises across the U.S. Thank you for writing that we are clean, elegant, and pet-friendly. Please come back and stay with us again and we will have the restaurant open for you; )

Again, Thank you for staying at the McLure Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Overpriced, staff not friendly nor helpful, heat/air did not work. Wallpaper in bathroom was peeling off and vent did not work. Also must say upon arrival was assigned to a room that was already occupied (found that out upon entering the room and finding these peoples belongings)...after that it took three more attempts to get a room, then once I did get my room it was small and certainly not worth the price they wanted...may be a good hotel for construction workers but otherwise....STAY AWAY.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend this hotel...way over rated if you ask me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Firstly, thank you choosing to stay at the McLure Hotel, we know you have many choices.

After reading your review, we are shocked to hear about your stay. Currently, we are making the necessary changes to ensure that these problems do not happen again.

Again, I apologize for your inconveniences and I want to reiterate that these problems are not common and we do try for our guests. We hope that our guests are comfortable and our staff is friendly and we will do anything to make positive changes.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the McLure Hotel has been an absolute joy. The exceptional customer service is amazing. No one else provides the feeling of home and being part of the family as they do here. The effort to make your stay phenomenal can not be matched.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
It's been great having you here as well. The staff will appreciate the complement.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. I was impressed with the lobby which was very clean and nice. I was even more satisfied because my room was clean, organized, and safe. The staff members were responsive and helpful. The hotel might need some improvements, but overall I really enjoyed my time in Wheeling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your review. We are always trying to be better. Now, that we have a pub and restaurant you should comeback to try them out.

Have a great day and come back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Located in downtown Wheeling, the hotel has an attractive lobby that was nicely decorated for Christmas. Cookies, punch and coffee were available by the registration desk. Two elevators with a capacity of six people each bring guests and hotel workers to seven or eight floors. It’s an old hotel and the rooms appear to have been updated, but are not plush. Our room we were assigned reeked of stale tobacco smoke and we were promptly offered another room. We were not the only guests to request a room change because of the persistent odor. Overall, room furnishings are adequate. One of our chairs had a tear in the arm of the upholstery. The television in the first room was a CRT and the second room had a flat panel screen so some updating has been undertaken. Bathroom tub enclosures have been replaced, but there were no grab bars to assist in getting in or out of the tub/shower. Toilets are low, not ADA height; bathroom linens subpar. The room was equipped with a refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron and ironing board, but only two coat hangers. For room comfort, all rooms in the hotel are either air conditioned or heated; guests have no choice but to try and adjust the fan speed to off or one of three settings. The hotel was on the heat cycle and we found it most comfortable to run the fan for an hour or so and then shut the fan off for the night. The exercise room had two pieces of equipment, one was out of order. The front desk service was friendly and accommodating. For a night or two, The McLure would probably meet a traveler’s needs. For an extended stay, I would seek other accommodations. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which I assume is subcontracted to a third provider. Food offerings were reasonable and basic, but service and atmosphere could be improved.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Firstly, thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you stayed with us instead of another hotel.

Secondly, I had hoped that you would have given us a better rating, as I do with all of our guests.

I believe our positives outweigh our negatives and we provide an accommodating hotel for our guests. To address some of your concerns, we have just received three new exercise equipment machines (treadmill, elliptical, and bicycle), with more to come. We will continue to consider how we can make our guests more comfortable, and hopefully when you are in area again you will stay with us again.

Happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The McLure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The McLure Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Wheeling, WV 26003
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The McLure Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than a mile from the Wheeling Island Casino, the McLure Hotel is conveniently located in Downtown Wheeling, West Virginia. The property is a unique experience, a true piece of Americana. Presidents, Senators, actresses and actors have stayed at this great hotel at one point in the hotel's 150 year history. Nestled along the Ohio River and surrounded by inspiring American architecture our guests are never disappointed by the charm of Wheeling. From the McLure Team to you: We hope to see you at the McLure Hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The McLure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The McLure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.